We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our Costa Rica roadtrip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Danta Corcovado Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I would encourage anyone who is travelling down to the Osa Peninsula to stay at Danta Lodge. The lodge really is like all the pictures that you've seen. I had high expectations of this place prior to going there and I was not at all disappointed. After one night in a previous hotel in Domincal due to the unfriendliness of the owner, I was keen on having a better experience at Danta Lodge - and the fact that we were staying there for 3 nights too.

My corresponding with Nelson, the reception manager, weeks before we were going to Costa Rica was always quick and friendly. He, and absolutely everyone in the lodge was SO hospitable and friendly towards my partner and I. The lodge is small (max 20 guests I would say) in comparison to Lapa Rios which is the more up scale lodge next door (max 100 guests I was told) but this was the beauty of our experience there. The small community and guest made us feel so comfortable (and romantic!)

We stayed at their new cabana which was located near the restaurant (the name of the cabana is Tiger's face, in Spanish) and it was enormous, with beautiful hand carved wood furnishings, just like everywhere else in the lodge. I hadn't seen what the other bungalows looked like but the cabana is perfect for a couple, even though it has a spare single room with a sing bed and a bunkbed. Plus, I appreciated the space and our large veranda with hammocks outside.

Whilst we stayed in the Osa Peninsula, we did one day of zip-lining and another day of a full guided tour of the Corcovado National Park. These and quite a few other tours are available to book at the lodge (they have a whole file on all the tours you can do). Our highlight on the tour of the Park was seeing a sloth hanging from the trees and trekking to the waterfall. You must bring your bathing suit to the hike coz when you see the waterfall you really will wanna change into it and jump in! It was exhilarating! Our jungle guide was actually from Danta Lodge (he was also a barman and made us wonderful cocktails in the evening!) and he was awesome, walking slowly though the jungle and stopping to look in his telescope (we wouldn't have seen the sloth otherwise).

The meals were really good there too and we stayed at the lodge every night (it's very rocky getting to the Lodge so you'd wanna stay there anyway).

Thank you to Danta Lodge for making our stay so wonderful!!!

Kim

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank L0nd0n_traveller1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2012

We stayed here one night on the way to San Jose. We were amazed at the artistic construction and the attention to details. The cabin we stayed in was a raised platform tent but not really. I have never seen a tent this huge with a full bed and a sofa so big it could be used as a bed as well. A huge open air bathroom 3 steps down with unique artistic details and hot water was a pleasure.
On top of this the meals were delicious and nicely presented, the property and trails were beautiful and the owner and staff very helpful.
We would love to come back and spend more time in this unique eco lodge.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Harvey38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I lead an annual women's adventure experiential travel trip in Costa Rica each February. My group and I loved our time at Danta-- the vision and passion of owner, Merlyn, the outstanding manager, Nelson, and everyone else on the staff. The rooms and bungalows are very comfortable, and each one is uniquely designed, but always with local sustainable materials. And the bathrooms! Each one more creative than the next!!

While Danta is physically located in a remote and beautiful setting, it is deeply connected to the local community of Guadalupe and the Osa. That is part of what makes it so special. The Finca Kobo "chocolate" tour <with an incredibly delicious ending!> and the opportunity to learn some of the history, traditions, and stories of the Guaymi community are unique offerings well worth the time and money.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms/bungalows at Danta, but if proximity to the main building is important, one s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravelWithAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

The lodge is built from wood that they collected in the area and it does look great. We stayed in the main building and were the only guests because in early December it was just the beginning of the season. It would have been nice to stay with other guests because it felt a bit akward to be on our own. They told us that they were pretty much full all the time from Mid-December to the end of April. There are also some individual bungalows which are built in the middle of the jungle. They are certainly worth a try as well. We only stayed for one night because we went on the hike with one of their guides from Los Patos to La Sirena Ranger Station through the Corcovado NP. it is the most convenient lodge to spend the night before this long hike. The tours they had on offer sounded nice, i.e. canoeing in the Osa bay, visiting the Guayami people or visiting the Cocoa farm which apparently makes excellent chocolate. We would have loved to visit the Cocoa farm but they were not yet open, again too early in the season. The lodge has a few easy to do trails which keep you busy for an afternoon. We didn't see many animals but that was probably due to the rain. We did see a basilisk lizard who was running across the water on his back legs, hence its other name "Jesus Christ Lizard". The food was delicious. The only critisism we've got is the dessert which was made with tinned fruit. The lodge calls itself an Eco lodge which does not go with tinned fruit. We hope that they will not serve tinned fruit anymore. They must have bananas or papaya nearby which they can serve instead. Our room was big and the bathroom pretty much outside. Looking at the jungle whilst you are having a shower is a great feeling! Despite it being so open-air we didn't see any creepy crawley's. They may have seen us though...

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Penguinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We only stayed one evening, on our way to Corcovado, but Danta was an oasis. We took the bus from Puerto Jimenez (40min-1hr) to La Palma. We got a "taxi" to Danta.
Our room was in the main lobby/hotel area but walked around on the trails and saw the other independent hut options available. We had some tropical drinks at the bar and enjoyed an amazing 3 course dinner. It would have been great for a few days stay.
They accommodated our early departure and provided a granola and fruit breakfast. They had arranged for another "taxi" (wooden benches on the back of a pick up) to drive us to Corcovado at 6am. It worked out great!
At dinner they asked if we would like a box lunch ($10) to take on our hike. This sounded like a good idea and they had them prepared for our departure. The contents were two sandwiches, juice box, an orange, and some candies. By the time we were ready for lunch, the sandwiches (ham with hot sauce/mayo?) were a soggy mess. We were sad/disappointed.
In any case, the stay was great. The decor was so unique and interesting. In speaking with the owner, we found out he let the local artisans run wild with their imagination and creativity. Danta is truly a one-of-a-kind place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vicariouslythrulisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Danta Lodge provides an amazing jungle experience. The bungalows are built with local, sustainable materials by local artisans who take a pride in their work. Not only are the bunglalows comfortable, they are very creatively designed. The open ceiling bathrooms are amazing! Heavily netted walls keep unwanted critters out of the bungalows. The jungle noises are wonderful to wake up to. This is a birders paradise! Individual trails lead from the Lodge to each bungalow. The open air Lodge itself is another amazing building very artistically designed. The food here is amazing and locally sourced. There are some wonderful trails on the property which backs up to Corcovado National Park. Merlin has taken the family farm and recreated a sustainable Lodge that many people can experience and learn from. The family continues to involve the community in all they do by providing work opportunities, encouraging local businesses and giving back to the community. I recommend a trip to the ranger station and taking a guided hike from there. You will need water shoes or old boots for water crossings. The transport to the park consists of riding in the back of a flat bed truck on the river beds and water crossings - this is a great part of the experience. I also recommend the mangrove kayak tour (Merlin will advise you the best time to go). Another tour I really enjoyed was the Chocolate Tour at Finca Kobo. Not only did I learn about the process of making chocolate, I learned so much about organic farming and also providing food and safe passage for the birds and animals of the region. Ask Merlin to tell you about his vision for Danta Lodge and the community and also request a viewing of the video "Cracking the Golden Egg" and compare what you are experiencing at Danta Lodge with what is happening in other parts of Costa Rica..

Room Tip: Request a bungalow away from the Main Lodge for a true "alone in the jungle" feeling. Or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank costaricatravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

"Rooms" are really individual open-air cabins, each separated by jungle from one another, and enclosed in heavy netting. All furnishings are handcrafted from local materials. The bathrooms are truly unique, large, and comfortable. The main lodge and bar are comfortable. Owners are friendly, food is very good. Icey cold beer available after a hot jungle hike. We saw so much wildlife while there right from our cabins and on the walkways to our cabins. Danta Lodge is an example of eco tourism at its best. Don't miss the opportunity to experience these accommodations.

Room Tip: All rooms are separated from one another by jungle. Plan to be awakened to the sounds of the wildli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stronglyretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
1.8 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
562 reviews
11.7 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
10.9 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
10.1 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danta Corcovado Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danta Corcovado Lodge

Address: Guadalupe, La palma de Puerto Jimenez, Puerto Jimenez 60702, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range: £74 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Danta Corcovado Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danta Corcovado Lodge is a uniquely designed lodge with Costa Rican flair and a concern for the rain forest. Nothing goes to waste because Merlyn is the wizard of creativity and design. step into a world of tranquility, and be amazed by all of the natural touches of the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Danta Corcovado Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danta Corcovado Lodge Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing