We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Chosa del Manglar
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really good”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The hotel is almost a tourist destination in itself!
We saw scarlet macaws, cappuccino monkeys, crabs, all kinds of plant and animal life in the grounds of the hotel itself. We were there for 3 or 4 nights.

The rooms were comfortable enough, but very humid. There was a dehumidifier in the room, but I was too dumb to figure it out!

Also, they have ping pong. Bonus points.

The lady owner was great and spoke excellent English, but many of the staff spoke none at all which caused us a few issues. That said, they were all super friendly and helped us many times.

This hotel was definitely the best value for money in PJ, we definitely made the right decision in staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel don't have wifi, but rooms closer to the road do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RyanMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    22
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
7
34
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Very nice garden with lots of wildlife. We got a free upgrade to a larger room because of our wedding. They stored our luggage for 3 days while we were in Corcovado. Friendly staff. They don't speak English, but were patient and helpful in explaining in Spanish multiple times. No breakfast, but the supermarket is just a few blocks away. Wifi ok.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Leon034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We were so lucky to find this place. I think it's only just reopened. Set in beautiful tropical gardens loads of birds and monkeys. Rooms are very basic but with hot water and air con. There are lovely rocking chairs on the veranda to sit out on just watching the wildlife. Not far walk into town.

Room Tip: Don't expect luxury bedrooms, just wonderful tropical gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pattyford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Choza d, Owner at La Chosa del Manglar, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hidden Gem is 100 % correct in the reopening assumption. We just reopened in Jan. 2014 after a 5 year hiatus from operations. We were adding new & updating a lot of the older infrastructure at la Choza. We look forward onvpce again to sharing this magical cross between a botancial garden and a zoo without cages with old guests and new ones alike. We invite you to come & see for yoursel what the new Choza is all about, namely incredible flora & fauna with the occasional room to sleep added for human comfort. Bring a camera!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

As we arrived, scarlet macaws sceamed and played in the trees above us, and they were a constant presence us all during our stay. Birds abound and white fac e monkeys make frequent appearances along with a huge iguana and countless butterflies in the beautiful expansive garden. The owners don't seem to care much if they have guests, the restaurant and bar were closed. The staff and owners were super friendly, a guard was at the front gate all night and most of the day. Very small basic room, but I spent all my time in the garden so it was not a problem.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LosAngelesTamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This place is absolutely amazing. A double bed room was $50 a night, and though it was very small, the hotel grounds are incredible. The very friendly staff, including the security guard on duty all night, make you feel very welcome and safe. There are literally macaws, fireflies, parakeets, parrots, monkeys, iguanas, raccoons, and many other species that can be seen regularly cruising through the property. The landscaping is phenomenal. The open air, cabana style seating area in the middle of the property provides the perfect place to enjoy a cup of free coffee while you watch birds and animals run around. Free wifi helps too! If you are going to Puerto Jimenez this is the place to stay!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This will be both a review and a sort of elegy.

I had always wanted to stay in an ecolodge in the middle of a rainforest, but it was outside my means. La Choza really filled that need. Reasonably priced, and backing on the mangroves so that the birding is excellent--I saw scarlet macaws, red lored parrots, hummingbirds, flycatchers, cranes, toucans, and many more, as well as many white-faced monkeys--La Choza is also just a 10 or 15 minute walk from town. The rooms are just okay, but that's not what I went there for, and the air conditioning was welcome! Although I did go on some outings, I could have happily spent my whole week strolling the grounds observing the birds and animals. The town is quite small, with mostly unpaved roads; if you're looking for a place with great nightlife or many restaurants to choose from, this isn't the place--but for closeness to nature, birds, and other wildlife, it can't be beat. It was really one of the best vacations of my life.

Now for the elegy part. The owner says that he is planning to develop the property into something much more upscale, with time-shares, hotel, etc., and, depending on various contingencies, construction could start as soon as this June. He also said that currently the website is programmed to state that the place is booked through the end of the season in April, but you might have better luck if you call the hotel directly. If it takes longer to get development started, it's possible there may be one more season left next year (the owner promises updates on the website as the plans progress), but otherwise this is the last of La Choza's current incarnation. If this is the kind of vacation you've wanted, get it while you can!

Room Tip: The website says that the cabins in the back have the best wildlife viewing, but they also are witho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slands2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Looks like they are trying to redevelop this place - the bar/restaurant was closed (the nearest restaurants are about a 10-15 min walk), there was no hot water, window panes missing etc. The cheapest rooms ($49 for two) are minute. But the garden is lovely, the staff and dogs very friendly and it's very peaceful in the evening.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ute C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
1.8 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
333 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
535 reviews
1.3 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crocodile Bay Resort
Crocodile Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
167 reviews
12.0 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
316 reviews
14.0 mi away
La Purruja Lodge
La Purruja Lodge
#7 of 11 in Golfito
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chosa del Manglar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chosa del Manglar

Property: La Chosa del Manglar
Address: Airport Road | 150 meters west of the Airfield, Puerto Jimenez 60702, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Chosa del Manglar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At "La Chosa del Manglar" you are GUARANTEED to see WILDLIFE. How certain are we? Well, have you ever sat in a Tropical indoor Lounge and viewed from your chair a Scarlet Macaw, a Monkey or a Kinkajou? You can at "La Chosa". Many guests have said they see more wildlife at "La Chosa del Manglar" than at any other location during their Costa Rica vacation. We are Flora and Fauna Extraordinarie!! La Chosa reopened in February of 2014 after being closed for the best part of five years. We're small (10 rooms), tropical, intimate and best of all ALIVE, EXTREMELY ALIVE!! Come and stay with us for a few days or a few weeks. We are only a five minute walk to downtown Puerto Jimenez and 300 meters (6 minutes) from one of the nicest beaches here. Gentle waves can be found on our beautiful chocolate sand beaches. Cavorting Scarlet Macaws (Lapas) and Toucans are present throughout La Chosa gardens. This is truly a birder's paradise. In some cases you don't even need to leave your cabin or room to see many varieties of exotic birds, reptiles and mammals. Don't forget to spend some time in our lounge decorated with beautiful hand painted murals. The WIFI signal is best right here. The bar is yours to use as you please as is the kitchen, so just let the staff know you wish to use the area and they'll be happy to get you set up. We offer WIFI in the public areas so bring your laptops, smartphones or tablets if you need to hook up. We also offer a WIFI FREE AREA OF THE PROPERTY which means that the back garden and our two cabins and two classic garden rooms DO NOT receive an internet signal. This is the best area for those leaving their electronics at home. Here you can really disconnect. Is it your time to check out yet? Pura Vida, Familia Gray Ortega & the entire gang at La Chosa del Manglar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Chosa del Manglar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Chosa Del Manglar Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing