We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our recent stay”
Review of Cabinas Jimenez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cabinas Jimenez
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We recently stayed here and found the rooms to be clean and comfortable and the staff great. Spring for a poolside room or one of the cabinas with an ocean view. AC worked fine and there was a microwave, fridge and coffee pot (with coffee and filters provided). John the owner was very personable and helpful as were all the staff, Anne, Tom and Ronnie. The cleaning staff were good and did a super job of moving our stuff when we extended our stay and changed rooms.

We took 2 tours from the hotel and were pleased them both. The first was the Dolphin tour with John, we opted to not go to the rescue sanctuary which as it turned out meant finding the dolphins and spending more time amongst them. There were possibly more than 80 in the pod. The time went fast but was great, having fresh fruit and cold juice and water is a nice touch.

The second was a day hike at Montepalo with Tom, his knowledge of the area is amazing as is his ability to spot and find things, 4 types of monkies, wild pig, poison dart frogs, and numerous birds.

We also made use of the. Bikes but didn't use the kayaks as ran out of time, next time.

We will stay here again and will surely recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Pool view or ocean view, a bit more money but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

It met our family’s needs for 3 nights:

1. Wonderful View from our deck: we stayed upstairs. I enjoyed sunrise with my tea

2. Two-bedroom unit: perfect for our family and the rate was reasonable

3. AC: bonus for my husband as we were there during some hottest days

4. Tentative owner: John seemed to always fix and improve things. There were no children’s bikes; he made sure our boy can sit comfortably on my husband’s bike, and talked about getting children’s bikes

5. Kayak: nice to get out to the water so easily

6. Bikes: Loved to cycle around to the shops and restaurants like the locals; great culture and language experience for our boy

7. Staff: Helpful; one of them helped our boy pick coconuts off the trees and crack them, which was his highlight

Our only wish was for natural ventilation in our bathroom. We stayed in Rancho #1.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank WendyBayarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Overall...The rooms were good. Clean room that met our needs. Some Pros: Kayaks and Bikes are included in the price of the room and the hotel is close to a few restaurants and stores. The hotel is on the bay so some of the rooms get a real nice bay view or pool view. WIFI is available and tours are offered at the hotel but a lot of them you have to find your way there either by cab or the collectivo...so having a vehicle (4WD) is a plus, or certain tours, such as the dolphin cruise must have 6 people signed up or it will get cancelled. Coffee or breakfast is not served at the facility, and when the owner was asked whether coffee in the morning was provided, the response was that if guests are provided coffee that they will start expecting food (breakfast)...on the good note the bakery up the street opens up early and they had good pastries and coffee!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The room was said to be deluxe but it was far from a deluxe room. Very small room, no place to sit except on the bed. If you wanted to sit outside, you were right on top of your neighbors (who smoked) and no privacy. The A/C was on a timer with a max time of 60 minutes. The location is good and they provide parking.

Room Tip: The best room is #10 or one of the newer rooms with a private deck that face Dulce Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabinasjimenez, Owner at Cabinas Jimenez, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Hello, I truely believe that you stayed in one of my standard rooms, that are on the small side. But considering that all of the rooms come with A.C.'s, fans, hot water, refrigerators, coffee maker's, and the free use of Bikes, kayaks, Wi Fi and a small swimming pool, $ 50 a night for two persons isn't too bad of a deal. Regards, John Owner of Cabinas Jimenez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

I would definitely suggest getting a cabin with a view. The standard room is nice but it is it is just a place to sleep at night. We stayed in the ocean view room and the deck area was super spacious and beautiful, great for relaxing after hiking Corcovado. Overall, we had a wonderful experience.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Shengxiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

After three days (and 50+ km) of hiking through Corcovado, this place was just what I needed. Got a small but clean and well equipped (hot water, AC, fridge, fan, etc....) room for only $35. I had to wimp out and use the AC, which I had not planned on doing, but I was hot and tired and it felt great. They have a public area to hang clothes to dry (did laundry in the sink). Location couldn't be better- only two blocks to the main strip in town and just around the corner and a short walk from the strip of waterfront restaurants and the ferry to Golfito that I needed the next morning. The rooms around the pool have great views of the bay from their front porch. Staff was helpful, and the lobby area has useful maps and other info. on local tours and attractions. Overall, quiet and comfortable place to stay, met my needs perfectly as a transition between my Corcovado trek and the next phase of my trip to Zancudo.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Choade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Nice place, clean, good location, nice people, nice little pool, everything fine but....

But then it comes the "A/C torture": in order to save on the electric bill (and the cabins rates doesn't justify it), the Air Conditioning is controlled by a timer, with maximum of ONE hour setting.
So, at night, when you awake soaked in sweat, you got to rise and reach the wall to get ONE more hour of cool air and resulting sleep.
Then, after an hour or so, the same story. All night long. A nightmare.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arnoldo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabinasjimenez, Owner at Cabinas Jimenez, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

I apologize for the Air Conditioning problem. My staff / receptionist must have forgotten to explain to you that if hold the button, for the A.C. timer, it will stay on all night. I have already made up small laminated signs / directions explaining the correct use of the A.C timers, so that this problem will not happen again. And if would be kind enough to write another review, it would be greatly appreciated by me. Again, I apologize for the problem. John owner of Cabinas Jimenez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
2.2 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
342 reviews
0.9 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
182 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crocodile Bay Resort
Crocodile Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
173 reviews
9.8 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
11.9 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Jimenez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Jimenez

Address: on Main Street - 50 meters from the end of the soccer field | directly on the Golfo Dulce, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range: £39 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas Jimenez 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas Jimenez is located on the Osa Peninsula, in Puerto Jimenez, on a quiet street at the edge of Puerto Jimenez, and directly on the Golfo Dulce. Comfortable new beds and linens, A/C, hot showers, mini-fridge, coffee makers are just a few of the amenities offered. A new pool, free wireless internet, kayaks, bicycles, and a cheerful and helpful staff will make your stay at Cabinas Jimenez truly memorable! Explore Corcovado National Park, Go Fishing, Surfing…Come and explore all the Osa has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cabinas Jimenez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Jimenez Hotel Puerto Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez Puerto
Cabinas Jimenez Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing