We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, helpful friendly staff”
Review of Cabinas Jimenez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabinas Jimenez
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Overlooking the harbor, this hotel offers the best views in Jimenez. The rooms are basic but clean, although I would recommend the rooms situated away from the reception area as you are less likely to be disturbed by guests arriving late/leaving early. The gardens and swimming pool are a real treat, making it a great place to relax with a beer after a hard day's exploring. Chris, the manager, was particularly helpful providing excellent advice and assistance with our journey to Drake Bay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephencr32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2010

I stayed at playa preciosa lodge and iguana lodge and i liked cabinas jimenez much more. It is much better value, there were'nt many guests staying when we were there so it was very quiet and relaxing which is what i came for. Chris the manager was very accomodating and we ended up staying for 9 days. After staying there i would'nt think of going anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eric j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

The rooms are clean with comfortable beds and lovely pillows, a treat to sleep in A/C. The staff is very helpful with tips on where to eat and areas to visit. Rooms are painted with pics of the ocean and parrots in the trees. Take the boat trip for 45.00, we saw the dolphins and snorkeled with the pretty fish. This is a really lovely hotel, outside is plenty of patio space and a large jacuzzi to stargaze in at night. The only recommendation we had was more than one garbage in the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snarf1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

I can only say great things about the accommodations and the staff. Because of the location sometimes we heard the nearby disco but it was a small price to pay for the nice lodging and helpful staff. The pool is very small but that did not keep my son from having a great time in it. Do be aware that, like most places in Costa Rica, there are mosquitoes. Day trips to Matapalo were great but do no pass on the opportunity to go to the Fundacione Sanctuario Osa. A wonderful place with hard-working and dedicated people who are doing there best to save animals. We saw lots of dolfins and turtles as well

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sally331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Our stay at Cabinas Jimenez was a great experience. While we were there it was also holy week , Easter, which brought many Ticos to the area. That turned out not to be bad it was a peaceful busy atmosphere during the day and the evenings. Puerto Jimenez was less busy Easter night and Monday.

Cabinas Jimenez provided us excellent service. John the owner has done a great job of renovating and maintaining the place. His manager was an excellent source of info and networking tours in the area, as well as general local info. Juan Carlos is also an excellent source of information.

Our room was very clean. outside the room and the grounds are clean. service was great.

Bikes and kayaks are always around.

The Adventure tour is a great trip. The animal preserve is interesting, like pulling up to jurrasic park, snorkling was good , dolphin chasing, and planer boarding was fun.

If you want a nice place to stay with an air conditioned room go to Cabinas Jimenez!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgePennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

Recently spent 4 nights there with my wife. The location of the cabinas is very good as well as the hospitality. The owner took some guests including my wife on a private boat tour on the gulf. The room we had, #6, was quite small - it would have been best suited for a single person sleeping in a single bed. It was so small that a shelf blocks the window. But there appeared to be many other rooms that were bigger. One drawback here is that they don't offer breakfast. Chris was quite helpful in finding tour opportunities for us. Despite the above-mentioned, we had a good experience.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank François B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

We tried to like this place but ...

The "General Manager" challenged us at check out on the rate he had given us - despite our having paid the same rate for two previous nights. The implication was that we were lying and we did not appreciate that. We paid and thought we were done with it.

Not so fast - later on the same fellow literally ran after us as we left to complain that we had not adequately tipped the staff. He trotted out all he had done for us: holding our bags, extending checkout (for one whole hour!). It was unprofessional and further damaged our day in town.

Too bad, really. The rooms, while tiny, have been thoughtfully decorated. The GM on a good day was actually quite pleasant and helpful. His bad days negated the good.

I would add though that "pre-setting" the air-conditioning and fan speed seems a bit nasty. In fact, the ceiling fan rotated much too fast for the tiny room creating a disturbing draught. And the air-con - which is in the bathroom - was actually too cold one night so we had to regulate the room temperature by adjusting the bathrooom door several times during the night. The hotel also warns patrons against using the A/C when the hotel feels it is not needed: or they will "turn it off for you".

Oh, one last thing ... when the assortment of very damaged bikes was dysfunctional the GM gave us a dollar and instructed us on where to get one bike fixed. We did this. If we hadn't we'd have had no bike.

Hope you're getting the picture.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StatesAlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptChrisCR, General Manager at Cabinas Jimenez, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2010

Dear Traveler,

As evidenced by our prior reviews, we do not respond to opinions presented in this forum from our prior guests. We firmly believe in the autonomy of this site as a guest driven environment. We respect, and truly take to heart the opinions of Our Guests. Both good and bad. However, misstatement of facts, or clarification of information provided by our prior Guests We believe is important to address.

As stated in our Comprehensive In-Room information books, Our bicycles and Kayaks are available free to our guests, on a first come first serve basis. Both the bikes and kayaks see a lot of use and abuse. Kayaks get holes in them from misuse and are sometimes not always available because they are being repaired. The bicycles, even the new ones, rust quickly, get a lot of use and abuse, and are not always available.

Our Guests wanted to use 3 bicycles, all of which were operating perfectly, save for the ~dysfunctional~ adjustable seat on one bike which was rusted and would not move. Because of the time of day, our employees and myself were busy with other tasks and assisting other guests. I gave Our Guests a dollar, pointed them in the direction of the repair shop (3 blocks away) and asked them to please ask the bicycle repairman to adjust the seat. I truly believed I was being helpful.

Regarding the A/C and fan, there is nothing ~nasty~ about our policy. Yes, the word nasty is an opinion, but I seek to clarify Our Guests information. Our Comprehensive In-Room information book states exactly...We proudly participate in Project Planet, A/C is included in ALL ROOMS with our published rate schedule. If you have received a discount off of our published rate, your discounted rate does NOT include A/C. Our rooms have been wired with an on/off timer switch located near the light switch as you enter the room. The temperature and fan have been pre-set. Press the on/off button to set the timer for 10, 20, 30 or 60 minutes, OR press and hold for 3 seconds until the hold light illuminates for continued usage. Units should be turned off EVERY TIME you leave the room, or it will be turned off for you. Windows and doors must be closed when the A/C is on. There are also ceiling fans in all of the rooms which we encourage you to use for your comfort. The fan can be turned on and off at the light switch, adjustments to fan speed are made by pulling the chain directly on the fan. Many nights the ceiling fan, with the windows open can be pleasant for sleeping. We encourage you to help us conserve our precious resources and our fragile Eco-system.

The ~tiny rooms~, again an opinion, referred to in this review were #2 Waterfront (our 2nd largest room) which includes a private patio, and #8 Poolside Deluxe. Our rooms are designed for comfortable sleeping and showering. Our grounds are thoughtfully designed for resting, relaxing, and socializing. We encourage our guests to get out and explore, not sit in their room.

Our Walk-In guests received a discount by our front desk staff. The discount was not given, approved, or authorized by the owner or manager. However, the rate that was quoted to these guests was honored. Cabinas Jimenez rates are the same year round. Cabinas Jimenez does not increase rates during high season, or during holidays, and we attempt not to discount during off season. We believe we provide tremendous value for the rates we charge.

Our Walk-In guests first night was spent in our Waterfront #2 at a 33% discount. The additional nights in #7 and #8, each night at a 24% discount. We stored luggage for this family of three for 12 days. We accommodated them when they returned often to retrieve this or that, or leave this or that. Unfortunately, we could not accommodate this family during this 12 day time period because we were full with prior advanced reservations. Upon Our Guests return for their last one night stay, I requested payment and was "told" they were getting a discount. I attempted to explain our position, and quickly relented to Our Guests demand for a discount.

After Our Guests had vacated their room, I asked our housekeeping staff if Our Guests had left a tip. The answer was no. Our guests ~adequate tip~ was nothing, zero.

There was no ~running after them~ or ~complaining~, I simply asked Our Guests as they were leaving to, "Please, at least leave a couple of dollars for the staff." Yes, I did ~trot out~ to them their significant discount during our busiest time of the year! The A/C they were provided free of charge even though we discounted the rooms, the bicycles and kayaks they definitely used, the baggage storage and constant retrieval over 12 days, the 1 hour extended check out (we had guests coming in ~one whole hour~ to check in their room, so it was a big deal to the housekeeping staff). Additionally I ~trotted out~ All the direction and help we provided answering the multitude of questions, AND helping them find other accommodations at the last minute. Even though they failed to plan their trip, my hope was that we really helped make their stay on the Osa Peninsula a great experience! Asking them to leave a couple of dollars for the cleaning staff I don't believe was at all out of line or unprofessional.

If the worst anyone can say is that I am moody, and that I look after our staff...then so be it. :-)

~Hope you are getting the picture.~

Capt. Chris
GM - Cabinas Jimenez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
2.2 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
354 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar Nature Resort
La Chosa del Manglar Nature Reso...
#7 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
76 reviews
0.9 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crocodile Bay Resort - An All-Inclusive Resort
11.8 mi away
Hotel Samoa del Sur
Hotel Samoa del Sur
#7 of 12 in Golfito
66 reviews
6.7 mi away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Jimenez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Jimenez

Address: on Main Street - 50 meters from the end of the soccer field | directly on the Golfo Dulce, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range: £43 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas Jimenez 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas Jimenez is located on the Osa Peninsula, in Puerto Jimenez, on a quiet street at the edge of Puerto Jimenez, and directly on the Golfo Dulce. Comfortable new beds and linens, A/C, hot showers, mini-fridge, coffee makers are just a few of the amenities offered. A new pool, free wireless internet, kayaks, bicycles, and a cheerful and helpful staff will make your stay at Cabinas Jimenez truly memorable! Explore Corcovado National Park, Go Fishing, Surfing…Come and explore all the Osa has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cabinas Jimenez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Jimenez Hotel Puerto Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez Puerto
Cabinas Jimenez Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing