We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made a reservation but they never wrote it down!!!!”
Review of Cabinas Jimenez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cabinas Jimenez
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We made a reservation including giving a credit card but they wrote it down. Seems the person who takes the reservation did "put in the book" like they said. When we arrived at 4pm all the rooms were full so we had to go else where.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DaVillageIdiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2011

Great value. Happy to help us, make recommendations, and show their appreciation. John made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

The view from my room out over the harbour was magical. The quality of the rooms for the cost is amazing! I live in a beautiful place but the time I spend at Cabinas Jimenez is always muy rico. Book ahead because it's often full for the reasons stated above.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
Thank puravidaoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

This was our first visit to the Osa Peninsula. The front desk staff were friendly and courteous, they spoke good English. The room (a standard) was very small and the air conditioning was necessary to cool off enough to sleep well at night. The pool is a nice addition.

One caution, if you pay cash get a receipt when you pay the bill. We were asked a couple of time when we were going to pay the bill even though we paid the bill in cash at check in. It worked out but I learned my lesson.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qualityhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Having read all of the glowing reviews on trip advisor and thoroughly researching Cabinas Jimenez's website I went ahead and booked 'Casa Jimenez' in advance for five nights for my parents and my husband and I. After an exhausting day of travel we arrived at 5pm and were told the house we were staying at was not ready yet - not a great start. Whilst waiting in the reception area for our accommodation, Captain Chris (one of the owners) informed us that the place we were staying at was located 2 kilometers from the hotel on the out skirts of town (which was not previously disclosed to us - though this has now been rectified on their website) and the reason that it's not ready is because the property HAD BEEN BROKEN INTO and stripped of everything! When the house was finally ready we were driven (yes, that's how far away it is from the hotel and all of its amenities) to the casa to find a 'bare bones' shell of a house. Only the beds and towels had been replaced; the kitchen had no glasses, knives or forks, stove or any kind of cooking utensils. We felt very concerned about the security of the location as it was so far from town and the safety of the hotel.
The worst part was the owners demeanor (not Chris, the other American guy that drove us to the house). He never once apologized for the inconvenience and discomfort this event caused us. He seemed to be more concerned that his day had been disrupted by our arrival and having to prepare the house with such short notice, telling us it was not his job to fix this problem but he 'guessed' he would do it. He told us he was too tired to replace the kitchen goods that night and he would do it the next morning. Turning up at 7pm the next day with kitchen stuff affirmed to us that our comfort and general experience was not his primary goal.
Next morning (day 3 of our now not-so-relaxing vacation...) when we brought the issues to Chris' attention he looked as though he was expecting us. He listened to our concerns and worked with us to find a solution without having us move to another location. We appreciated his understanding and willingness to please although we really felt the owner's should've taken a proactive approach to the situation before we had to bring the 'obvious' to their attention.
To add insult to injury the owner (not Chris) flagged us down on the street to tell us we were now getting a 'screaming' rate on the rental property - which was really unnecessary and downright rude.
All in all we loved what Puerto Jimenez had to offer (it's a great destination) we just wouldn't recommend staying in Cabinas Jimenez as their service and security leaves much to be desired.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank acoupleofwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Liked this place a lot. Seems to attract a nice mix of Europeans and Americans/Canadians. Would have been nice to have coffee and tea available. Nice swimming pool. Fun to take the kayaks out on the Golfo Dulce. Near to the town which has quite a good mix of restaurants, small groceries, etc. Owner and management very friendly and helpful. Also they stored some of our luggage while we went away for a few days. That was extremely helpful for us.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zialucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

The grounds are beautiful, the staff is very kind and willing to assist you finding places to eat and activities in town. The owner is a friendly guy, easy to talk to, he employs a couple of local kids (about 12 years old) to wash his boat each day and they hang out on the beach near the hotel.
There is a lovely little pool and garden area, plenty of comfy chairs outside for reading, and a handy binder with information about local attractions available at the front desk. Our room had a fridge, a fan, and air conditioning. My one complaint is that our room was not made up daily, while on vacation one of my favorite parts about splurging on a hotel is having someone else make the bed.
Very affordable, about a 3 minute walk from the main drag, so it's quiet enough to get some good shut eye but close enough for a stumble home.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomadicmermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
2.2 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
342 reviews
0.9 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
182 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crocodile Bay Resort
Crocodile Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
173 reviews
9.8 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
11.9 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Jimenez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Jimenez

Address: on Main Street - 50 meters from the end of the soccer field | directly on the Golfo Dulce, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range: £39 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas Jimenez 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas Jimenez is located on the Osa Peninsula, in Puerto Jimenez, on a quiet street at the edge of Puerto Jimenez, and directly on the Golfo Dulce. Comfortable new beds and linens, A/C, hot showers, mini-fridge, coffee makers are just a few of the amenities offered. A new pool, free wireless internet, kayaks, bicycles, and a cheerful and helpful staff will make your stay at Cabinas Jimenez truly memorable! Explore Corcovado National Park, Go Fishing, Surfing…Come and explore all the Osa has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cabinas Jimenez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Jimenez Hotel Puerto Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez Puerto
Cabinas Jimenez Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing