We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“green season stay”
Review of Hotel Villa Roca

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quepos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Villa Roca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Overall great - I thoroughly enjoyed my stay - just be aware if you charge your happy hour drinks to your room you won't get happy hour prices when you check out and pay up. I noticed it and one of the bar tenders actually told me this was common practice

Room Tip: book early - they'll let you know through correspondence by email what are the best rooms and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaroca, Owner at Hotel Villa Roca, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Hello Mike P.
Thank you very much for stay with us and your overall great review.
We are very sorry about your experience at our bar. Eight months after your stay we don´t know what happened and what the bartender exactly told you. We want to inform you that in the meantime we have another bartender. Furthermore it is possible that in your case we have made a mistake and we apologize but we do NEVER have a "common practice" to charge different prices to our customers.
We would be very happy to see you again at our resort to offer you all our services including our delicious and priced happy hour drinks at the pool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay! Very clean in general, gorgeous view of the ocean, very helpful and friendly staff and a great place to make new friends, especially during happy hour :D great location for most activities by foot or bus and most tours can be booked through the hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I really enjoyed our trip to CR, this is a great way to spend our time. The hotel is very nice. I would recommend it!!! The view is amazing, Great breakfast too. And they have restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank albertocruda11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of friends. The grounds were well kept and the pool was stunning. Lots of fun to be had.

The pool bar is open from 4-8 and has a great selection of drinks at reasonable prices. My only grumble would be that it would be nice it the bar was open longer hours but it is a small hotel so I can understand.

Rooms were clean and well kept. Slightly dated, but honestly I don't go to Costa Rica to spend much time in my room.

The staff were great and accommodating. And the breakfast yummy. Will come back!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank niktoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

What an amazing way to start my Costa Rica travels than coming to this serene resort. Friendly staff, beautiful views and rooms, and quiet and pleasant ambiance. A must stay for GLBT travellers - met some great people along the way at this resort. The poolside view of the island is spectacular and breathtaking - and they have some amazing pina coladas for happy hour! Will come back again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleese78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

My partner and I just stayed 6 days and loved the experience. The view is amazing, proximity for walking restaurants and bars great, bus to the beach and beautiful Manuel Antonio just a few steps away. Great breakfast too.

I need to rave about how great the staff is and especially Marcos. First, amazingly helpful - we needed a doctor while there and Marcos new how and who to send us to. He was Amazing! Second, he is sooo funny. And last but not least, he is very cute.

We are sure to return again soon. Don't hesitate to book an extended stay too because anything less than 5 nights you will be left wanting more.

Thanks Marcos and staff for a great visit!

Chuck & Woody

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chazuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Our group of 5 stayed here for 10 days and just loved it! We met new friends, went on recommended tours, and relaxed by the gorgeous infinity pool. The staff were more than accommodating and we looked forward to happy hours at the pool at the end of each day.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Tech-Guy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
1 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,637 reviews
0.8 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#9 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#1 of 14 in Quepos
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,456 reviews
2 mi away
Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Roca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Roca

Address: Carretera hacia al Parque Nacional | Street to the National Park, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Quepos
Price Range: £147 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Roca 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eco-friendly resort is gay owned and gay operated. For gays, lesbians and their friends to enjoy. Villa Roca is ideally located between the village of Quepos and the National Park of Manuel Antonio. Offering 24-hour infinity-edge pool and Jacuzzi with breathtaking views to the rain forest and the Pacific Ocean. The National Park, beaches, restaurants, bars and shops are close to the resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Roca Hotel Quepos
Hotel Villa Roca Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing