We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a dump the apartments are!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quepos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manuel Antonio Estates
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had originally booked/paid(non refundable $1400) to stay a week at La Foresta Nature Resort, but was informed after doing so that they had closed down, so they set us up at Manuel Antonio Estates in a luxury villa, even receiving an email with pictures/descriptions. When we arrived, there was no villa we were set up in. In fact we were assigned to an "Eco Apartment", which is a total dump! I wasn't aware that Eco meant dirty. The stove was filthy with cooked on food, the dishes were dirty in the cabinet(plywood boxes hanging on the wall), the coffee cups had dried coffee stains(from coffee drying and not being washed), which required us to wash the dishes before using any. The floors are dirty making your feet black. We had towels for the 4 of us but no washcloths anywhere. A/C is only in 1 bedroom and did a mediocre job at best. Many lights were burnt out and lamp cords were electrical taped together. These units are $30 per night at best, NOT $200! After 2 nights, we're leaving this toilet and heading to Costa Verde Resort 5 minutes away where we got a private 4 bedroom, ocean view, luxury house for $1145 for the week. We threw $1400 non-refundable down the toilet at M.A.E.

1  Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ManuelAntonioEstates, Front Office Manager at Manuel Antonio Estates, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Traveler,

If you booked a luxury resort for $1,400 per week through your agency, of course your expectations would be different. Our condo's are $600 per week (please check our website to confirm the rates) and this is what we received for your booking. We do not represent them as a luxury resort, they are targeted at self catering, independant travellers. If your agency indicated to you anything else, you were mislead by them.

We feel it is unreasonable for you to vent your dissapointment by reviewing us as unfairly and inacurately as you have. Your problem is with your agency, who is in no way associated with us. They placed you with us since La Foresta (your original resort) is now no longer in operation.

That they downgraded you from a luxury resort to budget self catering is an issue you need to take up with your agency and we kindly request that you remove this review from our site and redirect your issues to your agency.

Thank you,

Dorit Wendrock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is our second time at MAE. I am bewildered by the few reviews that indicate that suites are dusty. We have stayed at two of the condos and one of the homes. All were immaculate. Dorit and Luis are wonderful. I completely blew our reservations this last trip, and we ended up three nights short in our condo. Luis was kind enough to place us quickly in a beautiful home. We will probably stay there the next time. The grounds, the condos, and the home are lovely. My sole complaint is that the kitchens are not equipped for people the like to cook. Bring a sharp knife with you and lots of spices. The monkeys and iguanas make the trip unforgettable. Yes, the hills up to the condo and to the home are daunting in the heat of the day. I must say, though, for a couple in good shape in their twenties, it should not have been too much of a challenge. I am...older, and I walked up and down that hill five or six times every night for additional exercise. I did not see other...older couples having much difficulty.

MAE is close to Quepos, a charming village with many places to eat. There are also many side trips you can take, including fishing, cruises, the beach, etc. The number of repeat customers that this establishment has should tell you volumes about the care that the staff puts into making your experience a wonderful vacation. We will be back next year or later this year. We have wondered what it is like in the summer season. Gracias MAE for another great vacation. See you soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in condo 8 this time. We thought we would like it better because it was the end unit; how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patty c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My Daughter & I spent 5 nights at Manuel Antonio Estates just before Christmas. We had a GREAT time! We did several great "adventures" while we were there, all arranged by Dorit in the M A E Office. She scheduled them exactly as we had asked- Zip lining, waterfall rappelling, and a sunset sailing trip. All with door-to-door service made it very easy. In between the scheduled activities we had lots of time to go to the beach, M A National Park, and Jaco. Lunch/dinner was easy to find in several different restaurants... all a short drive away from our apartment. Early morning walks within M A E was great for bird watching... bring your binocs & camera. Our Apt. was very nice, clean, close to town, and relaxing! The weather was also fantastic... about 90 and sunny every day! Would love to go back again some day!!!!
Thanks to everyone at M A E for some GREAT QUALITY TIME with my Daughter!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed Happy Jacana in Manuel Antonio Estates with a group of 14 friends (7 couples) from December 29th through January 5th, and we were incredibly impressed by the beauty of Happy Jacana, the convenient location, and the amazing staff at Manuel Antonio Estates. The community is gated with 24/7 security at both the front entrance and near the rear of the estates near our villa. Every afternoon, around 4 or 5 PM, a group of little monkeys would gather in the trees around the house and if we left fruit on the balcony/patio they would jump over to eat and play... seriously! The staff at Manuel Antonio Estates were by far the most attentive and helpful resort staff I have ever experienced. Luis and Dorit, two of the managers, arranged for everything we needed during our stay, including an amazing chef, transportation to activities, the beaches, parks, restaurants, etc, and our restaurant reservations the nights we ate out. Luis came to the house every morning when the housekeepers arrived to make sure everything was satisfactory and to make various reservations for us that day. The spa is also top notch... a few of us had spa treatments and were very impressed. For our last day in Costa Rica and at Manuel Antonio Estates, Luis arranged for a 60 foot catamaran yacht to take us out for the afternoon... the boat trip was very reasonably priced (MUCH lower than through other sources online) and was the highlight of our trip. Luis also arranged for chef Paul to cook incredible daily meals (breakfast, lunch/snacks, and dinner) using fresh local seafood, fruits, vegetables, and another ingredients. If you have Paul cook for you during your stay, be sure to ask him to make his famous hummus!
The only negative experience was the reality of leaving Costa Rica, but my friends and I will surely be back. If you are considering Happy Jacana in Manuel Antonio Estates for your Costa Rican getaway, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ART2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our family of five stayed at Casa Macaw. When we arrived, we were greeted by a small troupe of capuchin monkeys as they were passing through. The space was great for our needs to have a place to relax, make meals and have fun together, but close enough to Quepos to walk or jump on a "Micro" and head to the beach. Fantastic service from Luis and Dorit, who helped us book reservations and checked in regularly to make sure things were going smoothly. Highly recommend it to anyone who is planning a stay in the area!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The place was easy to find, it is just outside the town of Quepos, but easy walk/drive to stores, or to downtown Quepos. It is in a secure compound, and they are individually owned houses/villas managed by a property management as a vacation rental. We stayed in Villa Mot Mot.

A good 15 minute drive along the beach road to get to MA park and the beaches. The villa was beautifully appointed and well maintained - abundance of light switches, which was almost comical when the manager showed us, and he kept flipping the switches!

It comes with a pool - not heated. Even though Quepos/MA is quite warm, have a slightly warm pool would have helped.

The kitchen was well stocked with vessels and essentials. Spacious, clean, and tastefully done.
The bathrooms were clean and showers were good. The appliances were all in working order - other than the dishwasher. But then they had a daily maid service who would wash all the dirty vessels and spruce up the place.

The management was helpful and attentive. They sure understand the value of good satisfied customers.

Definitely worth the consideration, if you dont mind the extra five to ten minutes on the road.

Room Tip: This review is only for Villa Mot Mot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Easy_Traveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at Casa Chalet, a privately owned home in Manuel Antonio Estates. The estate manager, Dorit, was incredibly helpful. The house was fantastic, very peaceful, and accommodating. Amazing bathroom!
I had been in Costa Rica for 2 months and was accustomed to the heat, but my boyfriend was only down for the week from Colorado (USA) so wasn't used to the heat. The air conditioning unit in the house was outdated, inefficient, and very noisy, but we just dealt with it.
We spent a lot of time sitting in the rocking chairs on the balcony, drinking coffee, eating breakfast and enjoying the hummingbirds, monkeys and nature sounds.
Walking distance to Quepos and just a short, inexpensive (320 colones per person) bus ride into Manuel Antonio.
Starting at 4 p.m. on Fridays, and all day Saturday, there is a local farmer's market (feria) within walking distance of the chalet in Qeupos - on the ocean walk.
Our favorite restaurant - in Manuel Antononio - Cafe Milagro. Amazing latin fusion food, and excellent locally grown and roasted Costa Rican coffee!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRadventure2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
1.3 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,587 reviews
1.6 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
918 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Plaza Yara
Hotel Plaza Yara
#5 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
751 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#1 of 14 in Quepos
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manuel Antonio Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuel Antonio Estates

Address: Manuel Antonio Estates, Quepos 12-6350, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Quepos
Price Range: £60 - £527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas, homes and condos at Manuel Antonio Estates, offering rentals by the week for all group sizes & budgets! All villas offer private pool, blue Pacific Ocean views, proximity of the bustling fishing village of Quepos, spectacular famed beaches of Manuel Antonio nearby, monkeys, 180 species of birds, essence of luxury & pure tranquility. Peacefulness awaits in our lush tropical jungle w/world class Spa. Our accommodations suit every need and taste from cozy eco condos for 1-4 people to premier/deluxe homes for 18 of your closest amigos. Exciting Tours! Rainforest Canopy, Horseback, Mangrove Monkey, ATV Sportfishing, much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manuel Antonio Estates Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing