We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, Clean and Cool” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabinas The Corner

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Cabinas The Corner
Ranked #5 of 12 Puerto Jimenez B&B and Inns
Scotch Corner, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly, Clean and Cool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Berta and her family provided a great service in "Cabins The Corner". Rooms very clean, plenty of water. Fans a great asset in the hot nights. internet and Laundry service also available. Close to bus station and also very central in the town - close to walks and restaurants.

Room Tip: All Rooms in Cabin greatly situated, especially those on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANomadicSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    20
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
18
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

I have stayed in the hostel by the bus station twice now. It is fairly cheap and easy to find. You will not have a lot of privacy and the owner does not speak a word of English. There are not many bugs and the hostel is very basic. The wifi is decent though as well as computers in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

Being their are 2 Corner Cabinas, I am reviewing the one intown next to a new small 2 story mall. This is a great price value for a private room, tv, and fan. Gate secures entry to second hotel style rooms with private bath. Downstairs is the Reception, Small Store and free Internet Computers. The young man working was very friendly, spoke english and sincerely attempts to provide hospitality. The BAR / Restaurant next door, PURA VIDA is a place some locals go to and offers music, tvs and more.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbanks2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
327 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Be advice that there are two hostel of this name in Puerto Jimenez which belongs to one family. Unfortunately the one close to bus station is run by a lady who does not speak English at all, she just keep speaking Spanish to you all the time. I stayed in a dorm room for 5000 CRC which was simple but clean with 2 toilets and 2 showers but totally hot. Fortunately there are fans to cool the room a little bit. Be also warned that people usually weak up early morning to catch the collective to Carate for Corcovado National park leaving at 6 AM just 100 meters from the cabina. There are nearly no facilities apart from the safe luggage store room, PC with the internet /WIFI and fridge (but no access to it after around 9 PM when the lady goes to bed) but the rooms are quite secure as the lady watches it all the time and during the night there is lock (you have your key). I have only one negative comment which was quite annoying for me that even the check out time is 10 AM I had to leave the room by 8 AM as all the other people had left that day early morning and the lady with her grand daughter wanted to clean the dorm room as soon as possible. The hostel is 1 minute from the bus station, 15 minutes to the dock for boat to Golfito, 100 meters supermarket and many good and cheap sodas within stone throw.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duhoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

I loved that place since the owners were so friendly and make me feel like home so far away. Great family and the hostel is clean and non-expensive inclusive wifi and internet computers downstairs. (visited 2011)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicaBandita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

After 2 days in the corcovado national park we wanted to sleep and relax and we did it in that place. The guy who runs the place is very friendly and wont doubt helping you in whatever you may need. The main door is locked all time to avoid intruders, and there's always someone having an eye on your car. The rooms are basic but clean with tv and fun and are in the second floor.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flagoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

There are actually two hostels in Puerto Jimenez that are called 'Cabinas on the Corner'. I believe they belong to the same family. The first time we stayed there was two years ago and we stayed in the house close to the main bus station. This year we spent two nights in the house on the other side of the main street, above a little grocery store. The rooms are very simple but all have fans. The bathrooms were clean. Since both hostels have to be accessed through a metal gate, we had the feeling that the accommodation is safe. Please be aware that there is quite a lot of crime in Puerto Jimenez. Two years ago, they broke into one of the cabinas we stayed. Never leave valuables in the room!
Note that the hostels are right down town and it can be loud until late at night and the village roosters get up pretty early in the morning (as well as all the birds :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saphira83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Jimenez hotels
0.3 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oro Verde Hostel
Oro Verde Hostel
#8 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
2.1 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#4 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabinas Tropicales
Cabinas Tropicales
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Inn Jimenez
Hotel Inn Jimenez
#3 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas The Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas The Corner

Property: Cabinas The Corner
Address: | 100 Metros al Sur y 25 al Este de la Terminal de Buses en Puerto Jimenez, Puerto Jimenez 60702, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small cabins, but our mission is that you as a guest feels comfortable in your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cabinas The Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas The Corner Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing