We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great !”
Review of Hotel Mono Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mono Azul
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Quepos
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We started our trip in Manuel Antonio, so the Mono Azul was our first stop. and we knew straight away that this will be our last stop as well ! the hotel is just great, the rooms super clean and well kept, the award winning restaurant is worth more than just one visit. the location is perfect, since the bus stop is just a few meters away. the stuff is helpfull and superfriendly, so ist the owner Chip! all in all...we have seen hotels and hostels in places like Sta. Teresa, Nosara or Playa Grande (to name a few), but the Mono Azul was by far the best ! we will be back asap ;-) THANKS FOR UR HOSPITALITY CHIP!!!
Susi and Peter, Münster, Germany

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdambowy1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is owned by a retired American who clearly has not invested in his hotel. Sheets and towels are dingy, gross film covering the pool, shower, sink, and tiles are cracked. Wifi is so weak we were not able to use. The only reason we stayed here is because the owner double booked our room at the other hotel he owns "Blue Banyan Inn." The 1st night we had to sleep in bunk beds with the workers, then he got us one night at Mono Azul. Terrible experience! The staff said double booking happens frequently. You cannot run a business like this! I would never return here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Abi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The rates at the Mono Azul are certainly reasonable in comparison with most other hotels in the Manuel Antonio area, but my stay there in a "deluxe" room was disappointing in a variety of ways. For one, there was no hot water at any time in the rooms. The free WiFi only worked in the reception area -- not in the rooms as advertised. The overhead fan was so loud that I ultimately used air-conditioning instead. The beds are old and bedding consisted of a sheet and bedspread made of the same sheet-like material from which the curtains were made. Extra towels were not a possibility. Though the water was crystal clear, the three pools are all small and relatively shallow. On the morning we were there, the breakfast buffet consisted of fresh fruit, gallo-pinto, eggs, and pancakes/French toast -- good enough but not much choice. The buffet opens at 7:00 am, and it was cleared away by 7:45 on the morning we stayed there. Sleeping late was apparently not an option. The owners are good supporters of environmental causes, but I'd encourage them to put a little money into updating and upgrading the place.

Room Tip: I heard people saying that "The Tower" was a good spot and that it had WiFi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbeaton314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We were basically forced to stay here as our booking relocated us so probably wasn't in the best of moods. I can see how this place could have been a charming place at some point but it really shows that no one really takes care of it. This hotel felt grimy. I understand that there are bugs but this place had more. I used a facecloth (my own because they didn't give us any until asking 2 times) and left it by the sink. After about an hour it was covered in tiny bugs. I then saw them walking around the edges of the room. I didn't see them in any other hotel we stayed. We didn't leave food out and rinsed out any beer/juice cans. I only opened my luggage to take something out and then immediately did it back up again. Both in our room and the pool area had a faint smell of sewage. There is no hot water for shower but we really found getting a constant warm shower in Costa Rica impossible in our more expensive hotels as well. I ate breakfast in the restaurant and the service and food were both poor quality. Luckily this was near the beginning of our trip and the hotels I picked myself were wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachelllle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This hotel is ok, it's clean, the showers are hot and the coffee is good and bottomless. However it feels like it needs a bit of a makeover. The beds are not very comfortable (they feel really old) same goes for the bed sheets and towels. The reception staff is pretty dry, but the waiter is nice and the owner is this lovely chatty American. The food is acceptable. It's got a small pool which is nice after spending the day in the car.
Good for 1 night, maybe 2 but that's it.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

It was great to see Mono Azul again after 10 years! I stayed one night in Villa 4B uphill and across the street from the hotel. So good to see owners Chip and Jennifer. They remain the same friendly, welcoming people.
Though the hotel is older, it is classic Costa Rica — restaurant is open to the outside; decor is classic wood. Mono Azul is home to Kids Saving the Rainforest, a non-profit that rescues animals and is full of heart. The bus to the beach and to Quepos is less than one block away.

The Hilton this isn't, but the rich and true flavor of Costa Rica is in full bloom.

Room Tip: I liked the Villa. It is nestled among the palms, quiet and COOL both ways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoBee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Had a decent stay. Rooms are a little tired but the setting is nice. Good bar area and restaurant has good food. Sloths in the courtyard. The price is generally negotiable, make an offer. Clean, cold A.C., and comfortable, no complaints here.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank skipnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
0.8 mi away
Serenity Boutique Hotel Quepos
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Yara
Hotel Plaza Yara
#5 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#5 of 14 in Quepos
121 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
559 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mono Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mono Azul

Address: Manuel Antonio Road | On The Road To Manuel Antonio National Park, Quepos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Quepos
Price Range: £39 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mono Azul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mono Azul is a comfortable, environmentally-friendly oasis in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica. We are also closely related to Kids Saving The Rainforest (KSTR). Our hotel has 2 swimming pools, a full service restaurant with breakfast and dinner and bar, free WiFi, and tour booking. We offer a wide range of lodging options. Hotel Mono Azul is under new management as of December 1st, 2014 and continues to be owned and managed by Americans and has been a pillar in the Manuel Antonio Community for over twenty years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mono Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mono Azul Hotel
Mono Azul Quepos
Hotel Mono Azul Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing