We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Jimenez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bosque del Rio Tigre
Reviewed 13 March 2008

We stayed at Bosque del Rio Tigre for 3 nights in January. We found Liz and Abraham excellent hosts and the small number of guests makes for a nice, intimate atmosphere. The food was great and the accommodation comfortable. We opted for the cabana, as we prefer a private bathroom, but the rooms in the main house also looked very inviting.

Abraham is an excellent bird guide and the number of species to be found at and around the property is very high. Liz has great local knowledge which made our stay all the more interesting. We combined our visit with 2 nights at Bosque del Cabo which made a nice contrast.

Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
Thank GAV50Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Bosque del Rio Tigre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2008

I visited this lodge on the Osa Peninsula on New Year's Eve with little notice. The lodge is elegant and simple with few distractions from the scenery and birds. The hosts are welcoming and the food is first rate. The hosts are also accomplished birding and nature guides who provide individual attention to their guests.

In my short time there I was able to see many wonderful birds, including Scarlet Macaw, many hummingbirds and tanagers. The lodge has many feeding stations to encourage the birds to venture close for viewing and photographs.

My only complaint was that we did not have more time to spend at this wonderful retreat. I plan to remedy that on a future trip.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lifetimebirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2008

My family of 4 (2 kids, 2 adults) stayed here in December 2007. We stayed for 3 nights - as a part of a 2 week Costa Rica trip. This place was simply the best place we've ever stayed in - period. Our one regret in the whole CR trip was that we did not stay the 5 nights we'd initially planned - at BDRT.
Abraham and Liz are wonderful hosts. The lodge is beautifully constructed - environmentally sensitive and beautifully designed. High beams, no walls, local materials - all in a dreamy setting. Right in Corcovado National Forest. The food was delectable, beautifully served. The place is absolutely spotless and comfortable (beautiful hammocks everywhere, hummingbird feeders, on the banks of the Rio Tigre - and the crowning glory - a beautiful waterfall right on the property). We did many guided hikes everyday with Abraham and Luis (a student who does some guiding here). Abraham is a fantastic guide - and even after we left BDRT to Puerto Jimenez, Abraham took us on a trip to Cabo Matapalo. His knowledge is incredible and he is just a wonderful person. Liz goes out of her way to make the stay a memorable one. I really did not want to leave.
Note: This lodge is hardly for birders only. We saw in this area, over 100 species of both animals and birds. Yes - there were plenty of birds - but there were other animals too - sloths, monkeys, pizotes, various kinds of lizards, snakes (Viper/Boas, etc). Abraham is also an expert on frogs - we saw 2 varieties of poison dart frogs (on hikes) - as well as about 8 other kinds. During the night time hike - we even saw a cicada coming out of its exo-skeleton (this is rare - I know - but I guess we lucked out).
We all (kids too) loved this place and everything about it (leaf cutter ants everywhere on the property, yummy deserts, the bed with it's netting, the hammocks - just everything). It set a very high bar for the rest of our CR trip.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ManiMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2008

We ventured over to Bosque del Rio Tigre (from the Iguana Lodge) for bird watching with Abraham and loved it! Abraham and his wife Liz were friendly and extremely knowledgeable. They made sure we spotted loads of exotic birds as we trekked through the rainforest (an easy hike). The place is tucked into a green lush landscape overlooking a flowing river. What a beautiful setting for birding. They provided binoculars and a delicious lunch, and we had a great excursion. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys a nice hike in a beautiful landscape with exotic birds flying around. (We even saw a couple of sloths sleeping in the trees.)

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnjoysParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2006

I just got back from an 11 day trip to Costa Rica and my stay at the Bosque del Rio Tigre on the Osa Pennisula was the highlight of my visit. This is a small eco-lodge (can accomadate up to 10 visitors) with a wonderful, open floor plan and rooms. It is located right in the middle of the rain forest it felt like I was a part of nature there. The staff was wonderful and treated us like very welcome guests. The beds were very comfortable, surrounded by mosquito netting (although I saw very few mostquitos there) and there was always plenty of hot water for showers. The food was excellent, plentiful and made from the freshest ingredients. I went primarily for birding and to see as much wildlife as I could. I was there for 5 days/4 nights and, with the help of our Costa Rican guide Abraham who co-owns the lodge with his American wife, Liz, I was able to see 132 species of birds there, caiman, coatimundi, kinkajou, howler monkeys, squirrel monkeys and different species of frogs. If you are considering a stay on the Osa Pennisula and want to feel like a part of the rain forest, but with a bit of luxury, this is the place to stay. I will certainly be returning there.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank eidothea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunnar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
5.9 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
320 reviews
5.6 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
182 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
23.7 mi away
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
#2 of 2 in Corcovado National Park
329 reviews
6.6 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosque del Rio Tigre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosque del Rio Tigre

Address: 300 m SE de Escuela Dos Brazos de Rio Tigre, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Jimenez
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very small specialty rainforest lodge oriented towards nature observation and birding. We provide very personal attention,excellent meal service and guiding. The lodge is situated outside a small village on the Rio Tigre and is completely surrounded by the forest. We have a maximum capacity for 12 guests. All 4 upstairs rooms and the two cabins are designed for nature viewing and open to the forest on 1 or more sides. Upstairs rooms have shared baths and the cabins have private baths. Cleanliness and guest's comfort are our goals. You will have access to many kilometers of trails both on our 13 hectare forested property and on the properties of our partners. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bosque Del Rio Tigre Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing