We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
25
24
6
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
24
6
6
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

Owner is a great guy and is always willing to help out in anyway he can. Breakfast are free and pretty awesome. Great location too. Highly recomended. Place js fairly clean, if your really looking for a cleab place then you want a hotel.O and the price is great.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2016 via mobile

Great hostel. The owner is very nice, helpful and speaks excellent English. You get free breakfast on the balcony and he is a good cook. Comfortable beds for a dorm room, with lots of fans to keep you cool. Very affordable!
It is located in a great spot, close to both Quepos and Manuel Antonio, with buses that run from right in front of the hostel.
I would recommend it for anyone traveling on a budget.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
Thank paigeenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2016

We stayed in Quepos as a stopover on our way further south, and I'm glad we didn't stay more than a night. The building itself looked closed down or abandoned from the outside. The owner was very accommodating, but when we arrived he (and his girlfriend?) were watching TV in their space which is in the middle of the guest rooms. A bit of an awkward placement. Clearly there could have been cleaning of the floors and bathroom in preparation for the days' guests but that didn't happen (the shower REALLY needed some attention).

The beds themselves were clean, so that was a relief. The hostel has no kitchen or fridge, although he did offer to put some of our things in his fridge. It's very hot as not much air moves through this area on the backside of the mountain. Each bed does have a fan though.

He was accommodating in our early 5:30am departure which was greatly appreciated.

This place may do as a quick stopover, but not if you're looking for somewhere to relax and hang out.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sn0wgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

When we arrived at the first time we were greated by the very nice hostel owner in the empty building. He even gave us a refreshing coca cola, very friendly. The room for 2 people had a bunk bed, a fan and a bathroom. To climb up the bunk bed wasn't easy but I did it. When I opened the blanket dead leafs fell out, that was a little bit weird. The room smelled very disgusting each time we came in. In the shower (only cold water) were hair from other guests and there was no mirror. The door handle from the bathroom was so rusty that you always had to wash your hands after touching it.
Because of the good reviews about the dinner we tried to get dinner in the hostel. We had been waiting for 2,5 hours (!) but the hostel owner just came by to switch on the light from the balcony (where we wanted to eat) and left. So we and another guy in this lonely hostel drank beer instead having dinner, a supermarket was across the road. We had dinner in town then..
Breakfast was good for the price, we had scrambled eggs, sort of melon, white bread and coffee.
The owner was really lovely but I wouldn't stay here again, sorry :(

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015

The owner is really friendly and very helpful. Gives you a lot of tips to go around and explore and it is always willing to help you around and make you comfortable. Also he prepares very good and cheap food. Breakfast included is a plus. Although the place gets really hot during the day and lacks a bit of ventilation. Water in the shower is cold and lacks a bit of details in decoration that could make it more cozy. Also it is close to the bus stop to and from Manuel Antonio, but on the other hand it is not so central if you are considering downtown Quepos.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews