We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stop for seafood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Leda

La Leda
Ranked #6 of 64 Restaurants in Punta Arenas
Cuisines: Seafood, Costa Rican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bogotá, Cundinamarca, Colombia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great stop for seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

The shrimp w/ rice here is very good and the portions are generous. The place is perfect for a stop on your way to Puntarenas or Guanacaste. The locale is open-aired with a sea-side view. Good value for your food!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    54
    17
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
110 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Sea Food in Caldera”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Very busy restaurant with lots of locals. The waiter came over and pointed out the specials appetizers which we order I order the calamari and Rafa order the sea food soup. Before the appetizers were delivered the waiter had two different fresh fish on a plate to show different items on the menu. We were there on a Sunday afternoon for lunch and the food was out of the kitchen without much of a wait. We. Enjoyed the good food and the company. It's on our list when friends visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GeraldHirsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indialantic, Florida
Level Contributor
140 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A favorite seafood resturant in Costa Rica!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

This resturant is great for authentic Costa Rician Seafood. Most of the fish is caught nearby and unloaded at the back of the resturant right off the water. It is popular with families. The whole red snapper is one of my favorites, filet of fish in garlic is also great! Portions are huge!! We have been comming here for over 10 years and it manages to be very consistent. Inconsistency for business in Costa Rica is a huge problem. One day you can go to a resturant and its great, come back a month later and its horrible, this is not the case at La Leda.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Firefozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Have to try the "ceviche"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

On our way to Guanacaste, it's a must to stop at Leda's!! I really recomend to have our famous ceviche, which is basically raw sea bass in lemon juice with onion and other ingredients that vary from restaurant to restaurant, but always delicious!! Really recomend to stop here and just relax with the "estero" sight.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DanyKocherzhinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful local place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

We were staying at a Doubletree nearby and really wanted to try local food, and our driver, tour guide and hotel personnel recommended La Leda. We were not disappointed. The place does not look like much, it is a simple (but also very clean) local place. We parked in the guarded parking lot across the street for nominal fee to avoid fighting with locals for parking spots, as it was Saturday night and everything was quite busy. As soon as we walked in a server appeared, and upon learning we were Americans offered to swap Spanish menus for English. Which was a mistake, because the English menus do not tell you much (shrimp with rice). We wanted seafood and ended up asking our waiter for recommendations. He even brought us the fish (yet uncooked) for us to see what we were ordering. We ordered appetizers and main seafood dish, except for my daughter who is not a fan of seafood so ended up with beef. Everything we had was excellent, very fresh and full of flavor. The fish was spectacular, and my shrimp appetizer was the best shrimp I ever had. But best of all, our waiter and the staff were doting on us as lone tourists in the place (it was otherwise full of locals) and we got a ton of attention and excellent service. And the prices were very reasonable, less than half of what you'd pay in the US for far more mediocre seafood. It was a great experience overall and if we are ever in the area again we would definitely go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alenanyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Leda also viewed

Punta Arenas, Province of Puntarenas
Punta Arenas, Province of Puntarenas
 
Punta Arenas, Province of Puntarenas
Punta Arenas, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to La Leda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing