We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay closer to Manuel Antonio Park”
Review of La Sirena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Sirena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Quepos
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay closer to Manuel Antonio Park”
Reviewed 26 December 2012

The Hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly. Breakfast area was small, not many choices for vegetarians. The price was average, but you will get a better experience if you stay closer to Manuel Antonio Park. Quepos seemed unsafe at night. There was a lot of street noise and yelling. Mattress was also very hard. Overall, I would not recommend this hotel due to its location, but if you are after price, it may be worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bpieraccini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    103
    44
    23
    12
See reviews for
39
139
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

It was a nice quaint place, enjoyed it. The breakfast was very good it was cooked to order and the ladies were very polite. The rooms were nice, they were doing a lot of renovating so it should get better. We stayed there with friends we all enjoyed the pool and playing cards. The security guard was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor by the pool very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I recently returned from my first trip to Costa Rica and spent 5 nights at the Sirena Hotel. I wanted to stay in town, not on the "strip" going to Manuel Antonio park. The Sirena was the perfect choice. All of the staff is great, the pool is very refreshing. The grounds are kept extremely clean, as was the room. I really enjoyed my stay here and in Quepos in general.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marti324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stayed at La Sirena hotel in March 2012 and we really enjoyed it.

The hotel is calm and well-equiped with a very nice swimming pool. There is a nice deck with big fans near the swimming pool where the breakfast is served. The breakfast is very good. Wifi is available in the hotel. The rooms are big, very comfortable and clean. We booked a one-day tour to Manuel Anotnio with the hotel, it was very good. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance and the bus stand is close too.

Very good hotel, we definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramabopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

When booking this hotel (which is billed as a backpackers hostel), we mostly chose it because of the good price, realizing that we wouldn't be spending that much time in the hotel.
Upon our arrival, we were immediately impressed by the friendliness of the staff and the overall clean, light and airy appearance of the hotel. I loved the open upstairs terrace with rocking chairs and the pool, though small, was very refreshing and well maintained.
Our rooms were spacious, clean and well-appointed in terms of shelves and cupboards for storage and I slept like a baby the night we stayed there. Our air conditioning worked fabulously, but our friends in the room next to us said theirs wasn't quite as great.
It was very nice staying down in Quepos, as opposed to the tourist trap right by Manuel Antonio; but we were just a shuttle ride away from the park entrance and had a wonderful time enjoying the national park.
I would definitely patronise La Sirena again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prescarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McDonough, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We enjoyed a two-week stay at the la Sirena Hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Also, there is a bilingual staff at the reservations counter which made communicating easy. Our room was cleaned daily and provided with fresh towels. The linen on the bed was changed often. We felt safe. The hotel provided all the amenities advertised on the web. I recommend this hotel.

Disfruté mi estancia de dos semanas en la Sirena hotel. El personal fue muy amable y servicial. También, hubo personal bilingüe en la recepción que hizo fácil nuestra comunicacion. El hotel ofrece todas las comodidades que se anuncian en la web. Yo recomiendo este hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Before writing the opinion, i read some others and get surprised on what someone paid (20usd!!??) and what we paid (80usd). Our room was supposed to be the basic one ...

Hotel is greatly located in Quepos, and service is kind and helpfull. Breakfast is ok; if it's not enough for you, you have a great bakery just in front of the hotel.

But i am still wondering how and why did the hotel owner closed the hotel with these big windows inside and outside the construction. The resulting sauna effect in a town like Quepos is absolutely terrible, and moreover when rooms' a/c machine are so loudy that you gotta choose, during night between hot or noise!!!

On the way to Manuel Antonio (13kms far from Quepos) you have lots of resorts/hotels, and if you are a mid+ budget traveller i would recommend to check something else.
Quepos is interesting since it conserves the reminescence of charming CR towns, even if gringos sport fishing turists can ruin the picture sometimes (notr always :)).

If you can book a 20usd room, it is worth of it, if not, choose something else.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaniElFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#1 of 13 in Quepos
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk
0.4 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,513 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#5 of 13 in Quepos
116 reviews
3.0 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sirena Hotel

Property: La Sirena Hotel
Address: West of the entrance to town 100m, Quepos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Sirena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is budget in price NOT in quality and is located in Costa Rica on the Central Pacific Coast, just a 25 minute flight or 2 hour drive from San Jose. We proudly offer 14 lovely rooms with air conditioning, cable television, mini fridge, telephone, swimming pool, tiki bar, digital safe, tour office and laundry services ALL conveniently located in the center of Quepos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Sirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Sirena
La Sirena Hotel Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing