We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I still LOVE this place”
Review of Cabinas Jimenez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cabinas Jimenez
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Certificate of Excellence
Sandalo, OSA Pen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“I still LOVE this place”
Reviewed 16 September 2010

My husband & I have stayed here any times...and we still love it! The place keeps getting better & better, everytime we stay there is something new i.e. pool, BBQ spot, garden. The staff is always friendly & helpful, the grounds are amazing-so many types of flowers, love it! The sunrises setting on the porch with a cup of Costa Rican coffee are unforgetable. I always recomend this home-away-from-home to all my friends/family when visiting the area. Thanks Guys for another wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OSAJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    171
    28
    12
    11
See reviews for
104
255
48
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Logansport, Indiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

What a great place that;s on the waterfront, From the cool rooms to the landscaping and lets not forget the pool. We had a great time mostly because of the staff, very helpful and willing to please. From the deck on off our room we had the most beautiful view even had a Macaw in the tree above the deck. Chris and John are two of the best hosts, you could ask them anything and they knew the answer . Take their tours for Dolphins and whales and refuge run its worth it. We all used the free bikes and kayaks and the delivery food services (almost evey resturant delivers). We enjoyed coming back to the hotel after a long day of exploring and enjoyed taking a dip in the pool, ordering food, having some drinks, and enjoying the view as the sun went down. Life there is so much different, and so much slower and we wished we could stay forever. If you come down to this unique paradise you have to stay at the Cabinas Jimenez, there is really no other place like it. Next time we go, we are asking for a monthly rate!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfreshour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Ok, so the kayaks are a little old. But they are free to use. They'll loan you bikes too!

But that's not the best of it. The best of it is the A/C. Seriously. I mean, after a while in Costa Rica you don't mind. But then when you come to a place with it, it's really really nice. The rooms are totally tricked out. They have dishes and a fridge. Hot water. And pleasant murals in the rooms and bathrooms (see pics).

The staff is really nice, but also really laid back. Definitely my style, but maybe not everyone's. You should just press them if you need advice, but the upside of that attitude is that you can keep to yourself and come and go really easily feeling the whole time like you're at your own place.

It's not very central, but it's way close to town than the lodges. I'd say it's just about perfect. Far enough to be extremely quiet and private, but just a block from delicious PizzaMail.it which has (surprise) great Pizza!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbeutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

PROS:
- Bug coil provided
- Nice grounds

CONS:
- Both male staff leaders reeked of alcohol and seemed incoherent - they were unable to answer simple questions
- AC units regularly turned off at night and in morning, even though we paid for it - awoken to hot room every night
- Rooms small and cramped - even the 'larger' ones
- Guests regularly smoked marijuana on the property
- WiFi access spotty from lobby - did not work in room at all
- Maid service did not clean room 50% of the time

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sumowondertoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptChrisCR, General Manager at Cabinas Jimenez, responded to this review, 13 September 2010
Dear Traveler,

After attempting to contact this Reviewer and the Spouse and receiving no response. And only after submitting husband and wife's reviews for removal or editing by Trip Advisor, have I decided to respond. Trip Advisor agreed with me, and this review has actually been edited from it's original content.

Never, In my 22 years in the service and hospitality industry have I come across two more genuinely unhappy people. I find no reason for anyone to personally attack a property and it's staff in the manner this couple has done, and in this very public forum. They not only attacked us...But many of the other properties they reviewed!

The language used by this couple in all of their reviews seems purposefully hurtful and mean spirited in its tenor and content. Before they were edited, this couple even went so far as to click and find each others reviews helpful on our page!

We take all our guests reviews very seriously and constantly make changes to improve our property as well as our hospitality and the services that we provide our guests. In fact, we are very proactive about problems by having in room books, and laminates on the inside of every door asking our guests to please tell us if there are any problems or issues we can address, because we want to make their stay as comfortable and carefree as possible. I promise, Cabinas Jimenez welcomes constructive criticism, and we truly take the opinions of our guests to heart.

As for you Traveler, you will have to make up your own mind. Over the years we have had many excellent reviews. I would encourage you to become a member of Trip Advisor. As a member you can view other guests profiles and reviews, as well as contact other members and reviewers directly. Our prior guests who have taken the time to post a review, would also probably be happy to take a moment to answer any questions or concerns you may have about Cabinas Jimenez.

As far as this couples claims, opinions and the words they chose to use...I will choose the high road on this one. To specifically address them would lend validity. I have questioned our staff, as well as personally reached out to this couple regarding each of the allegations, and conclude they are all unfounded.

Capt. Chris
GM - Cabinas Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We recently stayed at Cabinas Jimenez for a total of 12 nights. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cabinas are cozy and comfortable and the included A/C, coffee maker and mini fridge were wonderful to have in the room. The grounds are well kept and beautiful filled with tropical trees and plants. The staff is ALWAYS available and very helpful. Jon was nice enough to take us out on his boat with a few other guests on a short tour of the Golfo Dulce. It was a nice quiet place to escape from the hustle and bustle of the city. Everything was in walking distance including food, laundry, groceries and Juan Carlos was always available to reccomend somewhere to eat. Our room was cleaned daily. The free use of kayaks and the bikes are a great addition to the hotel. The pool is a wonderful spot to hang out and relax when the tide is low.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veaan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Wow, what a disappointment this hotel was! My husband noted that both of the staff members seemed a little incoherent and I smelled the alcohol on their breaths from several feet away. The guy at night wasn't really able to answer any of our questions and had to sit down and just seemed to ramble on about something.

Well, maybe it's just the culture here in Puerto Jimenez? Anyway, lets go on to the room…it was really, really small. Too small for the amount of furniture it had in it. The included A/C unit was mounted in the bathroom for some reason and was regularly turned off at night even though we paid for it (we heard the staff turn off the circuit breakers regularly). The room was only cleaned once in our 3-night stay. Also, there were other guests who regularly smoked pot in the pool area. Not sure about the legality of drug use here, but it's definitely not a place to bring children.

The included use of the bikes and kayaks were a bit of a let-down. The bikes were never available and the kayaks were crappy fiberglass things that were too heavy for us to carry down to the water. The included wifi rarely worked and was not accessible in the room.

I was happy with the plates and silverware they included in the room, and we never had any bug problems. I would seriously consider other accommodations before trusting the good reviews on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ftravmpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptChrisCR, General Manager at Cabinas Jimenez, responded to this review, 13 September 2010
Dear Traveler,

After attempting to contact this Reviewer and the Spouse and receiving no response. And only after submitting husband and wife's reviews for removal or editing by Trip Advisor, have I decided to respond. Trip Advisor agreed with me, and the husbands review has actually been edited from it's original content.

Never, In my 22 years in the service and hospitality industry have I come across two more genuinely unhappy people. I find no reason for anyone to personally attack a property and it's staff in the manner this couple has done, and in this very public forum. They not only attacked us...But most all of the other properties they reviewed!

The language used by this couple in all of their reviews seems purposefully hurtful and mean spirited in its tenor and content. Before they were edited, this couple even went so far as to click and find each others reviews helpful on our page!

We take all our guests reviews very seriously and constantly make changes to improve our property as well as our hospitality and the services that we provide our guests. In fact, we are very proactive about problems by having in room books, and laminates on the inside of every door asking our guests to please tell us if there are any problems or issues we can address, because we want to make their stay as comfortable and carefree as possible. I promise, Cabinas Jimenez welcomes constructive criticism, and we truly take the opinions of our guests to heart.

As for you Traveler, you will have to make up your own mind. Over the years we have had many excellent reviews. I would encourage you to become a member of Trip Advisor. As a member you can view other guests profiles and reviews, as well as contact other members and reviewers directly. Our prior guests who have taken the time to post a review, would also probably be happy to take a moment to answer any questions or concerns you may have about Cabinas Jimenez.

As far as this couples claims, opinions and the words they chose to use...I will choose the high road on this one. To specifically address them would lend validity. I have questioned our staff, as well as personally reached out to this couple regarding each of the allegations, and conclude they are all unfounded.

Capt. Chris
GM - Cabinas Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago de Puriscal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

My son and I stayed at Cabinas Jimenez for 4 days. Our room was exceptionally clean, and was cleaned with loving attention each day. We had a great time going out everyday on the free kayaks the owner provides. He also provides free use of several bicycles he has and that was fun too. We biked all around Puerto Jimenez. John invited us and several other guests to go on his boat to a remote beach. The water was clear and we all jumped into the warm clear water. All staff and other guests were friendly which created a peaceful atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juddtuska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
2.2 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
331 reviews
1.0 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#4 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crocodile Bay Resort
Crocodile Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
167 reviews
11.3 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Jimenez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Jimenez

Property: Cabinas Jimenez
Address: on Main Street - 50 meters from the end of the soccer field | directly on the Golfo Dulce, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas Jimenez 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas Jimenez is located on the Osa Peninsula, in Puerto Jimenez, on a quiet street at the edge of Puerto Jimenez, and directly on the Golfo Dulce. Comfortable new beds and linens, A/C, hot showers, mini-fridge, coffee makers are just a few of the amenities offered. A new pool, free wireless internet, kayaks, bicycles, and a cheerful and helpful staff will make your stay at Cabinas Jimenez truly memorable! Explore Corcovado National Park, Go Fishing, Surfing…Come and explore all the Osa has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cabinas Jimenez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Jimenez Hotel Puerto Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez Puerto
Cabinas Jimenez Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing