We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice getaway!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of GRAN chalet

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
messy kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
messy kitchen
bathroom huge place
shower
shade garden
shade garden
from inside
third side
inside shade garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Josephine...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice getaway! ”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My stay at Pierre's chalet exceeded my expectations. The chalet is very secure while hidden in the rain forest. The kitchen has a coffee maker, blender, refrigerator, stove, and plenty of cooking utensils. The WiFi offered the convenience of using my smartphone to stay in touch with my family. The nights were very peaceful with a symphony of sounds from birds, insects, and howling monkeys. Ceiling fans in the chalet and on the balcony kept the room at perfect temperature. Pierre offered me lots of information on the local beaches, places to eat, and ways to get around town. The local bus and taxi were simple to use when going to and from the chalet.

Date of stay: June 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob T
West Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect host, beautiful house, fantastic experience”
Reviewed 23 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved staying in Pierre's house. The house is gorgeous; spacious, airy and well stocked with everything you need. The wrap-around deck was our favorite part and we spent most of our time there, savoring the breeze. Fans in every room kept air circulating and the house was cool at night, so we slept well. The best part was Pierre, who took care of us with more grace than we have ever had the good fortune to experience with a vacation rental. He checked in every day to see how we were doing, gave us perfect tips for places to go, and was responsive when we needed him, but never intrusive. He has a great heart and a gift for hospitality and was wonderful with our little boy. It was an easy drive to Manuel Antonio and the beaches; very nice to have a peaceful sanctuary a little apart from all the tourist action. We highly recommend Pierre's house!

Date of stay: December 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCastro21...
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed in the Gran Chalet for 9 nights and could not have been happier. The chalet is located in the jungle, we were one with nature and loved it. Whether laying in the hammock or sitting out on the veranda, we were always experiencing the sounds of nature: monkeys, birds, rains, etc. and even had a visit from the monkeys a few times. The chalet is far away from it all but close enough to get to everything- restaurants, stores, beaches, day trips- all just a bus or cab ride away. We had a car for half of our trip and Pierre made wonderful day trip recommendations. This place is in the perfect location and Pierre was the most gracious host. We can't wait to return!

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location and the host.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunderche...
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Simple lodging, good value”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Gran Chalet North for nearly a month. Pierre's knowledge of the area is an invaluable resource; he directed us to places (beaches, restaurants, farmers' markets) that are only known to locals, and as a result, our stay was greatly enriched.

Be prepared to bring your own provisions--not only food, but also dishwashing liquid, shampoo, soap, and laundry detergent. Plenty of places in nearby Quepos will have what you need.

The Gran Chalet has one bed (in the US, it would be called "full" or "double") and two daybeds with wood frames on three sides. Each daybed would probably accommodate a child, or an adult if the mattresses were placed on the floor. The accommodations would be ideal for two young backpackers who are planning to stay a few days to a week. The Chalet is not within easy walking distance of the town of Quepos--a bus runs on the main road that is accessible from the Chalet via a steep approximately 100-meter walk--so if you are planning to stay longer than a few days, you will probably want a car, and will need to make arrangements to have your laundry done.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle...
Sainte Anne de Beaupre, Canada
1 review
“Very private, close to Quepos, good host”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Staying at Pierre's Gran chalet was very pleasant. It has a beautiful terrace where we spent most of our time. Pierre was a good host, I would recommend this place to everyone.

Date of stay: May 2015
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iris M
Ortonville, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and heavenly retreat”
Reviewed 22 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at the gran chalet which is beautifully appointed with a spacious wrap around patio. If beauty and peace is your thing, then this is the place for you. The chalet is all wood and tile with comfortable chairs and a hammock too. I stayed alone for a week and was happy as a clam. Very close to Quepos and all the restaurants en route to Manuel Antonio, not to mention the park and beaches. Pierre is a generous and friendly host and he has these three lovely dogs.....

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beauty and quiet
Liked least: Weather was hot
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
181ra
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
“Wow! Incredible host and great place!”
Reviewed 12 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

To many things to list that made us happy. 3rd time in Costa Rica, I would say that it is a quality-price perfect place for us. 1 large and 2 small quiet cottages, in the forest, in a gated cumunity. 4km east of Quepos, just far enough from the action. 5-6$ taxi ride. Easy acces to main road. D'ont need a car if you can speak a little spanish. All kinds of transport are available. And our Host, Pierre, original from Québec, is so devoted! He realy want's you to be confortable living in Quepos.
Sleep good, eat good (you have got to go to the local market on Friday), good water, live music here and there. The best beaches are not in Quepos because of the marina. Take the bus and go south to Manuel Antonio. We hade fun and did not want to leave. We will definitely come back in Quepos!

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being in the tropical forest, out of town
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.