We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best deal in Puerto Jimenez”
Review of Cabinas The Corner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabinas The Corner
Ranked #5 of 13 Puerto Jimenez B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best deal in Puerto Jimenez”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

After driving for about 8 hours, we finally arrived to Puerto Jimenez. It was late in the night and we were extremely tired and fatigued. The hotel that we originally booked locked their gates, so we were unable to even check in. Feeling hopeless, an elderly lady from across the street was noticed our visible stress and began talking to us. We told her about our situation and she informed us about her own little hotel—Cabinas the Corner. At that point, we were drained so we immediately took on her offer and decided to stay at this hostel.

At ~$15/night, we were getting a deal. It, obviously, is not going to have the same amenities or furnishings as a whatever-star hotel, but it's a place where you can sleep and clean yourself. In fact, for $15/night, I was rather surprised by the cleanliness of the room. The hotel is ran by the grandma and her granddaughter—two very, very sweet and friendly people.

If you are looking for a cheap place to stay with the basic daily necessities, Cabinas the Corner is the place to go!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urbanlzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    21
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
20
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We needed a place to stay for one night after exploring the corcovado park. It wasn't cheep enough for what an unpleasant sleep it was. The room was hot, the area is very noisy, the roosters living next door kept us up all night and the owner came into the room in the morning with out knocking.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergei D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Cabinas by the bus station (Berta's place) which I believe is the cheaper of the two and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

Berta is an inspiration to all - in her seventies and working hard to run a guesthouse day in day out! If you make the effort to speak to her in Spanish (as we are in Costa Rica after all!) you will find that she is a lovely woman who wants nothing more than to earn an honest living. I loved staying in a place run by locals where you have a real incentive to speak Spanish.

She cleans the hostel top to bottom every morning and is always on hand for any advice on buses or places to go. It amazed us that she got up with us at 4:30am to see us off and collect the room keys. She clearly takes great pride in running the place and keeps an eye on everything which makes you feel well assured that your belongings are safe.

We would highly recommend Berta's cabinas (by the bus station) as the perfect opportunity to break away from run-of-the-mill backpacker's hostels and get a more authentic experience. Not to mention the fact that we saw two species of beautiful toucans from the window everyday!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Colite1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onex, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Don't expect Abuela (grandma) to negociate on prices, she is tough and she knows that she is the cheapest hostel in town.
prices are correct, beds are ok and the place is clean, you will have WiFi and if you wake up early (5pm) and stay on the rocking chair you will see sooo many beautyfull birds, the 2 species of toucans, hummingbirds and many other birds feed on the tree fruits and flowers around the house.
The dorm might be too noisy but the other rooms are ok.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lobowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

This hostel is run by a lovely lady of 77 years and her grand daughter. They are very friendly and welcoming at all times. The place is sparkling clean and they include nice touches like shelves and wall hooks to hang damp clothes. Security is also very good. It's right across the street from a large market and only 1 block from the Main Street of the town. The "collectivo" bus runs from just across the street so it's an ideal jumping off point for any activities you'd like to do on the peninsula. We were very comfortable there.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SGBinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

There are two Cabinas The Corner, and I am reviewing the one by the bus (or "colectivo") station is located. It was the perfect hostel, there is a dormitory, but I shared a private room with a friend, and it was only 6,000 colones ($12). It had every amenity we needed: beds, running water, and fans. We also had a private bathroom with our room, which was perfect. I would suggest anyone going on a budget stay there. The location is also wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotch Corner, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Berta and her family provided a great service in "Cabins The Corner". Rooms very clean, plenty of water. Fans a great asset in the hot nights. internet and Laundry service also available. Close to bus station and also very central in the town - close to walks and restaurants.

Room Tip: All Rooms in Cabin greatly situated, especially those on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANomadicSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
0.2 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
535 reviews
2.0 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crocodile Bay Resort
Crocodile Bay Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Golfito
114 reviews
0.9 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#4 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas The Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas The Corner

Property: Cabinas The Corner
Address: Center of Puerto Jimenez | 100 Metros al Sur y 25 al Este de la Terminal de Buses en Puerto Jimenez, Puerto Jimenez 60702, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas the Corner is a small family hotel, we have three types of room: room with private bathroom, with shared bathroom and mixed room for a maximum of 7 people, in this bedroom you can share and meet people from different parts of the world , Form groups to go to Corcovado National Park, share travel stories and more. We are located in Puerto Jimenez Centro, near supermarkets, restaurants, tourist offices, bus station, beaches and more. Cabinas the Corner is a good place to rest before and after a tour of the National Park or others. See you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cabinas The Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas The Corner Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing