We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Aire Libre - alive with attention to detail”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Jimenez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Osa Rainforest Rentals
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Aire Libre is the last house on a dead-end road about 1km past the center of the small village of Dos Brazos. With an open house design without full walls, one doesn't need to even leave the house to experience the jungle. Surrounded by tree tops full of birds, there is a never ending chorus of bird and insect sounds to enjoy. And at night, the bug nets over each of the three beds were more than sufficient to keep the more than 35,000 species of insects away.

With an attention to detail that one would expect renting a house at higher price range, Tristan is the property manager that knows how to deliver. The biodegradable soap near the kitchen and bathroom sinks, clean bath towels with a light scent of lavender, and fresh flowers in the bathroom, bedroom and kitchen were all small things that made a big difference in our stay. Bananas picked from the trees on the property were provided. The house was well maintained and had the feeling that someone truly cares about the property and the guests that stay there. Dishes were plentiful, clean, and organized in the kitchen and a full tour of the house and property was provided in addition to booking us horseback rides with local guide, Gerardo. A great 4 hour ride up the mountain was had. Thanks for everything, Tristan. I wish I were still there.

After one week at Casa Aire Libre, my expectations of rural, house rental lodging have been pushed higher than I thought possible. If you want to be in the jungle, but yet have the convenience of being in a house with comfortable beds, running water, and a full kitchen, then Casa Aire Libre is where you want to be.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Erik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmyBuffett25, Manager at Osa Rainforest Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

It was so great to have Erik and his friend Chuck stay with us at Casa Aire Libre in Dos Brazos de Rio Tigre. Meeting interesting and fun people like Erik and Chuck is why we enjoy so much to be in the tourism business. Thank you Erik for taking the time to write a review for us, it is much appreciated and we really look forward to your next visit to the Osa Peninsula!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

What a beautiful spot! From the moment we drove in we loved it! We spent 3 nights at Casa Troya, Puerto Jimenez. Open plan main house with lounger chairs on the balcony for star gazing at night! open showers and the tented cabanas, 50m from the beach and a little herb garden...paradise.Bonfires on the beach at night. Fresh coconuts and mangos!
Monica, Walter and Grace were lovely, very hospitable and gave us lots of useful information. Definitely do the river hike which takes you to some waterfalls through the forest. Many different animals to see and pools to swim in.
Definitely going back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicatas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Beautiful house up in Dos Brazos right near the border of Corcovado, this place was hands down the most amazing place I went in 3 months of traveling in Costa Rica. The owner of the house picked my friend and I up hitchhiking and we decided to stay at the house for a few days. No walls, hammocks hanging in the living room and a kitchen set up with all your needs (buy food in Puerto Jimenez for your stay as Dos Brazos is very small and the store is minimal). It's hard for me to describe the beauty of this place. Walk down a path in the front yard to Rio Tigre and go swiming in it's pristine water or go hike into the rainforest on the neighbors land. There are extensive well marked trails, some of them don't feel like trails but the path is obvious. Made me feel like I was in the wild jungle (and I really was!). The trails take you up to 2 waterfalls, take some food and make an adventure of it. And go up to the Mirador (lookout), you will see the whole southern Osa from the gulf over to Corcovado. You can even take a back entrance into the park (without emptying your wallet). This is the perfect place for a, solo getaway, couples, famiy, and even a group of friends. Plenty of room since there are no walls. I woke up every morning with the sun shining through the leaves and had to pinch myself to make sure I wasn't dreaming! Tristan is the caretaker of the property, a friendly good hearted fellow. He does an excellent job and will have the place clean and ready when you arrive, he can answer any questions about hiking and other activities.
Pura Vida!
Enjoy

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmyBuffett25, Manager at Osa Rainforest Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Gracias por la gran opinión de Clay usted and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I stayed with Eddy at Cafe Oceanside, fantastic location. Now if you like birds this is the place for you. Couldn't get enough of the Macaws! Surfing is right out front with other points nearby.
Also the monkeys were right in front of the house.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpbob3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

My wife and I stayed in Casa Los Suenos last month. Our four-day trip was very relaxing and enjoyable. Tristan, the manager of the property, was one of the very best hosts that we have had during our trips. He even made a delicious pizza for us one evening.

In Dos Brazos we saw exotic birds such as Toucans and Macaws, went hiking on the trails and saw waterfalls along the Rio Tigre. The house had all the comforts and necessities. We loved the large deck with hammocks where we spent each evening. Two small "pulperias" (general stores) are within walking distance, so we didn't even need a car.

Congratulations to Tristan. We will always remember him.


Marcos and Zaira

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmyBuffett25, Manager at Osa Rainforest Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your flattering review Marcus, we were delighted to have you visit with us at Casa los Suenos and were so very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

The stay here was great and we would come back in a heartbeat. All mod cons: wired up, fridge to keep cold drinks for the hot weather, fans, range. Lots of neat nooks and crannies to curl up in and dream about moving to Costa Rica. Birding was outstanding. Roadside Hawk and Scarlet Macaws. A lek of Orange-collared Manakins only about 15 minutes uphill. Tristan and Armelle, the owners and managers, are awesome. Tristan even came across town to tell us that the water would be shut off for an hour or two because of public utility maintenance. That's going the extra step!

Highly recommended for folks wanting awesome value in the backyard of Costa Rica's wilderness crown jewel: Corcovado National Park.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arreglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed at this adorable home in Dos Brazos in January 2013, on the edge of the Corcovado rainforest. The owners left fresh flowers for us and the place was spotless. It reminded us of a swiss chalet with the wooden interior and sleeping loft with mosquito net. Windows opened up for cross-breezes and the place was totally wired for comfort. 2 hammocks were perfect for star-gazing and the birds-watching on the property was great. Notables included Yellow-crowned Euphonia, Variable Seedeater, Cherrie's Tanager, Squirrel Cuckoo, White-necked Jacobin, and Streak-headed Woodcreeper. 30 minutes uphill from this property got us on the much sought after Orange-collared Manakin! Tristan, one of the owners, is full of knowledge about activities in the area and can help you find anything from zip-lining to gold-mining. We had a wonderful, relaxing stay and also got a peek at the other properties on the other side of town, both of which were fantastic as well. This place is a gem!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmyBuffett25, Manager at Osa Rainforest Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Thank you Amy and Carlos for your review of La Casita del Rio. Both Armelle and I are so happy that you had a super holiday here in the Osa. We very much look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Jimenez hotels
0 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
344 reviews
0 mi away
Iguana Lodge
Iguana Lodge
#3 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
440 reviews
0 mi away
Cabinas The Corner
Cabinas The Corner
#5 of 13 in Puerto Jimenez
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar Nature Resort
La Chosa del Manglar Nature Reso...
#7 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
74 reviews
0 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
184 reviews
0 mi away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osa Rainforest Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osa Rainforest Rentals

Address: Dos Brazos del Rio Tigre and Playa Sombrero | Peninsula de Osa, Puerto Jimenez 60702, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range: £49 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy a vacation beach home in a hidden tropical paradise with breathtaking beaches, world-class surfing in a peaceful, idyllic setting. Or stay at one of our riverside jungle houses in walking distance from several alluring waterfalls in the small gold mining village of Dos Brazos del Rio Tigre, located in the forest reserve of the world famous Corcovado National Park with a new park entrance coming at the end of 2014! Osa Rainforest Rentals are located in the Osa Peninsula, southwest Costa Rica where the rainforest meets the sea. It is one of the most remote, most spectacular and wildest regions in the country. One of the last places in Costa Rica to be settled, it has been dubbed Costa Rica's last wilderness frontier. Rich in wildlife, sparsely populated and until recently very difficult to access by road. Consequently much of the peninsula is still covered in majestic, pristine rainforest. Dominated by Corcovado National Park which protects most of the peninsula, the Osa supports more then fifty percent of the animal and plant species that live in Costa Rica. National Geographic has described the Osa as, "The most biologically intense place on earth". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Osa Rainforest Rentals Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing