We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Malinche and the lobby with Dick Minton's portrait!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Malinche

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Malinche
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Quepos
Nome, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love the Malinche and the lobby with Dick Minton's portrait!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2007

The Malinche is certainly not the five star you might wish for, but the rooms are very comfortable. The place is clean, location excellent, and the folks who own and run the place are very pleasant. I have stayed here many times in the last few years and while the place will not many awards, the location is second to none. On top of that, there is a great portrait in the lobby of the Malinche's number one customer, Dick Minton! I love the Malinche!

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — sometimes running low on hot water
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank jxmadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    10
    13
    10
    8
See reviews for
1
17
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
costa rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2005

I really loved my staying at the Hotel Malinche. This hotel is not a 5 stars hotel so you can´t expect luxury all around but anyway, there isn´t any luxury hotels in Quepos actually. I think this hotel represents a great value as the prices are quite reasonable and the rooms have air conditioning (that really works), hot water and cable color TV. The staff is friendly and always looking to keep the rooms cleaned. The hotel is very close to the finest restaurants in the Quepos area as it is located in Quepos main street. Access to transportation to the outstanding Manuel Antonio beaches and parks is very close. In the hotel is an office where you can book scuba diving and sport fishing tours. The actual owners of the hotel live there so the staff and personal is always attending their jobs as the owners are ALWAYS looking how things are going in the hotel. Quite recommended and will stay there again without hesitation as the hotels in the Manuel Antonio area are very similar and can charge you up to three times more.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank miercoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2005

I arrived expecting to have a room that I reserved, for the price I was quoted, and got neither. Quoted through their on web-site, I was quoted a low price of $10.00 for a room with fan, or $25.00 for a room with A/C. When I got there, and told them I had a reservation, I recieved a blank stare and a reply that the rooms were $25.00 with fan, and $40.00 for A/C.

Having flown all night, and driven from San Jose, I did not feel like arguing...took the fan room, and listened to disco music from down the street for hours. Even though it was the "green season" temps never got below 80 degrees that night in my room.

needless to say, that was the only night I stayed at the Malinche, and I would not stay there again if I had ANY choice. There were many other choices avalible at this that time of year, up the road tward Manuel Antonio. Shop around, and get the better deal.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank terryoconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quepos hotels

minneapolis
Level Contributor
158 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2005

I had a similar experience in that I called and booked ahead but when I got there the had no record of the call, my room wasn't available,and the price had gone up considerable on what was left. We're talking about $25.00 for a cheap room so not a big deal. Apparently reservations don't mean much. The low end rooms are just that, a cold shower, fan, bed, one towel. If you like quiet serene mornings this isn't the hotel for you. The nice thing about this hotel is a central location, a short walk to the water, and a nice looking exterior, for what that's worth. Quepos is hot and humid so this Minnesotan would probably think twice before choosing a fan over the air but the air conditioning about doubles the price. I'd consider it again but not by reservation, thus check in early and see the room first. All in all it was pretty much a "get what you pay for" room.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BCNDWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2005

This is the first of many L. Amer. hotels I've been to that doesn't honor confirmed Internet reservations (made through their own website and confirmed by their employees). In late February, we arrived on our entry date at 4PM and all of the A/C & hot water rooms were taken. Even admitting we were on their reservation list, the only rooms they had left available were with a measly fan and with cold (as in cold cold) water. My digital alarm clock showed our room varied between a sweltering 85-95 degrees. All other hotels were booked or wanted 90 USD or more. Two other arriving couples were left with the same predicament. One couple stayed, one left. Thus, my problem is with the wasted time on researching & confirming a reservation that wasn't fulfilled. There are various other hotels--nicer and more economical in the Quepos area where we'll stay next time.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank funnychap24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2005

I have been staying at the Malinche for the last 9 visits to Quepos/ Manual Antonio.
It is close to the fishing pier for sports fishing. One can walk to all the restaurants in the area, El Banco bar, Gran Escape.
You can walk to tbe grocery store, and walk to the bus or taxi stand.
It is secure and quiet.
The owners are excellent!

Helpful?
6 Thank ticobirra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2004

We arrived in Quepos, hot, tired after a long, long bus journey from San Jose. The budget hotels we looked at seemed airless and claustrophobic, then we saw the cool courtyard of the Hotel Malinche, and knew it was the right place for us.
The woman on Reception was friendly and helpful, and the room was clean, comfortable and a good price.
There was no noise from other guests, and the room was kept spotless while we explored the local delights of Manuel Antonio National Park.
We were so comfortable there, we decided to stay 5 nights.
One night, we were delighted to see a huge Cane toad, hopping through the courtyard towards the shrubbery - he was quite a beauty!
We never felt we needed to worry about security of our belongings while we were there, and I'd be happy to recommend the hotel.

Helpful?
5 Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#1 of 16 in Quepos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino
0.0 mi away
La Sirena Hotel
La Sirena Hotel
#2 of 16 in Quepos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#7 of 16 in Quepos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Priss
Hotel Le Priss
#9 of 16 in Quepos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#18 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Malinche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malinche

Property: Hotel Malinche
Address: Quepos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Malinche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malinche Hotel Quepos
Hotel Malinche Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing