We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay at manuel antonio estates”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quepos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manuel Antonio Estates
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great stay at manuel antonio estates”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

was in the studio apartment in m.a.e. thought it was great. lots of room. felt like i was at home. the maid service was good, friendly. really enjoyed being within walking distance to quepos. easy walk to all resturants and grocery stores. also the bus stop is very close so it wasn't a problem getting to the beach every day. also enjoyed the pool right out my door. lots of wild life visiting on a daily basis. monkeys, iguanas. any problems i had were taken care of the same day. am booked for next year. would and do recomend it to all my friends. and dorit at the front desk was more than helpfull. can't wait til next. john gallagher. lundar man. can.

Room Tip: book early to get the one you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 47332014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    39
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
76
42
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My husband and I stayed in the ECO Condos for a few days before heading to La Fortuna. We found it to be very clean and in a good location; walking distance to downtown Quepos, close to public trans, far enough from the hustle and bustle (so it's nice and quiet). Dorit was extra helpful in tying any loose ends for us and promptly answering all the questions we had. Seeing a family of monkeys roll through was pretty cool too!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyDLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 week, although in a good position if you are reliant on public transport and want to be closer to Quepos than the national park, there were a few issues.
The air conditioner, fans and light would cut in and out in certain rooms leaving you to wake up boiling hot.
House cleaning was only a couple of times a week, (not enough for the price they charge ) and floors were dirty leaving you with dirty feet if you had no shoes on.
On the up side it was very quiet and the pool was nice.
Very overpriced though.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We spent a week at Manuel Antonio Estates in the Macaw House. Lots of room, cleaned every day, and Dorit was beyond helpful. She set up all of our adventures and answered all of our questions. Her recommendations of places to eat was spot on. We had toucans and large, beautiful woodpeckers outside our windows everyday.

It is a bit of a hike up from the office but the taxis and tour vans will drive you up to the front door. The bus stop (the bus costs about $.60, comes by every 15 minutes and goes all the way to Manuel Antonio Park) is about a two minute walk from the office. We used the bus more than taxis.

And try Ronny's place for dinner at least once. The food is good, and the view and atmosphere are excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbl12761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spearfish, South Dakota
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed four nights at the Cozy Eco Condo. Upon our arrival we met the resident toucan and several lizards. The grounds are beautiful and we couldn't get enough of the wildlife. I was up at the crack of dawn each day waiting for the monkeys. They didn't disappoint us. The pool was a lovely place to cool off and relax after a busy day. There is quite a hill to climb to reach our condo. We just decided it was excersize that we all needed and it didn't hurt us at all. Quepos was a quick walk to anywhere or anything we needed. The bus to the beaches and the park were easy and very accessible. We were traveling with our college age children and looking for a clean, comfortable place to stay at a reasonable price. MAE was all of that and more. Dorit was wonderful help before we arrived in Costa Rica and after. We have friends traveling to MAE and we are recommending the Cozy Eco Condo. We love it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane2887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed four 4 nights at Casa Macaw. 20 Minutes after our arrival we were greeted by a probably 30 monkeys coming to check us out. Our 3 year old was ecstatic. We saw them again for the following two nights. However the best part was the pair of Tucans. Dorit and Luis were more than helpfull and great with advice. My wife had a massage at the spa and said it was one of the top three she has ever had. We stayed here at the end of our trip as a wind down and to enjoy some beach time. Great location and a great time was had.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had originally booked/paid(non refundable $1400) to stay a week at La Foresta Nature Resort, but was informed after doing so that they had closed down, so they set us up at Manuel Antonio Estates in a luxury villa, even receiving an email with pictures/descriptions. When we arrived, there was no villa we were set up in. In fact we were assigned to an "Eco Apartment", which is a total dump! I wasn't aware that Eco meant dirty. The stove was filthy with cooked on food, the dishes were dirty in the cabinet(plywood boxes hanging on the wall), the coffee cups had dried coffee stains(from coffee drying and not being washed), which required us to wash the dishes before using any. The floors are dirty making your feet black. We had towels for the 4 of us but no washcloths anywhere. A/C is only in 1 bedroom and did a mediocre job at best. Many lights were burnt out and lamp cords were electrical taped together. These units are $30 per night at best, NOT $200! After 2 nights, we're leaving this toilet and heading to Costa Verde Resort 5 minutes away where we got a private 4 bedroom, ocean view, luxury house for $1145 for the week. We threw $1400 non-refundable down the toilet at M.A.E.

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ManuelAntonioEstates, Front Office Manager at Manuel Antonio Estates, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Traveler,

If you booked a luxury resort for $1,400 per week through your agency, of course your expectations would be different. Our condo's are $600 per week (please check our website to confirm the rates) and this is what we received for your booking. We do not represent them as a luxury resort, they are targeted at self catering, independant travellers. If your agency indicated to you anything else, you were mislead by them.

We feel it is unreasonable for you to vent your dissapointment by reviewing us as unfairly and inacurately as you have. Your problem is with your agency, who is in no way associated with us. They placed you with us since La Foresta (your original resort) is now no longer in operation.

That they downgraded you from a luxury resort to budget self catering is an issue you need to take up with your agency and we kindly request that you remove this review from our site and redirect your issues to your agency.

Thank you,

Dorit Wendrock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
1.3 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,201 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,540 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mimos
Hotel Mimos
#31 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
297 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manuel Antonio Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuel Antonio Estates

Property: Manuel Antonio Estates
Address: Manuel Antonio Estates, Quepos 12-6350, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas, homes and condos at Manuel Antonio Estates, offering rentals by the week for all group sizes & budgets! All villas offer private pool, blue Pacific Ocean views, proximity of the bustling fishing village of Quepos, spectacular famed beaches of Manuel Antonio nearby, monkeys, 180 species of birds, essence of luxury & pure tranquility. Peacefulness awaits in our lush tropical jungle w/world class Spa. Our accommodations suit every need and taste from cozy eco condos for 1-4 people to premier/deluxe homes for 18 of your closest amigos. Exciting Tours! Rainforest Canopy, Horseback, Mangrove Monkey, ATV Sportfishing, much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manuel Antonio Estates Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing