We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend For Any Birders”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Jimenez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bosque del Rio Tigre
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Stayed 4 nights at the Bosque Del Rio Tigre Lodge. This was by far the best spot for birding. The guides (Abrahm, Scott & Eulices) were excellent and knew where to find specific birds. The food was some of the best in all of Costa Rica- 5 star restaurant quality! The lodge is comfortable and the staff is very hospitable. Anyone who is into birding, nature and wildlife should definately make the trip to Osa and stay with Liz & Abrahm.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmeraldCityTraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2011

As we look at our photos of the endangered Yellow-billed Cotinga, the bawdy Scarlet Macaws, the Fiery-billed Aracaris and the sweet Riverside Wrens, we are reminded of our four absolutely wonderful nights as guests of Abraham and Liz at Bosque del Rio Tigre. This almost wall-less wilderness retreat is not only at the end of the road, but at the end of the road and across the river, so it is quite amazing that the meals are among the best we had in Costa Rica--with tuna and shrimp entrees perfectly cooked and presented by the light of candles and to the music of the river. Abraham is an outstanding bird guide, with abundant skill for the expert birder and patience for the novice. An amazing array of birds come to the four sides of the lodge, all while you lounge in a hammock or nurse coffee at the dining table. Liz is a pampering hostess, in spite of the challenges of operating a facility in a remote location in the damp of the tropical rainforest. They do offer guides for day trips but we would heartily recommend staying at the lodge so you can also enjoy its unique ambiance, abundance of birds, delicious meals and gracious host and hostess.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Liz30226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We have been traveling to Costa Rica for over 10 years and have been all around the country for many extended trips. Bosque Del Rio Tigre is tops on our list and we continue to return regularly. Abraham is absolutely the best guide anywhere in Costa Rica. He has extensive knowledge of not only the birds and wildlife but also plants, trees and anything in the forest. He knows where to find rare birds, frogs, animals or anything you might be looking for. Liz and Abraham both are amazing people and very personable. They pay close attention to their guests needs and run a very clean comfortable lodge. The food is amazing and very well prepared. All of the staff at the Lodge are very courteous, kind and you can tell that they enjoy working at the Lodge

The river that runs by the lodge is amazing. Nice cool water with very nice places to sit down in the water like a natural whirlpool. It is very refreshing after a day hike to relax in the river and cool off.

The trails on the property are very well maintained and are full of all kinds of birds and wildlife. For those that do not want to wander far, you can sit in the lodge and see plenty. The mountains are unbelievable and have primary rain forest with spectacular trees and views. This area borders Corcovado National Park but you will not have the heavy tourist traffic. This area offers the visitor the opportunity to experience everything that the park has to offer and more in very comfortable accommodations without groups of tourists frightening the birds and wildlife away. This area is just pristine real Costa Rica at its best. If you have been around Costa Rica for a while then you will know that this is a rare find.. Bosque Del Rio Tigre is on the top of our list every year for more reasons than I could possibly list here. I could not recommend this lodge any more and words simply do not do it justice. If you are even considering a trip to the Osa Peninsula or you are interested in experiencing Costa Rica at its best then do not miss out on this gem of a Lodge in Paradise

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ripple33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

My husband & I spent 3 nights at Bosque del Rio Tigre. We were return guests & always stay in the small cabina with private bath. All the rooms are always kept clean, spotless, & mold free which is a hard task in the rain forest with the moisture.

The owners, Liz & Abraham, are always kind, friendly & a joy to be around. Abraham is a walking encyclopedia of knowledge regarding wildlife, birds, medicinal plants, etc. He can point out birds & animals one would never find on their own. He does most of the dinner cooking & the meals are amazing. Liz runs the administrative part of the business & is the person you will communicate with by email. She also is the one who goes into town & takes care of their business needs that require a trip to Puerto Jiminez. Most of the local staff have been working there for years and remembered my husband & I (and even remembered our peculiar eating preferences). Hats off to all of the staff there!! They do a wonderful job.

The environment around the lodge is to die for. The birds, monkeys, & other wildlife you will have a chance to see / photograph is right there at the lodge's doorstep. I am not able to go hiking around due to medical problems & get amazing photographs everytime I go there. The river which borders the property is crystal clear & a treat to cool off in on a hot day.

If you are looking for a quiet, secluded place to get in touch with nature with amazing views & wildlife, this is the place!! But remember, this is the rain forest.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scarletfire22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Sorry for this late appraisal: we stayed for 4 days (Lazy Birder's package) last spring and despite some other great places during this trip (e.g. Bosque del Cabo, Trogon Lodge) this place stuck best in our memory due to:
superb birding (either guided birding by phenomenal Abraham -Liz' husband- or untroubled on our own)
easygoing (hammock & swimming in the adjacent river & cold cerveza)
familiy run atmosphere
great hospitality, service & delicious food (Liz, Abe & team)
and virtually no annoying bugs (we did not apply repellent and got barely bitten by mosquitoes, no ticks)

And we will never forget one afternoon where we went out on our own finding a Spectacled Owl and just a couple of minutes later came across a spectacular army ant raid

Steffen & Corinna
Goettingen
Germany

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steffenzinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2009

I spent four nights at the Bosque del Rio Tigre on a birding trip over the Thanksgiving Holiday and was quite pleased. Abraham the bird guide and chef at the lodge is quite awesome. I booked during the pre-high season, and lucked out as I was the only one at the lodge during this time period, so I had the run of the place. Abraham is an excellent guide who does not use tapes and has quite an ear for the birds of the area. I signed up for the unlimited guiding and used it to the most including a day trip to the Rincon area. Had excellent looks at several species of Endangered and Regional Endemic birds, and always a good dinner when relaxing in the evening. Elizabeth seems to pretty much run the day to day maintenance and upkeep of the lodge, and amazing job when you think about it.
When I checked out this lodge I thought the price seemed a little high, but after the experince of my own private bird guide, excellent food and good company the price did not seem high at all. This lodge is not for everyone since it is quite small (4 upstairs bedrooms with a shared bath. The showers are outside (but they are great - excellent showers) for cooling off after a hot humid day. If you are traveling alone or with a small group and are into bird watching or seeking to be near (actually right on top of) the rainforest this is for you. There is no big fancy pool or beach setting, just pure tropical rainforest,,,ahhhhhhh the joy! Remember this lodge is open to the forest and is not enclosed. the rooms all have mosquito netting over the beds....
Would I go back? - No question, of couse - even if only to feast on the excellent dinners that Abraham cooks and to lounge in the hammocks while listening to Elizabeth tell of the local goings ons..........A PURE TREAT!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

Getting to Bosque del Rio Tigre was half the fun, as the road got rougher and one had to cross a river three times to reach the lodge. Upon walking into this place, I can only use the word classy. It could have been overly rustic so far away from modern infrastructure, but the finish look is swanky yet chill. The beds are comfortable, the food is gourmet with candlelight, the staff professional, and the proximity to nature simply couldn't be any closer.
In the heat of the day the hammocks and shade of the building and the river just nearby were comforting. Being in the rainforest, the heat would dissipate in the evening and would take a while in the morning to come to bear on us. The guides were phenomenal, the owners were fascinating and their stories about this outpost that they built. I gave big tips to the staff. I mean at 4:45am you could see one of the young women walking down a trail with a flashlight and then crossing a log in the dark to get to the lodge, and then be absolutely quiet as they prepare gourmet coffee with banana bread.
What a place! And the wildlife viewing was memorable.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdogMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
11.5 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
7.5 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
342 reviews
7.5 mi away
Iguana Lodge
Iguana Lodge
#3 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Cabinas The Corner
Cabinas The Corner
#6 of 13 in Puerto Jimenez
50 reviews
6.8 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
73 reviews
5.6 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosque del Rio Tigre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosque del Rio Tigre

Address: 300 m SE de Escuela Dos Brazos de Rio Tigre, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Jimenez
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very small specialty rainforest lodge oriented towards nature observation and birding. We provide very personal attention,excellent meal service and guiding. The lodge is situated outside a small village on the Rio Tigre and is completely surrounded by the forest. We have a maximum capacity for 12 guests. All 4 upstairs rooms and the two cabins are designed for nature viewing and open to the forest on 1 or more sides. Upstairs rooms have shared baths and the cabins have private baths. Cleanliness and guest's comfort are our goals. You will have access to many kilometers of trails both on our 13 hectare forested property and on the properties of our partners. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bosque Del Rio Tigre Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing