We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location with Abundant Wildlife”
Review of Kayak Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kayak Lodge
Ranked #1 of 15 Quepos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location with Abundant Wildlife”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

First off, your hosts Bernard and Marlene will make you very comfortable and welcome. They are some of the nicest people you will encounter. The accommodation was very spacious (we had the suite next to the mangroves), clean, and comfortable. Monkeys and iguanas made regular visits to the porch and so we had quite a wildlife show. We opted for the boat tour and saw a lot of birds, lizards, crabs, and other wildlife. This was a great experience. If you are going to Manuel Antonio, then this is a fabulous place to stay. Quepos itself is rather uninteresting at best. The Kayak Lodge is a short drive away from all the main sites and Bernard and Marlene will give you good advice regarding local attractions and shopping. To be honest, even if there were nothing else in the area, I would stay here just for Bernard and Marlene's company. They were fantastic.

The accommodation has AC, fans, a kitchen and plenty of space (the suite); there are smaller, less expensive rooms available. Breakfast was fresh and tasty.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Featherlessbiped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    19
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
62
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Bernard and Marlene greeted us with big smiles when we arrived. We visited during off-season with no other guests at the time, and they upgraded us to the large suite overlooking the mangroves. It was spotlessly clean and comfortable with an AC. They even provided a crib and a high chair for our infant which was very thoughtful. There were 3-5 large iguanas outside our bedroom window at any time, the white-faced monkeys also paid us a visit on the balcony, and we also saw a huge opossum right outside our suite. Bernard and Marlene accompanied us on a boat tour to the mangroves and introduced us to the local flora and fauna. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Staying at the Kayak Lodge is like staying with your favorite aunt and uncle. Bernard and Marlene are wonderful. Made us feel welcome and made every effort to accommodate our needs. Manager Tobias was a great guide during our mangrove tour - a must do activity while in town. He also recommended white water rafting which we absolutely enjoyed. Rooms are clean, basic but sufficient. Breakfast are cook to order, a lovely touch. Highly recommend staying here while visiting Maneul Antonio, which is only about 20 min drive away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 80daysaroundworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The tranquility and serenity felt at this place is felt in very little locations on this Earth!! Bernard and Marlen are two of the nicest people you will ever meet. Rest assured. The authenticity of the BnB in combination with the kindness and generosity of the owners will leave you highly satisfied. Their lodge is located a couple of minutes from Quepos by car where there are some of the nicest beaches on the pacific coast of Costa Rica. Be sure to visit Manuel Antonio Park which has very nice beaches. Bernard and Marlen will not lead you astray, they will lead you in the right direction as you relax in the pool or have a drink at the bar. It was like staying over at a friends house.

Room Tip: All the rooms have A/C which you will need as Quepos is home to a very hot climate both day and nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jandro2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Bernal, Tobias, their wives, EVERYONE was extremely kind, inviting, helpful and just such a welcoming group. It felt like staying with friends without any sense of invasion. They gave you space to do what you wanted but were always back at the lodge to help you in any way possible. They are some of the kindest people and the hotel has everything you need. The mangrove tour was OUTSTANDING! Great food, rooms were ways spotless. Just fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mizzclark526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at Kayak Lodge two nights. Our arrival was a bit early in the day, so the owner, Bernard, was kind enough to recommend some things to do (mangrove tour in kayaks, and the Rainmaker sanctuary). Both Bernard and his wife, Marlene, are very helpful, friendly, and kind.

We stayed in the building near the kayaks and it was great -- big, and two big beds. New looking bathroom. All immaculately clean. Small and beautiful pool for cooling down.

Manuel Antonio park is about 15-20 minutes away, and is a really simple drive. GPS finds the Lodge very easily, too.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevBenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed for two nights at the Kayak Lodge. From the Lodge we travelled to the Manuel Antonio National Park (around 30 min). The Lodge can be easily reached by GPS. Breakfast was very good. We also had an excellent dinner in one of the nights of our stay. We took a Kayak trip from the Lodge, which was a wonderful experience- highly recommended. Following the Kayak trip we could have a late check out- this is a must since it is recommended to take a shower following the Kayak trip. The WiFi is good - better in public areas than in the room. Getting into the swimming pool following the Kayak trip was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoav_Rehovot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
5.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk
6.0 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#1 of 13 in Quepos
386 reviews
5.2 mi away
La Sirena Hotel
La Sirena Hotel
#2 of 13 in Quepos
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
430 reviews
8.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
904 reviews
5.6 mi away
Pacific Paradise Resort
Pacific Paradise Resort
#3 of 13 in Quepos
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kayak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kayak Lodge

Property: Kayak Lodge
Address: Calle Estero de Damas No. 80, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kayak Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: Kayak Lodge is a Bed & Breakfast establishment. Located in front of tropical mangrove forest, at Costa Rica's central pacific coastline, committed to the natural environment. 10 Miles away from Manuel Antonio National Park. The Lodge has 20 rooms with air conditioned, free Wi-Fi, direct dial telephone, cable/satellite TV, bathroom with hot water, outdoor pool and parking. All rooms have access and may use the guest kitchen/dining area in the Main Lodge, outdoor pool and parking Kayak Lodge has an organized paddling activity: "Mangrove Forest Kayak Tour" You can also book here for other tours: Rainforest Canopy and Superman zipline, horseback riding, rafting, sportfishing, catamaran, ATV, Manuel Antonio National Park guided tour, Surfing Lessons, Paddle boarding (SUP) and boat through the mangrove wildlife. Other visits: Biesanz Beach: 20 minutes by car. Matapalo beach: 30 minutes by car. Damas Island Beach: 30 min by boat. This place is visited by white-faced monkeys and iguanas live here. There are a variety of birds and fauna. You can see the phenomenon of tides and its relation to the excursions in the mangroves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kayak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kayak Hotel Quepos
Kayak Lodge Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing