We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful”
Review of Villas Tranquilas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quepos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villas Tranquilas
Ranked #13 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Quepos
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The first thing guests will discover is Maria. She is every guest's 24/7 concierge who is there to make sure everything is perfect. She is a doll! The villas are roomy and comfortable, and the grounds are gorgeous. The pools are beautiful, as is the deck area. We were treated to a wonderful show, put on by about eight squirrel monkeys, in the trees/foliage about 10-15 yards from our patio.
We had a couple of very minor maintenance issues, which were immediately addressed and solved. When staying at VT, be sure to contact Fernando Chavarria, tour guide, who will lead you on wonderful tours of the mangroves, waterfalls, the state park, and more. He is knowledgeable, personable, and very trustworthy. (506-8828-9615).
All-in-all, we had a fabulous time at VT and in Quepos, and we look forward to a return trip very soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PCfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Villas Tranquilas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed at Villas Tranquilas 4/14-4/20/13. As everyone mentioned, Maria Benevant is an excellent host. She is very knowledgable and extremely helpful. Even though we did not get a chance to see her face to face again after our quick and late check-in. She was always just a phone call away and is always accomodating. We loved the property and the villas. We stayed at Villa 13 and every morning we see the trees moving and knew that monkeys were about so we run out to see them. Ana is a sweet, sweet lady who maintain the units. Roxly, Jesus, and another guard (i'm so sorry I forgot his name) always have a ready smile and a greeting. I can't say enough about the staff they make this property feel like home.

The pool is small but is sufficient as the villas were not crowded when we were there and the water is bath water warm which is so awesome. There is also an outdoor kitchen by the pool which was used by other guests while we were there.

The units are clean with two bedroom and two bathrooms. Most of the things that you need are supplied but make sure to bring/buy paper towels and dish detergents. I wish they had more than two bar stools so it would have made it easier for our family to eat. The airconditioning upstairs would not shut off but since we were so busy we did not have time to inform Maria of this. But once you inform Maria of your need you get it right away.

I highly recommend Villas Tranquilas for a quiet, safe, and comfortable place to stay when visiting the Manuel Antonio area. It's a good base for adventure trips and for seeing wildlife. We actually saw two toucans on the property as well as squirrel monkeys and white-faced capuchin monkeys.

Room Tip: Email Maria before your trip and inform her if you have kids or just interested in viewing wildlife...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank qhunnyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Our trip to Costa Rica was amazing, this was our second adventure in Costa Rica. Additionally, we planned to get married while on our adventure. The staff at Villa Tranquila is the best, Maria was by far the best and most accomidaiting host along with an amazing staff that really made our stay special. We were planning a very simple wedding, which Marie made very special with a great outdoor location on the property, as well as supplying beautiful flowers, and acting as our photographer.
Maria recommended great hiking locations and beaches, additionally we had a beautiful sunset cruise on a private sail boat for just our group of four after the wedding. Fishing was fantastic, Roosterfish up to 60lbs, plus other tasty fish that El Gran Escape prepared for our lunch and dinner.
Thanks to Marie and her staff for making our holiday and wedding flawless.
Pura Vida.............Mucho Gusto!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed here for a week in April 2012 (two couples). The staff was wonderful and very helpful. The AC in our room began leaking on our bed on the second day. We reported it to the staff and they immediately took care of the situation. The accommodations were great! We had a wonderful time and can't wait to be back!

Room Tip: This is modest but clean and the staff was awesome!!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girlybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

What can we say, we're picky and we loved it! My wife cooked 3 days and the kitchen suited us just fine. Its modern, comfortable and clean rooms were an absolute delight especially after getting back in late afternoon or evenings after a long day out. The two bedrooms and full bathrooms were very well maintained and served the family of four very well.

Ultimately, the staff, starting with Maria, the housekeeping ladies, the security guards, gardeners all made us feel like part of their family. Besides Maria, no one really spoke English but they understood. Carlos, one of the security guards, was affable, friendly and tried to find us everytime he saw wildlife whether it was monkeys, toucans or other birds. Even if he was unsuccessful a couple of times, we loved his zeal.

The facilities, grounds were well maintained and the location was extremely convenient (3 kms from Quepos and right down the road from Maxi Pali supermarket). The pool was clean and, although small, not busy at all.

Ultimately, it is all about Maria!!! Concierge extraordinaire, travel advisor, front-desk, and everything else. She handled all our requests - planned and unplanned with amazing ease. She books the tours, car and not to mention the advice on how to navigate Quepos and surrounding areas. She advised us on a day-trip and we realized subsequently that she really understood our needs. The first day, she was literally suffering from dental pain yet she spent literally painstaking hour with us to get us settled and help us plan out our 3 night stay.

The only very very minor complaint is that you should rent a SUV type vehicle if you're going to rent and stay at Villas Tranquilas. We had a small sedan and the approach and entry to the highway gets a bit tricky with low cars.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hempat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed here for 4 days as an alternative to the tourist-trap places right at Manuel Antonio. This condo is much better than advertised. Upstairs are 2 nice sized bedrooms each with their own A/C and a nice 3 piece bathroom. Downstairs is a full kitchen and another 3 piece bathroom. The living room area was nicely sized for our family of 4.

We used the common pool area every day and used the grill a couple times. The resort is well maintained the the staff are VERY friendly and helpful...shout out here to Carlos (love that shoulder pat he does for a greeting) and Maria our concierge was always available when needed. (Maria is good at local advice...like ignore all the parking guys on the way to Manuel Antonio as they all want you to park way before the park entrance!)

It may have been previously difficult to find, but thankfully it is well signed. You need to have a car here as you will feel isolated if you cant come and go as pleased. There is also a major grocery store about 1km down the road.

I would suggest if you are a family of 4 with a car, go here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We spent a gorious week at Villas Tranquilas in March 2013. From the host Maria to the staff working there. We were made to feel totally welcome. It has to be one of the most peaceful spots in Costa Rica if not the world. The unit is very clean and well maintained. It was our first time visiting Costa Rica and Maria was like our personal travel agent. She hooked us up with tour operators and arranged for picking us up and dropping us off for each tour. She made our stay totally relaxing and care free. Highly recomend to anyone looking for a week away from the hectic pace of home.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank okmactac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
1.4 mi away
Serenity Boutique Hotel Quepos
2.9 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,265 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Priss
Hotel Le Priss
#8 of 13 in Quepos
55 reviews
3.2 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,027 reviews
1.8 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Tranquilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Tranquilas

Address: Quepos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Quepos
Price Range: £809 - £1,399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Tranquilas 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical rainforest retreat in Quepos/Manuel Antonio Costa Rica. Four plantation style villas in each building offer two bedroom, two bath contemporary custom accommodations. Every town home sleeps up to six guests with a fully equipped kitchen. We have two pools for our guests and are one of the most affordable rental communities in the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas Tranquilas Hotel Quepos
Villas Tranquilas Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing