We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“few choices in town so this isn't bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Yunta Steakhouse - CLOSED

La Yunta Steakhouse
Cuisines: Central American, Steakhouse, South American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 448 helpful votes
“few choices in town so this isn't bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

I had a steak lunch here with some friends. There aren't many restaurants in Puntarenas so this is the place to go. The staff is friendly and helpful. They don't speak much english so you may want to bring a translator book or friend with you. The atmosphere is decent and much of the restaurant is open air.
The meat was cooked decently, however the cut of meat was a bit questionable. I would suggest asking for it to be cooked well done to lessen the chance of it making you sick. I had mine cooked medium and I was fine after, but I think any less than that could've been a real risk.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rob_hanson1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Beef and better service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

I went twice: once with my husband who did not get what he expected (the recipe is a bit different in central america apparently), so we traded 'cause I liked both meals. I went back to get a full share of the meal I originally ordered (you know .. the one my husband ate) and enjoyed myself all over again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NolaRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So so at best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Our service was good, meal came out timely, but the steak was not very good at all. The side dishes were good but that's about it. It was a loin steak that was very tough. However, great atmosphere and the views are wonderful. It is also a bit pricey for Puntarenas.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great view & food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Excellent food & great view of the beach. Refreshing breeze coming off the ocean. We were on a road trip & had a late lunch there. Good service. We would definitely go back for dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good food, big portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

They serve really good food in big portions. Nice side dishes are served. Delicious desserts! Friendly waiter. Nice place, all tables located on a big veranda with oceanview. Was really quiet when we had dinner (low season), but really don't understand, because this defnitely is the best place to have diner when you are in Puntarenas.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KrissCrossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Yunta Steakhouse also viewed

Punta Arenas, Province of Puntarenas
Punta Arenas, Province of Puntarenas
 
Punta Arenas, Province of Puntarenas
Punta Arenas, Province of Puntarenas
 
Punta Arenas, Province of Puntarenas
Punta Arenas, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing