We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Baile de la Iguana
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    La Foresta Nature Resort(Quepos)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    • Free Parking
    • Free Internet
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Las Cascadas The Falls(Manuel Antonio)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Hotel California(Manuel Antonio)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Hotel Mimos(Manuel Antonio)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (47)
    Filter reviews
    47 results
    Traveller rating
    21
    8
    4
    6
    8
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    21
    8
    4
    6
    8
    See what travellers are saying:
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 47 reviews
    Reviewed 4 April 2014

    The owner of this place was amazing: Not only did he give us great advice on restaurants, but he also spent at least 45min on the phone for us changing our bookings in other places. He also let us choose our room as he had two available in the same price category. We took the one just above the pool with a grat view over the ocean. It was quite big and had not only a bathroom, but also a little kitchen included.
    When my boyfriend had to go to the hospital after an accident at the beach, he did a great job calming me down and even offered to come with me to translate everything for us.
    We're really grateful and can only recommend the place.

    Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    Thank Elisabeth S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 March 2014

    room (dorm) was clean, but sheets were all dirty. disgusting! mattress was old and saged! under one mattress was a wooden board missing, so u were lying directly on the metal pipe of the bed. when we were asking for a wooden board the owner rolled his eyes and reacted unfriendly. at the end he put some folded cardboard under the mattress which was not helpin at all!
    same reaction when we were asking for an additional ventilator - we didn't get one!
    furthermore he was unflexible and pretty unfriendly. no drinking in the room, pool is open only until 8 p.m., and no noise at all after 10 p.m., pls. not recommendable at all for backpackers or groups who wanna spend a nice time together

    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Chess D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

    Start with the positives:

    The manager David was obviously well intentioned, showing us a map with recommendations of things to do, making us a coffee and giving us an additional fan.

    The hotel is cheap for Manuel Antonio and is in a decent location half way between Manuel Antonio Beach and Quepos.

    The view from the room was amazing.

    Now for the comprehensive list of negatives:

    Despite his intentions David's customer service skills left a lot to be desired, his handling of a number of the below problems was far from professional.

    The room we paid an additional $20 for above the standard room advertised air conditioning. This is the only reason we paid the extra (the other benefits such as an additional bed/kitchenette/sea view were fairly irrelevant to us). Upon arrival we were shown to a room with no A/C and told we'd have to pay even more for that room, and that even if we were willing to pay more, the room was unavailable. When we asked for an additional fan to compensate for the lack of AC (also as we were afraid to use the roof fan, it looked like it might fall of the roof at any minute), David said "I'll give you may fan". I told him I wouldn't accept his fan as I would feel bad, and he repeatedly shouted at me "no you take it and you feel bad". He did then give us the fan which we accepted.

    The room was also incredibly dated with ancient dirty sheets and a kitchenette so old and decrepit it was basically unusable. The shower looked like it might kill you if you touched it, exposed wiring and running water... and only had burning hot or cold as it's two settings. The shower also leaked considerably leaving the bathroom floor soaking wet.

    Lastly, we had booked on booking.com where the price was listed in US dollars. As we only were carrying Costa Rican Colones we emailed ahead and asked if it was OK to pay using the local currency, which it was confirmed would be OK. However, we were not told that we would be charged a ludicrously unfavourable exchange rate to do so. It is frowned upon and actually illegal in most shops to, when advertising in dollars in Costa Rica to offer anything other than the government exchange rate to pay in Colones. However, he wouldn't budge and also asked for a 5% credit card surcharge, something else unheard of in Costa Rica.

    Overall, if you really can't afford anything else, staying here (probably) won't kill you. But if you can avoid it, I probably would.

    Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    Thank DCSykes
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

    My girlfriend and I have been traveling for about a week and this place was, to be fair, not bad, but fat from good. We're easy travelers and thought we could save a few bucks considering Manuel Antonio is a bit pricey.

    We booked here through booking.com at a decent price and the description said that there would be A/C, washing machine in the apartment, hot water, pool, and cable tv. There was no hot water. The shower only dribbled cold water actually. No A/C, no washing machine, and pool was unkept. The sheets were really old and appeared as if they were bought from a second hand store from the 80s. We would've been OK with everything but what was upsetting was that the owner, was rude, argumentative, and a liar. We waited 4 hours with a volunteer to check-in and when he finally arrived he was rude from the beginning. You just didn't feel safe or comfortable there.

    So we tried a night, cut our losses the 2nd night and moved up the road to a nice little place.

    Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    1  Thank Michael O
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 January 2014

    After travelling in hostels for over 2 months, the apartment we rented in Baile de la Iguana felt like our own little home.

    With full kitchen, ensuite bathroom, TV, couch and double bed, we had everything we needed right at our fingers tips. Did I mention the view was to die for?

    David makes it a point to take care of his guests, and often goes above and beyond the call of duty. He gave us some great recommendations for places to eat, and beaches to explore that were off the beaten path.

    If you are looking for a nice, reasonably priced place to stay, that is an easy bus ride to the park entrance, I would highly suggest Baile de la Iguana.

    You can read a more thorough review on my blog:

    http://hostelsandhotrollers.com/tag/baile-de-la-iguana/

    Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view, but be aware the rooms can be rather bright due to exterior lighting.
    • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Kate Z
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews