We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and ammenities”
Review of Cabinas Jimenez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cabinas Jimenez
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed two nights before and one night after our 3-day tour of Corcovado park and we couldn't have picked a nicer place to stay. The property is beautiful and the rooms we stayed in had awesome private patios with nice sitting chairs that looked out to the bay. They also had free bikes and kayaks which was great. We took advantage of the bikes several times to run into town which really helped since our feet were getting pretty sore after 3 days of hiking in the jungle. Also after the sweaty days in the jungle it was nice to come back and sleep in rooms with A/C. The staff at Cabinas Jimenez was great and were more than happy to help answer any questions we had or to recommend places to shop or eat. We also really liked that they stored our luggage for free while we went on our excursion into the jungle. And probably the best part of our stay was that the owner recommended we go on their boat tour which seemed like it would be ok but ended up being the highlight of our entire 2 weeks in Costa Rica as we got to swim with a Whale Shark and a pod of dolphins. Overall great place, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (543)
There are newer reviews for Cabinas Jimenez
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 543 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Cabinas Jimenez is located at the edge of Golfo Dulce, a beautiful way to wake up and watch the sunrise or see the moon reflected at night. Kayaks are provided with the rooms to allow for spontaneous treks out in the gulf. Bikes are also offered with the rooms enabling exploration around town and to nearby Playa Platanares. Rooms are very clean with small refrigerators, hot water, comfortable mattresses and air conditioning. Staff is very attentive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alishungu04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here for one night but would have stayed more if there was availability. An amazing location where you can relax by the pool or borrow the bikes and kayaks on offer to explore the local area. Make sure you book this place in advance if you are traveling as it is likely to be full.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My husband and I love Cabinas Jimenez for it's proximity to town, grocery store, airport, and restaurants. What we love most is the uniqueness of the place. The attention to detail in the construction, woodwork and stone is stunning. We stayed in one of the more private suites which had our own balcony overlooking the tranquil Golfo Dulce. We loved waking up to this view every morning with a cup of sweet Costa Rican coffee. Our rooms were clean, cool and comfy equipped with our own mini fridge, coffee machine and flat screen TV. The shower was huge and laid out all in artistic tiles. The paintings, woodwork, artistry and foliage is lovely. Everything is perfect. If you want a true, unique tropical getaway, this is the place! The staff is super friendly. Tom was great with his knowledge of the area, Juan Carlos was helpful and friendly, but I'd like to really express our thanks to Lea! She was so gracious, sweet and welcoming. She really made our trip special from planning activities to getting to know her and her wonderful family. I feel we have made a friend for life. Thank you, Lea! I cannot forget the amazing time we had on the boat tour on the La Sirena with John (owner) and Josh! These guys are great!!! John really knows the area and Josh shares his wealth of information making the experience unforgettable! From dolphins to whale sharks, to holding Monkey's (at the Osa Wildlife Sanctuary), to hydroplaning underwater being towed behind the boat...the boat tour is a must do! Loved every minute of our stay there!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChantalApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Loved this little place, we didn't book and got lucky with a pool view room. The rooms were immaculately clean with great attention to detail. Lovely wooden chairs to sit on outside the room overlooking the golfo dulce. Great location only a minutes walk to main street. Some noise at night from local bar across the bay but didn't stop us sleeping. Coffee maker and fridge handy. Great air con and fans. Beautiful pool area well kept grounds. Really comfy beds. Book it you won't be disappointed. Puerto Jimenez itself was lovely we only stayed 2 nights and wished we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tctravelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed a total of 3 nights in Cabinas Jimenez on either end of our hike in Corcovado Natn'l Park. Both rooms were very clean and pleasant. Although there is occasional "air traffice" that can be heard from the small airport nearby, this location is actually further from the airport than any of the other town accommodations.

The small pool, A/C, and television were nice bonuses as we learned that many accommodations do not offer this.

Our room offered a beautiful view of the Golfo Dulce from our lovely porch, and visitors are welcome to use the Cabinas Jimenez bikes and kayaks to move about town or explore the nearby mangroves.

Although some people mentioned difficulties with phone contact, our reservations were made entirely through email and all replies were timely and provided very helpful information. The staff were also friendly and helpful with any questions we had upon arrival.

Having travelled extensively in many countries and accommodations, we are happy recommend Cabinas Jimenez.

Room Tip: We were willing to pay a bit more for a waterfront cabina and a family cabina. Definitely worth the...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

My cousin and I stayed here for four nights, checking out Oct. 4, 2013. We had originally booked the bungalow but John showed us the Rancho as an alternative and we liked it better so switched rooms. The only downside to staying in the room was that there is no place to hang up clothes - no closets or hangers of any kind, so we had to lay our clothes on the top bunk bed (nobody was sleeping there). We were very pleased with the service we got from Leah – who went out of her way to assist us. We didn’t have 6 people to do the boat tour, so she arranged a private boat tour with a man named Marvin who took us to the animal sanctuary. She also made arrangements one night when it was raining to get food delivered at a very reasonable price. She was helpful and friendly and I can’t say enough good things about her. We had a negative experience however when checking out. We asked the receptionist on duty that morning (whose name I didn’t get) to call us a cab to take us to SANSA airfield for our morning flight. She didn’t realize I understood Spanish and I overhead her say sarcastically to the “taxicab” driver that “the little princesses need a ride to the airport.” We were shocked because our interactions with the staff had always been polite and we tipped the maids well, so we felt her attitude was uncalled for. The person she called was not a metered cab driver and he overcharged us for the ride back to the airfield. Unfortunately, the hostile attitude on the part of this rude staff member spoiled what had been a pleasant experience for us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 20yrtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
2.2 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
338 reviews
1.0 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crocodile Bay Resort
Crocodile Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
73 reviews
11.9 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
320 reviews
9.8 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Jimenez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Jimenez

Address: on Main Street - 50 meters from the end of the soccer field | directly on the Golfo Dulce, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range: £43 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas Jimenez 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas Jimenez is located on the Osa Peninsula, in Puerto Jimenez, on a quiet street at the edge of Puerto Jimenez, and directly on the Golfo Dulce. Comfortable new beds and linens, A/C, hot showers, mini-fridge, coffee makers are just a few of the amenities offered. A new pool, free wireless internet, kayaks, bicycles, and a cheerful and helpful staff will make your stay at Cabinas Jimenez truly memorable! Explore Corcovado National Park, Go Fishing, Surfing…Come and explore all the Osa has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cabinas Jimenez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Jimenez Hotel Puerto Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez Puerto
Cabinas Jimenez Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing