We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place great staff, loud bar across the water on Friday night”
Review of Cabinas Jimenez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabinas Jimenez
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2012 via mobile

We loved this place! It was our honeymoon so we splurged and got the second floor two room with nice balcony! Puerto jimenez is a fun little town, but quite expensive. It's hard to get supplies down here so you will pay for it! This is the best place in town but a little expensive, but you get free wifi, kayaks, and bikes! The only problem we had was on Friday night the bar across the water had very loud music, witch normally would be fine but we had to be up early to head to cabo matapalo. All in all great place!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossSavannahGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4-5 nights recently as the jumping off point to Corcovado - we loved the location of the cabins, right on the edge of the water. We did not stay in one of the fancy bungalows but the rooms in reception and by the pool are sufficient with fridge, TV, coffee maker and A/C. The owner and staff are all friendly and we met lots of other travelers whilst hanging out by the pool.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoGoGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

This really is the place that you want to stay at when overnighting in Puerto Jimenez. The rooms are nice on the waterfront and there is a pool, bikes and kyaks. The problem is with the owner. We were looking for a poolside room ($65/n) only to be shown a great bedroom. There was a flyer in the lobby for great weekly rates 5 for 7 days, when asked the price 3 times all I got was you'll be happy. Next day asked again was only 10% of base rate of $100, not happy and now the flyer was gone. Watch the bait and switch in Costa Rica especially here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scotty99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabinasjimenez, Owner at Cabinas Jimenez, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2012

Hi, I believe that you have mistaken Cabinas Jimenez, with another hotel. I have never had a flyer, advertising for a great weekly rates. However, I do, in low season, give a 10 -15% discount, off of the rooms. If this discount was Not offered to you, I apologize. I will glady give you the refund. I am also pleased to hear that you think that : Cabinas Jimenez is the place to stay, when you are in Puerto Jimenez " Regards, John owner of Cabinas Jimenez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Flew in to Puerto Jimenez and a short cab ride later we were at Cabinas Jimenez. We stayed for 5 days and it was a great decision. This place and this town is quiet and very chill.
We stayed in The Rancho, a large room with a great balcony overlooking the gulf. The view is amazing. Macaws, Iguanas are frequently spotted.

The owners, gardener and cleaning staff are welcoming and helpful. We were quickly given tips on restaurants and where to bike to. The staff accomodated all our requests and kept our bags while we were away on our Rainforest Trek. We came back to a diffrent room , pool side and it was small but comfy.
.
The pool is always refreshing!!
You have access to bikes and kayak..
We spotted 10's of bottlenose dolphins on one of our kayak excursions!
..the bikes have seen better days but are still ok for their purpose.

The location is a big seller. PJ is small so walking to restaurants is easy.
If you come through PJ, stay a while and chill at Cabinas Jimenez.

Room Tip: Stay in the pool side rooms or the Rancho or bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveToXcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Nice small rooms and some of them have a nice view. Well worth for your money! Love nr 7,8,9,10,2 the private bungalow and the ranch. The other room have a window but garden view. Friendly staff! Next time when we vist Costa Rica we will come back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josepha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We found this location by accident through a vendor in the Puerto Jimenez. So glad we did. We stayed in the private cabina and found it very roomy and the view was magnificant. Puerto Jimenez is a jewel of a location for exploring and getting away from the busy tourist areas of Costa Rica.
Staff was very helpful and only regret is not staying longer.

Room Tip: Get a local guide and go to the Corcovda National Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We booked four days but extended to seven days. The facility is easy walking distance to town. We had a cottage and all we needed. Took most of our meals on the veranda. It was well maintained, and the location right on the beach was very much to our liking. Management helped us book tours and checked to be sure all was well. We are elders and appreciated the
attention. Would strongly recommend to anyone desiring quiet yet close to town facilities. Rates
were certainly reasonable.

Room Tip: The cottage we stayed in was at the end of the facility and very quiet. The veranda was also very p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elsenordelnorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
2.2 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
343 reviews
0.9 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar Nature Resort
La Chosa del Manglar Nature Reso...
#7 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Encanta La Vida
Encanta La Vida
#5 of 5 in Cabo Matapalo
171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crocodile Bay Resort - An All-Inclusive Resort
9.8 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Jimenez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Jimenez

Address: on Main Street - 50 meters from the end of the soccer field | directly on the Golfo Dulce, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range: £43 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas Jimenez 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas Jimenez is located on the Osa Peninsula, in Puerto Jimenez, on a quiet street at the edge of Puerto Jimenez, and directly on the Golfo Dulce. Comfortable new beds and linens, A/C, hot showers, mini-fridge, coffee makers are just a few of the amenities offered. A new pool, free wireless internet, kayaks, bicycles, and a cheerful and helpful staff will make your stay at Cabinas Jimenez truly memorable! Explore Corcovado National Park, Go Fishing, Surfing…Come and explore all the Osa has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cabinas Jimenez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Jimenez Hotel Puerto Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez Puerto
Cabinas Jimenez Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing