We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location plus an additional attraction”
Review of Blue Banyan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Banyan Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Quepos B&B and Inns
Scandia, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely location plus an additional attraction”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We recently stayed here several nights while visiting Manual Antonio park and nearby attractions. Our cabin was attractive. The grounds are lovely. The rural location, blessedly, is away from the noise and commotion of Quepos and Manual Antonio. It is not on the ocean but has a large swimming pool and view of the mountains.

A good reason for staying here is the fact that the Blue Banyan is also home to "Kids Saving the Rainforest", a wild animal rescue and rehabilitation center. It offers guided tours which allow visitors to experience dozens of animals as monkeys, sloths, porcupine and birds. Knowledgeable staff and volunteers lead informative tours. We wish our grandchildren had been with us. We think it would be a great place for kids to see up close the animals they might see only at a distance in the wild.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DanRuth_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBIHostess, Manager at Blue Banyan Inn, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you Ruth and Dan! Glad you enjoyed it here and we hope you come back to visit!
Vernita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    12
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
57
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williston, Vermont
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is owned by a retired American who clearly has no interest in customer service. The owner DOUBLE BOOKED our romm. So when we arrived at this remote location, after dark, we were informed they did not have a bed for us. Our taxi had already left and we were stranded. To top it off, we talked with the owner in town at his restaurant twice that day and he never mentioned we were double booked. We had to sleep in bunk beds with the workers in a house with undrinkable water. There is no food available except at breakfast. Terrible experience! The staff said double booking happens frequently. You cannot run a business like this! I would never return here.

Room Tip: This is a very remote location and you must have your own transportation or you will pay big bucks f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBIHostess, BBi Hostess at Blue Banyan Inn, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hi there,
Wow..it's Vernita and I remember you and your husband very clearly and yes my boss overbooked and yes I was just as upset as you were but man.. I guess you forgot that we didn't charge for your night stay in the horrible bunk room , we gave you a ride to town and we gave you a free tour of our animal sanctuary. Please include the positives along with the negatives. Unfortunately you had to stay in our volunteer center and out volunteer center doesn't have potable drinking water but we had readily available drinking water on the property.....all you had to do was ask for some water. By the way, us WORKERS save wildlife in Costa Rica and to downgrade us like that is also kind of rude.
By the way we are a BED and BREAKFAST ONLY and it does say that on the site and bookings.com.
I always try to make up for my bosses mistakes and I didn't think your experience was that bad or at least you didn't act that way but I know you were upset due to you whole experience in Costa Rica but man this review is not fair at all.

Thanks for your review!
Pura Vida!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Very beautiful place. However, it is far!
For those who enjoy the tranquility and peace, this is the place. The rooms are nice and clean. There is no mobile network and wifi does not work. There is air conditioning and very little hot water in the shower. The pool is very large and clean. The breakfasts are excellent, banana pancakes are very large and delicious. Jim and Barbara are very friendly.
It is an oasis of peace.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canuk_66, Manager at Blue Banyan Inn, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hi there,

Our Wifi does work! You might of just been here when we were going through our transition because we now have our own tower. They only time it may not work is if the electric company is working on lines and they turn off the signals throughout the town of Quepos/Manuel Antonio.

Depending on which cottage you stay in the water may run differently due to the piping system and the water coming from our water tank.

i'm glad you enjoyed your stay!
Vernita Gundy
BBI Hostess/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabasas, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The Blue Banyan is one of the holistically nice places we've ever stayed. You just feel good about it, about what the owners are doing, and we were sad to leave.

My family stayed at the Blue Banyan for for 4 days. We have a precocious 8-year-old, who loved the chance to volunteer and feed the monkeys with Barb. We took the tour and got to know the animals in our 4 days there.

We stayed in the biggest of the 3 cottages. It was very comfortable and pleasant, as others have said. We really felt like we were treated like members of the family by Barb, her husband Jim, and her brother Chip. They helped us arrange day trips to some of the more out-of-the-way attractions so we didn't just spend our day at the very crowded Manuel Antonio. They invited us to events that happened to be going on while we were there. They helped us navigate some of the Costa Rican shenanigans one encounters with the locals.

And coming back from your day trips, and getting to hang out on the grounds of the Blue Banyan was one of the highlights of our entire trip. We went for evening walks and tracked down various wildlife, like a pair of nesting Toucans, a very rare Jaquarundi, and monkeys vaulting through the trees.

Even at full capacity, you will feel like you have the place to your self. The pool is particularly nice - larger and deeper than it looks in the pictures. The drive up is pretty straightforward if you follow the directions. An SUV of some sort would help but you can make it in a car no problem. In general, getting the Sat Nav at the rental place will be a great investment, if you're going to drive around Costa Rica.

Generally, you meet up with one of the owners at breakfast, and get any communicating done then that you need for the day, because after that they go off to work with their animals, etc...and you go off on your day trips. You can bring food back from the grocery, if you don't want to go down the hill for dinner, or eat early and just bring back some evening snacks and cocktails.

I could ramble on, but suffice to say its the kind of place that you will always remember and thoroughly enjoy. There are some comments here and there below about shortcomings. We didn't experience any of these. Keep in mind, the place is in the jungle in Costa Rica. It's not a Hyatt or anything. Humidity takes its effect on everything after awhile. Things won't be perfect, but they will be great.

Couple of day trips to recommend: Campesinos Reserve waterfalls, swimming, hiking, and Mid-World for zip lines et.al...

Room Tip: All three cottages are nice, although we preferred the one closest to the dining area. Slightly larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank runningpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canuk_66, Manager at Blue Banyan Inn, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
"Keep in mind, the place is in the jungle in Costa Rica. It's not a Hyatt or anything. Humidity takes its effect on everything after awhile. Things won't be perfect, but they will be great."

You summed it up perfectly!!

Thank You!

Vernita Gundy
BBI Hostess/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at blue banyan inn for two nights in July. We made our reservations well in advance (January, with confirmation) for a suite in what is now primarily lodging for the animal sanctuary volunteers. We were told that there had been a recent switch in the lodging in that the cabins were now the main place for travelers and the larger building for the volunteers and that our reservation somehow got removed. Luckily they were able to accommodate us and went out of their way to make sure we were taken care of. We stayed one night in the volunteer building and one in a cabin. Both rooms were nice enough - the cabin was much roomier. The bathroom in our cabin was very large with an amazing shower. Unfortunately, it was difficult to get the hot water going and we had to keep going to a volunteer to reset the breaker on the outside of the cabin. This seemed to be a known problem - the owners should find a way to permanently resolve the breaker issue. As I mentioned, staff did a great job making up for these issues and we expect some bumps given that the location is out of town in a more remote area. The grounds are beautifully maintained - we saw quite a few different birds while staying here, at least a couple that were nesting. The pool was nice - we had it to ourselves the one evening we relaxed by the pool. The breakfasts were yummy and very filling. The common room\gathering place and the dining area are very nice - open to the outdoors.

The location wasn't overly difficult to get to - if you have a rental vehicle. It was nice being away from the busy towns and there is a large grocery store right on the way if you need to pick up supplies or snacks. We saw monkeys in the palm plantation on the way to the BBI - very nice.

Even with the unexpected issues with our reservation, we would still highly recommend Blue Banyan Inn for those travelers that like a quiet, natural setting and don't expect typical resort amenities (you are, after all, in the rainforest - which is what we were looking for).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canuk_66, Manager at Blue Banyan Inn, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Due to the fact of increasing volunteers to help care for the animal at our onsite sanctuary, we had to covert 2 of the rooms that were used for guest into volunteer housing instead but still accommodating guest only in our 3 cottages.

I'm glad we worked everything out for you!

Thanks,
Vernita Gundy
BBI Hostess/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We just came back from a stay here with our 3 chldren, ages 5,7 and 9. Here are the positives and negatives of staying here:

Positives

1) It was off the beaten path and away from the crowds in town. It was about a 15 min drive down a bumpy unpaved road (which was doable for our mid-size Hyundi Elantra).

2) There was a modern supermarket at the start of the paved road. This was convenient for picking up groceries and such (even had a pharmacy).

3) The outside property: spacious and well maintained; pool was clean, warm and a decent size.

4) Breakfast was good- delicious banana pancakes

5) Staff that was there was friendly and helpful (took a little while to figure out who was running the place and who was a volunteer)

6) Evident that they were passionate about the animal sanctuary

Our negatives

1) We have to preface our first negative by saying that before we arrived at Blue Banyan, we stayed at a place where the owner was SO helpful to us in determining what was best for us to see with our kids. So we were kind of spoiled. :-) Before we went we read on tripadvisor on how helpful Barb and Jim were to the people staying there. We were there for 3 nights and never saw Jim and spoke to Barb for about 2 mins. Not sure if they were busy doing other things (understandable) but we felt Blue Banyan existed mainly for the animal shelter and for those volunteering at the shelter. It's kind of like the "Inn" part of the Blue Banyan is secondary to the animal shelter part.
Vernita was helpful, so we were grateful for her.

2) We are not picky people and travel a lot, but we definitely wouldn't rate the accommodations as 5 star. The cottages look like they could use some up-keep. There were cobwebs along the top of ours inside and it just didn't seem like a 5 star rating was applicable here. We always had trouble with getting hot water for showers, although Vernita helped us figure that out.

3) While breakfast was great, it was exactly the same every day. If you stay there for an extended amount of time, it gets old (as good as the pancakes are!). Our kids were starting to get tired of the same food.

Overall, it was affordable and adequate, we just wouldn't rate it as 4 or 5 star!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randjplus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canuk_66, Manager at Blue Banyan Inn, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for all of the positives!! Although Barb and Jim still live on the property, they no longer run Blue Banyan Inn, so that's why you didn't see them at all.
As far as the menu, we are always working on doing different things but we do not have a full time chef to come up with different breakfast meals. We have to just do the best we can with the supplies we can get in Costa Rica.
To quote a previous guest about the conditions of the room:
"Keep in mind, the place is in the jungle in Costa Rica. It's not a Hyatt or anything. Humidity takes its effect on everything after awhile. Things won't be perfect, but they will be great."

People can always feel free to ask for something different and if we are able to get it......we will!

Again, thanks for those positives !

Vernita Gundy
BBI Hostess/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We had read the positive revues in TripAdvisor but as we drove the 4km road off the highway began to wonder what I'd gotten us into. It's narrow and very rocky. Once there however we were very pleased we'd booked it. The three cottages are all very comfortable and clean. The pool area was beautiful. We were there five days and usually had it all to ourselves. The breakfasts were delicious. The best coconut pancakes ever. There's an interesting animal rescue center there as well. More than anything however we can't say enough about the owners. Barb and Jim were just fantastic. I had a bit of a health issue and they even came to the hospital to see if they could help or interpret. THANKS so much.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickandSherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
3.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk
4.5 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#1 of 15 in Quepos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Sirena Hotel
La Sirena Hotel
#2 of 15 in Quepos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
4.2 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#17 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Banyan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Banyan Inn

Property: Blue Banyan Inn
Address: NE Finca Azul 2000 m | Finca Azul, Quepos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by primary rainforest with mountain ranges looming in the distance, the Blue Banyan Inn is a charming bed and breakfast catering to the environmentally conscious. The Blue Banyan is part of Finca Braman’s 75-acre ecologically sustainable community, encompassing private homes, a wildlife sanctuary and a volunteer center. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Banyan Hotel Quepos
Blue Banyan Inn Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing