We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Quepos
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We stopped at this hotel after driving for six hours. The outside seemed nice so we didn't ask to see the room. It smelled horrible. Like mildew and sewage. It was worse in the bathroom. And because there is a casino on the first floor it is loud. The bathroom was a mess. You couldn't even lock the door--it was the swinging saloon style type. There is no private parking at the hotel and the area felt unsafe to leave a car unattended. Way too expensive for what you get. On the bright side the staff was nice and the A/C worked.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mikelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKamuk, Manager at Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at (506) 2777-0811.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Tatiana Astua
Operations Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Staff nice. Hotel noisy, particularly room 201. Had to move after 2nd night. Should have moved 1st night. Room was under restaurant and very close to an all night disco. Not an ocean view, trees. No hot water either. Book a room with view of the pool. Rm 312 was acceptable. Breakfast suffices. Location good for fishing. Get to Manuel Antonio park at 7am or wait in lines.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TacomaAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKamuk, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear ,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Marco Ramírez
Front Desk Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Best price best value in our whole trip. small clean comfortable room funky place to park your car but even though we blocked by five cars it took only five minutes to remove their cars wish I could've stayed longer but the place is booked. I wanted to go fishing!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bahamaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKamuk, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,

Marco Ramírez
Front Desk Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The hotel contains everything you need but nothing more. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The AC wasn't working 100% and there was only a small TV with mediocre reception. Since the hotel is located right next to the busy street you should like the sound of big trucks using their compression brakes.

Staff we're incredibly friendly and helpful!

Breakfast consisted of a tiny portion of rice&beans with just one scrambled egg and a buffet of fruit and toast.

Quepos itself isn't really worth a longer stay, though.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jessica_Hannover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKamuk, Gerente at Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at (506) 2777-0811.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Luis A. Bolaños
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I wondered about Quepos town when I found out the Best Western was the most swank hotel in town. After driving around for 5 minutes in the small town, we decided to check out the BW. It's definitely nice compared to many of the other hotels that we peeked into. But at $100 or so per night it was not worth. The rooms were basic BW rooms, fairly clean, fairly sterile. We ended up not staying here -- just to be clear -- when I asked the front desk what's a good restaurant to eat in and they told me the BW restaurant. And they repeated that we should eat at the BW restaurant. When I named some specific restaurants recommended by guidebooks, the people at the front desk said they never heard of those restaurants! At that point, why spend $100+ to stay in a sterile room and be given bad advice? It was too much! Location was right across the street from the ocean but in a noisy-ish area with bars and late night eateries.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Falasafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKamuk, Gerente at Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at (506) 2777-0811.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Luis A. Bolaños
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The room was a little musty, but we hit it right at the Festivus Civicas (like a Mardi Gras) and the location was fabulous! Room was similar to any other BW hotel. Clean rooms, very comfortable beds. Pool area would have been much better, if there hadn't been unpleasant odors wafting through. Food in the restaurant is okay. Staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on the north side of the complex or the ones in the main building. Our room was fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a2z_travelerSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKamuk, Gerente at Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at (506) 2777-0811.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Luis A. Bolaños
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I was there a night on Feb 17. It was the best hotel I found on line on a short notice and the last room. Hotel is good, clean, friendly staff, room was large, large and clean bath with good shower. The hotel is really nice, has a good felling of safety and comfort, nice interiors, elevator, interior garden.
The bad part, yes, there always is a bad part, the hotel is not in a good area. Although is a touristic area, the neighborhood get sketchy in the night time. My room was facing a side side street, one way that is, lots of traffic and lots of noise, it is just across from a bar that gets loud late night. the hotel is above of the casino and a questionable bar. Both packed with prostitutes, just like the street, below the hotel balcony. This is why traffic is little more intense on this street in the night time.
There are only three decent restaurants in the area, I didn't wonder to far off the hotel, not that is anything out there. One Mexican, one with live music and very loud one, one terrace with expensive prices and another corner restaurant, clean, small and quiet. Family run.

The hotel restaurant is nice, on the third floor terrace but towards the expensive part. Breakfast was not included, basic, good but expensive.

Wifi is not good throughout the hotel. I tried the second floor, the lobby, then the restaurant, they all have a wireless router on each floor. I called the reception and they told me the hotel is full and the lines are busy. Didn't quite understand that, all the services have to be estimated and fully functional at full capacity. This is the reason i got out for dinner, I needed internet to book the next hotel on the road for the next night.

If you are there for a just a night like myself it is ok, but i wouldn't stay there more than that.
nothing wrong with the hotel just the neighborhood. Felt like a room in the red district.
There are no fridges in the room, large room, enough space for it but no fridge. I found that not convenient at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the entrance of the hotel not the Casino. Avoid the side street after dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aquauomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKamuk, Gerente at Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at (506) 2777-0811.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Luis A. Bolaños
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#1 of 14 in Quepos
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Serenity Boutique Hotel Quepos
2 mi away
La Foresta Nature Resort
La Foresta Nature Resort
#7 of 14 in Quepos
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.4 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
447 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Priss
Hotel Le Priss
#10 of 14 in Quepos
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk

Address: Av Central | PO Box 18-6350, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica (Formerly BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Quepos
Price Range: £60 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino is the only full service hotel in Quepos. Located just a few steps from the Quepos Marina our 44 comfortable rooms are divided in 3 diferent categories: Standar, Superior and Primium, they all have air-conditioned, hot water, cable TV, free WI-FI Internet and most with balconies as well some of the rooms have ocean view. The Restaurant & Bar "Mira Olas" is open for breakfast from 6-9am every day to serve complimentary breakfast to our guests including the typical Costa Rican gallo pinto with fried or scramble eggs. We also have a casino on premises for those who enjoy gaming, conference room for 50 people and the outdoor pool for our guests who prefer to relax in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kamuk
Best Western Quepos
Quepos Best Western
Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing