We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Cuban and Costa Rican Food!”
Review of La Cubanita

La Cubanita
Ranked #46 of 83 Restaurants in Quepos
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Latin, Seafood, Spanish, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Waitstaff
Description: One of the best places in Quepos downtown to have a fantastic meal, the best food and also the best prices
CA
Level Contributor
248 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cuban and Costa Rican Food!”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We ate here twice while staying at a 5 star resort in MA with our kids (10,12,14) and loved it. It will take a 1/2 hour to get your food because it is all being cooked fresh in La Cubanita's open kitchen. The owner is very nice and speaks some English. We watched her cooked and learned how to make a tasty yucca dish. The stuffed calamari is great as is the casada plate (the "typical costa rican faire), which is $5 (calamari was $9.) The friend yucca was everyone's fav! So save yourself some money, eat some great food (lunch and dinner) and get a little culture.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank WKCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    18
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami
1 review
“A nice experience”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Very clean. Simple food. The guacamole was the best that I've ever tried. We had lunch for two with the guacamole as apettizer, as main entree we had shrimp stuffed calamary in a sauce that was a bit rich for my taste but edible, and a whole fried fish that was plain, meaty and just delicious. The food was freshly made practically in front of you.To drink three cokes. All that for a total of $33 US. They do not take credit cards, only colones or dollars. The restaurant is in the front part of the owner/waitress/cook's house and it's kept extremily clean including the small bathroom that was spotless. It's very easy to get to, there's a main plaza that is a football soccer field witha church across the street. Stand with your back to the church and looking at the football field. To your right hand side there is a walking passage, take it and walk to the end of the field, as soon as it ends there will be a street, turn right and keep walking a few feet. There will be a little bridge over a creek, after you cross it the restaurant will be on your right hoand side and yes there is a sign over with the name "La cubanita".

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mhidalgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idyllwild, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great guacamole!”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Food was okay, but the guac was outrageous!! This restaurant had a very "at home" feel, and the price was right.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PCfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simple, unassuming, wonderful”
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

My wife and I love hole-in-the-wall places and this is a great one. It's a simple family restaurant and while you don't go for ambiance, it's super clean. The Cuban food is outstanding and dinner for two with two rounds of drinks was below $25 (usd)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RyanThompson6818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not closed but hard to find”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We live in Quepos and can confirm that La Cubanita is not closed (we just ate there this week) but it is hard to find as it's on a quiet side street without obvious signs (it no longer has the name painted on the front of the restaurant as the one photo shows from a couple of years ago). To find it, start at the north west corner of the plaza (soccer field downtown), and walk north. It's about half a block down past the small creek on the east side of the street. We've gone to La Cubanita numerous times in the last 8 months and keep ordering the casados for $2,500 colones ($5) - the ropa vieja is delicious but they don't always have it. If you want typical homemade Tica food at a reasonable price this is a great place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cubanita also viewed

Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to La Cubanita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing