We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel - but noisy location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Quepos
Frederikshavn, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel - but noisy location”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We had 2 very big rooms with seaview and big balcony. Every thing was perfect and we got chocolate every day with the free coffee. We enjoyed our stay except from nights, were the young people drove around in their cars and played loud music. They gathered in front of the hotel/casino and every night there was party going on. We hardly get any sleep in the 5 nights we stayed there - but there is a very god beach at the entrance to Manuel Antonio National Park. Here you can hire sunbeds for 10$ and get a good nap in the shadow :o) Maybe the hotel should give their guests a free card to use those sunbeds - if you stay in a room out to the street !!
Anyway we had a god vacation at the hotel - only the staff in the reception pretended as we didn't exist..everyone else was very kind and helpful. Great hotel - just use earplugs..

Room Tip: The rooms out to the street is noisy but you can see the ocean from your balcony. The other rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    99
    77
    33
    23
See reviews for
58
103
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Good points: The hotel room was clean, and the balcony was very useful to dry our swimgear. It's only about a 10 or 15 minute bus ride to the Manuel Antonio beach (and it cost about 50 cents per trip).

Bad points: the front-desk personnel were not very friendly, and they tended to nickel-and-dime us along the way. For instance, we could not use the telephone at the front desk. They had us use the phone in our rooms, but did not tell us that we would be charged for local calls at the end of our stay.

Restaurant review - the breakfast is excellent in the morning. There is a continental breakfast included with your stay, but the hot breakfast is for an extra charge. I don't think that they made this very clear. The server Leo was very friendly and helpful, however.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckystllo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dobbs Ferry, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This is my second stay here and, as was the first one in Oct 2009, the place reeks of classic. The polished wood, dim lighting, I keep expecting Humphrey Bogart to show up. The staff is all over trying to assist you. A special kudo goes to Leo the bartender. Great AC, class tiled bathroom/shower. Balcony overlooking public beach and boat inlet keeps ones attention. Very reasonably priced, but as others have noted, this is not a family area.

Room Tip: Top floor (4th) has best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana A, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Good Morning

Thank you very much for your coments.

See you soon,

The Family BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Location is nice for downtown Quepos. Price is cheap and rooms are clean. Breakfast was a joke, though. Very light for included package. All in all, a good place to stay while saving pennies for other things to do in nearby Manuel Antoñio.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferdelanceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

You know what to expect from best western hotels. Nice rooms, air conditioning, nice tv, iron, pleny of towels, very nice and clean. The internet is decent

The pool is small but it is ok.

Restaurant is nice also, good food and with a discount for guests.

The downside for some people is the noise at night. Is too loud at late hours. It was no problem for me cause I sleep like a bear :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MemeCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2013

a friend and I stayed at the best wetern hotel & casino in quepos, on the pacific coast

the hotel staff was attentive. the rooms unlike in tortuguero, were air conditioned, which is a plus. my friend and I stayed in a larger room overlooking the ocean, a bit more expensive but worth it. the restaurant is located on the second level and has stellar smoothies. and the food was acceptable, although I prefer to go out an look for food in smaller mom and pop like sodas or the like. more authentic and less expensive. one side note, the night life is alive in downtown quepos, not the most family friendly after lets say 6 pm, so keep that in mind. during the day it is fine. I would give this hotel a pass, but might suggest you check out the other hotels closer to manuel antonio.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roberpa_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana A, Manager at Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Good Morning

Thank you very much for visited the BEST WESTERN Kamuk

We hope to see you soon¡¡¡
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banff
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel as soon as we walked into the casino dan the guy in charge of the poker room spotted us and started giving us the low down on quepos and the casino. If your playing cards you get free booze and they bring out food sometimes. The game is pretty cheap to buy into 50cent 1$ but there's action

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
0.1 mi away
La Sirena Hotel
La Sirena Hotel
#2 of 13 in Quepos
299 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#1 of 13 in Quepos
386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,536 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk

Property: Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk
Address: Av Central | PO Box 18-6350, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica (Formerly BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino is the only full service hotel in Quepos. Located just a few steps from the Quepos Marina our 44 comfortable rooms are divided in 3 diferent categories: Standar, Superior and Primium, they all have air-conditioned, hot water, cable TV, free WI-FI Internet and most with balconies as well some of the rooms have ocean view. The Restaurant & Bar "Mira Olas" is open for breakfast from 6-9am every day to serve complimentary breakfast to our guests including the typical Costa Rican gallo pinto with fried or scramble eggs. We also have a casino on premises for those who enjoy gaming, conference room for 50 people and the outdoor pool for our guests who prefer to relax in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kamuk
Best Western Quepos
Quepos Best Western
Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing