We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Italian Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Angolo

L'Angolo
Ranked #19 of 82 Restaurants in Quepos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
SF, CA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

It's surprising to come to Costa Rica and have Italian food, but the guy we rented chairs from at the beach in Manuel Antonio was raving about this place so we gave it a try. The service isn't great as we were barely acknowledged when we walked through the door even though we were the first customers to arrive. Not the friendliest waiter and the food took forever to arrive, but it's probably b/c they were making everything from scratch. My daughter had the cheese raviolis in alfredo sauce and they were so delicious. My husband had a pasta dish with seafood and a tomato based sauce and it was excellent. I had the carbonara, which I didn't like as much, but only b/c I expected the American version of carbonara and according to my husband it was the more authentic version you find in Italy. Lesson learned. In sum, the food is delicious, prices are not cheap, and you will wait a while for your food, but it's worth a visit if you want an alternative to American and Costa Rican food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Girlstar128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    43
    16
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I had one of the best slices of pizza ever at the Angolo Allegro. It was juicy, dripping with cheese, and plenty of mushrooms. This is not your ordinary Costa Rican pizza.

It's also right in the center of Montezuma - very convenient. I will go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Quincho Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
154 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian food in Quepos?!!!?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Yes, we were shocked to find this little corner Italian Restaurant in Quepos! Although the establishment is a mix of a delacatessan and restaurant, there is a lot of variety of food choices from Italian sandwiches to a full dinner. The bruschetta appetizer and the dinners ordered such as lasagna and the pasta with eggplant was seasoned well and very tasty. The owner/chef is from Italy which definitley explains the flavors and authenticity of the food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pretty Good take out Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our hotel recommended this restaurant for pizza delivery. We called for delivery but they wanted us to place an order over $50 so we got on the quad and went down the hill into town.

It was after 9 pm and the restaurant was still very busy and the wait for our pie was about 30 mins. We got a couple of beers at the grocery store and walked around and took in the Montezuma night life.

The restaurant had a cool outdoor cafe ambience to it and the food coming out of the kitchen looked great. Our pizza was pretty good and we will go in for dinner next time we are in Montezuma!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Best Italian food I've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Too bad it's in Costa Rica. The guys there speak mostly Italian as if they just arrived from Italy, but their food is just as authentic and will blow you away.. that is how awesome this food is.. it was a long wait for food.. but totally amazing food.. well worth it.. the decor isn't all that, but it reminds me of old world European look. It's all about the excellent food.. I wish it were here in America.. :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SanFranciscoGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Angolo also viewed

Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to L'Angolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing