We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cabinas Jimenez
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Oro Verde Hostel(Puerto Jimenez)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Corcovado Beach Lodge(Puerto Jimenez)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Islas Lodge(Puerto Jimenez)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agua Dulce Beach Resort(Puerto Jimenez)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iguana Lodge(Puerto Jimenez)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge(Punta Nicuesa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveller rating
339
182
32
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
339
182
32
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree kayaksgolfo dulcethe ownercoffee makerboat tourpoolside roomcosta ricasmall poolwater frontprivate deckair conditioninggreat place to staysaw dolphinsclose to towncorcovado national parkocean viewlaid back
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 578 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Waterfront, small refreshing pool, charming rooms with lots of details and murals. We decided to spring for a waterfront cabina (# 2) that had a lovely deck facing the gulf, the poolside rooms seemed like they could get noisy if there were a lot of guests. They have bikes and kayaks for free. We used the bikes to ride into town only a couple minutes away, lots of great nearby restaurants. Quaint, sleepy fishing town, minutes walk from the ferry dock to Golfito. The night we stayed there was a techo party going on down the street, which interrupted our night's sleep which otherwise would have been peaceful. That aside, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: # 2 or 10, waterfront well worth the splurge, doesn't hurt to ask for a discount
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabinasjimenez, Manager at Cabinas Jimenez, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. It is greatly appreciated. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed one of the waterfront Cabinas. And also, that you made good use of the free bikes and Kayaks. hope to see you again, John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We booked the #1 rancho room and enjoyed it. Having 3 people it slept us fine, with 3 beds in 2 rooms. This isn't a luxurious resort, but you are kind of in the middle of nowhere. In fact this town has only 1 paved road. We stayed here to visit Corcovado, and it worked OK. There's about a 1 hour road trip to the drop point, then another 45 minute walk to the park entrance. If doing it again we'd stay at Drake Bay and take the boat to the park entrance, saving a lot of time and energy. Still, this was a great adventure and Puerto Jimenez has some decent restaurants.

The room itself was fairly dirty - bugs, sand, etc. Again, you're in the wild, so it was tolerable. The room had good a/c and the wifi worked well when in range, which was limited. The best part of this stay by far was the ocean view balcony, and it was definitely the best room in the place. If going back we'd definitely take the same room.

The front desk staff spoke english very well and there was a water cooler to refill water bottles. We didn't drink the tap water but didn't ask if it was safe (which it probably is) since they had the water cooler. The pool here is nice but small. Overall, I probably wouldn't stay here again, but my sense of adventure and trying new places is a part of that. And, I still would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brewertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

John and Cabinas Jimenez are both wonderful and inviting! My husband, teenage son and myself stayed for a week and enjoyed every minute of the beautiful place and wonderful staff! I cannot say enough great things about this place. We have been home for less then three weeks and I am already planning a trip back before years end. Thank John and Cabinas Jimenez for making our vacation the perfect dream <3

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I read good reviews about this place before booking, and set my expectations accordingly - and yet - it exceeded them!
Staff was super friendly, speaking English, helping with everything you might need. The location is great - right on the water (this is a bay, not really a beach to swim at), 2 minutes walikng from the main street on Puerto Jimenez (where you would go to eat since there is no food on site). The rooms have A/C and everything I needed. They were clean and quiet, always with hot water. The perks here include bikes and kayaks to use free of charge (and WiFi).
It was nice to have a nice sitting area at the "lobby" where you could chat with other guests when it rains and there is not much else to do. The swimming pool is small but clean and nice to sit next to if you just want to relax.
The staff can help you organize your tours, and I really recommend the boat tour that the owner (John) runs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhiteSlope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

John and Leah are great hosts. They have different rooms for different budgets, so it's easy to find a spot that fits. The rooms are quiet, clean, and air-conditioned. Also, they include the use of 6 kayaks and about 10 different bikes for free, first-come, first-serve. Beautiful location right on the bay, easy walk to the downtown area or to the waterfront for fresh ceviche. Also they offer a variety of reasonably-priced tours right out of their lobby. My favorite was the boat tour in search of dolphins, where not only did we spend 45 minutes with a pod of about 12 dolphins surfacing all around us, but also snorkeled, did the plane board behind the boat (you've got to try it! Unbelievable!) and saw capuchin monkeys in a tree near water's edge. Add to that the fact that they're always trying to help out in any way, and you've got one of the best lodgings in Puerto Jimenez.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aguablanco15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews