We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding wildlife experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Chosa del Manglar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Chosa del Manglar
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Long Island
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding wildlife experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

This will be both a review and a sort of elegy.

I had always wanted to stay in an ecolodge in the middle of a rainforest, but it was outside my means. La Choza really filled that need. Reasonably priced, and backing on the mangroves so that the birding is excellent--I saw scarlet macaws, red lored parrots, hummingbirds, flycatchers, cranes, toucans, and many more, as well as many white-faced monkeys--La Choza is also just a 10 or 15 minute walk from town. The rooms are just okay, but that's not what I went there for, and the air conditioning was welcome! Although I did go on some outings, I could have happily spent my whole week strolling the grounds observing the birds and animals. The town is quite small, with mostly unpaved roads; if you're looking for a place with great nightlife or many restaurants to choose from, this isn't the place--but for closeness to nature, birds, and other wildlife, it can't be beat. It was really one of the best vacations of my life.

Now for the elegy part. The owner says that he is planning to develop the property into something much more upscale, with time-shares, hotel, etc., and, depending on various contingencies, construction could start as soon as this June. He also said that currently the website is programmed to state that the place is booked through the end of the season in April, but you might have better luck if you call the hotel directly. If it takes longer to get development started, it's possible there may be one more season left next year (the owner promises updates on the website as the plans progress), but otherwise this is the last of La Choza's current incarnation. If this is the kind of vacation you've wanted, get it while you can!

Room Tip: The website says that the cabins in the back have the best wildlife viewing, but they also are witho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slands2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    20
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
6
32
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Looks like they are trying to redevelop this place - the bar/restaurant was closed (the nearest restaurants are about a 10-15 min walk), there was no hot water, window panes missing etc. The cheapest rooms ($49 for two) are minute. But the garden is lovely, the staff and dogs very friendly and it's very peaceful in the evening.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ute C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cave Creek, Arizona
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

I filled out the reservation form only to receive a dialog box afterward tell me the place closed March 2011.

Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Johnny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at La Choza del Manglar in March 2011, and we met pcollins10 from British Columbia who also wrote a review. We were going to Osa for the first time and we searched tripadvisor for literally DAYS trying to pick a place to stay in PJ. We eventually took a risk and picked La Choza, and it turned out to be an excellent choice.

This place is right next to the airstrip and so it's very easy to find. I was concerned about that because I figured that there would be loud planes coming in all the time. There wasn't any airport noise at all though.

The rooms were very nice and the beds were comfortable. Our room was a little small but we weren't in there except to sleep. It's a colorful hotel. The air conditioner worked great and there was lots of hot water. They have cute little touches all over the place, like foosball table and a little library. There are little porches where residents can sit outside and just enjoy the jungle surroundings. We were there when it wasn’t that busy, so I don't know how thin the walls are – no one was in the adjoining room. The rooms were clean, and cleaned every day. We had heard that sometimes thefts occur in Costa Rica hotels, but despite keeping some of our cheaper gear and clothes in our rooms, nothing of ours was ever touched.

The setting is unique, like pcollins10 said. It's in the middle of a mangrove swamp and so every time we went out, we saw the native wildlife. We got some of our best monkey and macaw pictures here. It's a quiet place and you really only hear animal sounds. It's a little bit of a walk to PJ and the beach but the tradeoff is that you're that much closer to nature.

The breakfast, which was included in our room rate, was quite nice. Lots of fruit and different cereals, hard boiled eggs and pastries. Andrew, the owner, tended bar one night and let's just say that it was pretty memorable, haha. Andrew is a USA expat and he's married to Jacqueline, a Tica. Their philosophy is the pay their employees well so that they can hang on to good people. The employees were very courteous and helpful. We had to change our plans halfway through and they had no problems accommodating us.

So my advice is to disregard the more negative reviews. We were apprehensive after reading them too. But we really enjoyed our time at La Choza and had a fantastic time.

We would definitely stay here next time.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pender Harbour, B.C., Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

My husband and I stayed for over a week. We were in Cabin 8, which is by the mangroves. We wanted to see lots of wildlife and wow, we weren't disappointed! Monkeys surrounded the place almost every morning and many times in the afternoon too. There were so many scarlet mackaws and other parrots, I lost count. They even have mackaws that fly into the open-air restaurant for a breakfast of bread and milk every morning...very entertaining! We also enjoyed a full breakfast each morning that's included with the room rate.

The staff was courteous and the owners were very friendly and helpful. I had a severe allergic reaction to insect bites where we were staying before arriving at La Choza, and the owners took an active interest in my recuperation. (It was so bad that I had to have IV treatments at the hospital twice a day.) The owners (Jacqueline and Andrew) were very personable and we enjoyed their company a lot.

Our room was hand-painted and funky. It was thoroughly cleaned every day. We loved sitting out back on the porch, looking at the assortment of wildlife that was literally at our feet...raccoons, a caiman, iguanas and other lizards, butterflies, birds like crazy, and the aforementioned monkeys. That was a big bonus for me because I'm a wildlife photographer. We didn't have to leave the beautiful grounds of La Choza in order to see an amazing assortment of wildlife.

La Choza is a pleasant walk away from Puerto Jimenez and the beach and is located about a block away from the airstrip. I don't remember being bothered by any airport noise though...La Choza is really quiet, and that's something I appreciate a lot.

Overall, we both really enjoyed our stay there and wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pcollins10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

Fantastic place with nice staff and a aboundance of wildlife that just took my breath away. I was watching Whate-faced capuchins and raccoons for breakfast, tukans for lunch ang iguanas and cajmans for supper. You can see a lot of animals just sitting in the little cozy swimming pool, or standing on a bridge that crosses the little stream, just oustide the hotel. thisis a hidden treasure in the otherwise trivial and suty Puerto Jimenez. I loved the friendly staff as well. They seamed to enjoy both the animals and the guests, which is quite rare in the hotel business... And they were kind enough to point out when the tukans came around for the bananas :-)
Very nice and clean rooms, mayne too little space to put your things, but still!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Visent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2010

Lacks atmosphere.Room was tiny, damp and smelly. It should market itself as a hostel. Staff were completely disinterested.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SileAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
1.8 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.2 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#4 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
12.0 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Purruja Lodge
La Purruja Lodge
#8 of 12 in Golfito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
1.9 mi away
Iguana Lodge
Iguana Lodge
#3 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabinas Tropicales
Cabinas Tropicales
#3 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chosa del Manglar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chosa del Manglar

Property: La Chosa del Manglar
Address: | 150 meters west of the Airfield, Puerto Jimenez 60702, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Chosa del Manglar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At "La Chosa del Manglar" (or "The Mangrove Hut" if you prefer the English version) you are GUARANTEED to see WILDLIFE. How certain are we? Well, have you ever sat in a Tropical Lounge and seen a Scarlet Macaw, a Monkey or a Kinkajou? You will at "La Chosa". Many guests have said they see more wildlife at "La Chosa del Manglar" than at any other location during their Costa Rica vacation. We just reopened in February of 2014 after being closed for the best part of the last five years. We built some new rooms during that time which we are sure will now offer our guests greater variety and comfort while visiting La Chosa. Come and stay with us, whether for just a few days or a few weeks. We are only a five minute walk to downtown Puerto Jimenez and only 300 meters from one of the nicest beaches here. Gentle waves will lull you on our beautiful chocolate sand beaches, cavorting Scarlet Macaws (Lapas) will fly and play throughout the gardens of "La Chosa". This is truly a birders paradise. You don't even have to leave your room or cabin to see these impressive Macaws and the many other varieties of exotic birds that visit here. Don't forget to spend some time in the lounge, decorated with beautiful hand painted murals that showcase the "Intimate & World Famous" Monkey Bar. The bar is yours to work as you please during your visit. It has been converted to a communal bar. We offer WIFI so bring your laptops, smartphones or tablets if you want or need to hook up. La Chosa now offers a funky beach hut on 13 acres with 150 meters of beach frontage with secluded sun bathing areas; a beautiful 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom tropical home in Puerto Jimenez & finally a secluded "Mountain Cabin" in the interior of the OSA overlooking Corcovado National Park for the truly adventurous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Chosa del Manglar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Chosa Del Manglar Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing