We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel in a Central Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Sirena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Sirena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Quepos
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in a Central Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is near banks, the bus station, and restaurants/shops. The malecon is nearby, and it was pleasant to take evening walks near the water. We felt secure, but we did not venture out after dark so I can't speak for what the situation is at that time. Our room was upstairs at the end of the hall. It was quiet there. Everything in the room worked. The only negative was that the fitted sheet on one of the twim beds was too small so our 12-yr old ended up wrapped up in that sheet each morning.

The breakfast was good, and the indoor swimming pool enjoyable. We used this hotel as our staging area for trips into Manual Antonio which was about a 20-min. bus ride away. Across the street was a bakery that had a wide assortment of breads.

The reception desk person was especially helpful to us by spending her time on a Sunday to arrange a tourist bus transport to Santa Elena/Monteverde for us for the next day. We appreciated this because we had no telephone card or laptop to do this for ourselves.

I would recommend this hotel to family/friends. The building had a For Sale sign on it.

Room Tip: Don't get a room next to the swimming pool/breakfast area if you could help it as it would be mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geezerette46307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for writing such a positive review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was both pleasant and helpful. This is something that we always try to be as we realize it is an important part of any hotel stay. We are going to look into the issue with the sheets to make sure this does not happen to our future guests and we hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    103
    43
    23
    11
See reviews for
38
138
42
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hants UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is conveniently located just a few minutes walk from the bus station and the seafront. There is a takeaway pizza store opposite with slices for just 2 dollars and a great bakery just a little further down plus a small shop selling drinks etc. The reception area is welcoming and there is a computer available. My room was fresh and clean, great to have a fridge to enjoy the luxury of cold water! My only gripe is that there was no unit on which I could put my bag to unpack, the shelving there is was just too small and no hanging area. This is a minor point. The air con was effective, bathroom was great and in all this offers good value, clean and safe accomodation. The pool area is nicely maintained too and provides a place to sit and gather with friends. Breakfast was OK but the bread was white sliced so would appreciate a choice of brown bread and another option besides guava jam would be nice! It is easy to get the bus to Manuel Antonio and this costs less than 300 colones so no need to pay for a taxi.

Room Tip: Some rooms will be quieter than others so it is worth asking if there is anything else if you are un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your review as well as leaving your room tip and suggestions on places to eat. We will bring up your suggestion about the bread options with the complimentary breakfast in our next staff meeting to see if we can incorporate a wider variety of bread choices as well as jam.

We are glad you found our hotel a good value and enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here for a weekend to visit Manual Antonio beach. We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed the hotel. The room was clean and well taken care of. We forgot maids would come clean and they actually organized our clothes for us that we left out, haha! So sweet of them. There is a lock box for your valuables. Air conditioning was great! We ordered two full beds but ended up having to share a king but that was totally fine with us (we were cousins). The complimentary breakfast was so-so: the fruit was good, french toast not great. I would say it would be nice if it was on the beach but Quepos doesn't really have one... definitely go to Manual Antonio for that! It is just a short bus ride away, only about 50 cents. The night security guard was always there to let us in and help us out (although he didn't speak English, most of the other staff did). Very close to local bars and restaurants. We were happy with our experience.

Room Tip: Room 12 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank farnellb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your review as well as letting everyone know what your favorite room is. We are also always happy to hear that our staff was helpul and went above and beyond your expectations. We realize that this is one of the most important aspects of a guests stay.

We will look into our current offering on our complimentary breakfast to see where we can improve.

Thanks again and we hope to see you on your next visit to Quepos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The photos are a rip off. It makes it seem like the hotel is in a good area. It is in the seediest part of Quepos. As two young females, we felt very unsafe here. We decided to switch hotels and they refused to give us back any of our money even though on the website it says if you cancel by 3pm you get your money back. The lady at the front desk was super rude from the start. We booked a standard room with two beds, but she tried to put us in a room with one queen bed with a broken toilet. We left. Do yourself a favor, if you want to enjoy your vacation, find a place closer to Manuel Antonio. This part of Quepos is not enjoyable, and neither is this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lynn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Your review of our hotel has been brought to our attention and since we take any review of our hotel very serious, we would like to respond to your issues.

We investigated the issues that you mention in your review and have determined the following:

A) You reserved your room with us via Expedia. In the reservation request that we received from them, it shows that you requested a reservation with 1 bed, which we confirmed and therefore it for this reason your room only had 1 bed.

B) In regards to your refund request, we explained that since you booked and paid for your room with Expedia, you would therefore need to request your refund with them as that was the company you paid. We offered to help you with them, however you seemed to want to do this seperately.

C) In regards to your issue about the toilet, we double checked on this and we did not find any problems with the bathroom or the toilet.. We have rented this room subsequently to other guests and no complaint about the bathroom or toilet was forthcoming.

We understand that you did not approve of our inability to issue you a refund for your stay that you made with Expedia, however tried to be as accomodating as possible with your request. If you found our agents inablility to accomodate your request as rude, we apologize, as we always try our very best to help our guests.

Please let us know if you would like a copy of the request we received from Expedia regarding the type of room you requested or the photos that we took regarding the bathroom and toilet and we will forward them too you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Clean room, good breakfast, helpful staff, close to the bus station, plenty of hot water. It was great to come back to air conditioning after spending the day at Manuel Antonio National Park. Also convenient to have a mini-fridge in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erinallred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We are glad to hear that the hotel lived up to your expectations and that we were able check off all your criteria so you were able to give a 5 star rating.. I see you didn't mention our pool so maybe next time you come back you can try it out, if you didn't this last time, and let us know what you think.. Most people like combing the pool, air conditioning and a cold one to make it a perfect way to end the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Excellent for the price. The staff is very helpful, the rooms are clean, the air conditioning works well, and the wifi is pretty solid (for the region). Stayed for 8 nights, really nothing bad to say about this place.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room by the breakfast area since people will be eating as early as 6am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 27Mathieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your comments , we are glad to hear you enjoyed your extended stay with us and that you found our a hotel a good value.. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The room was nice and clean, hot water and working aircon. Also really well located in Quepos. However the best thing about this place was the staff. I'd left something behind in a previous hotel and they were amazingly helpful in helping me figure out how to get it back. They were also great at recommending things for us to do, places to eat and general chatting. We stayed longer than intended and will recommend to anyone going there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imp0ssible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. Its also good to hear our staff was very helpful and friendly as we pride ourselves on this and that they were able to assist you getting back the things you had forgotten..

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Quepos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
2.1 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#1 of 16 in Quepos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#7 of 16 in Quepos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Priss
Hotel Le Priss
#10 of 16 in Quepos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
2.0 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
2.3 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sirena Hotel

Property: La Sirena Hotel
Address: West of the entrance to town 100m, Quepos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Sirena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is budget in price NOT in quality and is located in Costa Rica on the Central Pacific Coast, just a 25 minute flight or 2 hour drive from San Jose. We proudly offer 14 lovely rooms with air conditioning, cable television, mini fridge, telephone, swimming pool, tiki bar, digital safe, tour office and laundry services ALL conveniently located in the center of Quepos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your La Sirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Sirena
La Sirena Hotel Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing