We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much to do, so little time.”
Review of Pueblo Real

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pueblo Real
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So much to do, so little time.”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

First of all, one week was not enough time to spend in Costa Rica. Pueblo Real is a lovely little place to use as a home base for lots of fun and adventure. The staff schedules daily tours and are very helpful setting up what ever activity in which you are interested.
Flying in late evening, it was a great idea to stay over at the Holiday Inn Express and take the arranged shuttle service. We enjoyed the ride to Pueblo Real with our friendly driver pointing out sights and stopping to see the crocodiles. However, not arriving until after 2:00, meant that we had spent our first two days of vacation traveling to our destination, leaving only 5 days to explore Costa Rica before we would be heading back to the San Jose airport to return home.
Zip-lining, Manuel Antonio Park, swimming in the Pacific Ocean, deep sea fishing, a day in Quepos, daily dips in the resort pool, eating out and cooking in, meeting lovely people, both tourists and staff, all were lots of fun.
The only inconvenience was the frequency the water was not available in our condo unit. Several days the only option for an afternoon shower was to take an outside shower by the pool. Apparently the pool is supplied by a well and not the municipal water.
The units are lovely and the daily maid service was nice. The staff at the desk was very personable. We thought Roger was exceptionally helpful, friendly, and knowledgable. We took taxis wherever we wanted to go. We certainly would have rented a car if we were staying longer.
The weather was fantastic and each day was another day in paradise!

Room Tip: The two bedroom-two bathroom was nice even for just one couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueandDenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    73
    27
    6
    6
See reviews for
71
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lindsay, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We spent a relaxing week at Pueblo Real. The atmosphere, including the natural surroundings, beautiful outdoor pool and well-appointed units, was soothing and just what we needed to escape the wicked winter weather at home. The staff was excellent, offering service and advice readily. Our concierge, Robert, was also a very knowledgeable guide for our excursion to Manuel Antonio Park, organized by GEO staff person, Elisabeth. The site is a km. off the main highway on a rutted dirt road, so we never walked out to the local bus, but hired a taxi instead to take us to Quepos, under a 10 minute drive and quite reasonably priced. The weather and our riding excursion on the beach at dusk were the highlights of the trip.
The only negatives, and the reason for not rating this property as "excellent" were small infrastructure issues that should/could be easily resolved: no cable TV the first day and night, refrigerator could not keep milk cold enough, inline water heater leaked at 3:00 a.m. (was repaired the next morning but night staff spoke no English) and many rental DVD's were scratched.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Pueblo Real is a small resort with two bedroom condos, great pool, lovely grounds. It is off the main track and is a wonderful place to stay if you want a hideaway to go home to each night. It is within short driving distance to beautiful beaches, parks, the quaint town of Quepos, and all of the restaurants, shopping etc. around Manual Antonio. Highly recommend if you want a nice quiet spot to unwind. Staff are courteous and very helpful, there are some fantastic tours to Manuel Antonio Park, Mangrove Monkey Tour, Ziplining in the Rainforest, and an awesome deep sea fishing experience with "True Grit".

Recommend having a car to get around quickly - there's a "Maxi Pali" grocery store (kind of like a mini Walmart) just down the road, a bank with instant teller and another instant teller both in Quepos, great restaurants all within about 20 minutes of the resort. This resort is not on the beach, but there are so many to explore that it doesn't matter.

The resort is very reasonable, particularly for a two bedroom condo. I recommend staying on the ground floor as then access to the pool is right outside, but I know others like the view from the second - both are great. Each morning a lady from a nearby restaurant offers breakfast options in the gazebo on the resort as well if you don't want to cook. Both the omelette and the french toast are recommended!

I give this resort an Excellent rating. It's not five star and doesn't have all the splashy amenities of the big resorts. It's just a nice quiet hideaway very close to all the action in the area. There are a number of long term residents there as well, who are there for months at a time - it is less of a "party" spot and more of a "home" atmosphere.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool - some closer than others as it is a long two storey building. We were in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CalgarySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We were two adult males over 50 in Quepos specifically for fishing. We had originally tried to get separate hotel rooms in Quepos thinking we would not need a car that way - just walk or taxi down to the marina and out to eat locally. Quepos is very small town. There were none available for our dates offering two rooms. We also looked into Manuel Antonio hotels, which were a tad pricey for a couple of fishing guys and just as far away from the marina and downtown as this little jewel. Pueblo Real is a bit out of town and remote by most standards, but ultimately we liked that. We got a car - you need one if you stay here, or anywhere nearby, and plan to make any exploring treks in the area or to make several trips into town (less than 15 minutes) or to Manuel Antonio (not very far either with a car) - although the staff can summon you taxis. There are buses that come down the main road if you're inclined to walk to the bus stop. And we saw some tour buses at the property, so perhaps they pick up there as well. We didn't do any.
This place fit our needs just fine. We stayed in #215, an end unit, owned by Francis Dobinski. We booked through her directly and found her to be accommodating and helpful. She is knowledgeable about the area and stays here when she is in CR. Everything she told us prior to arriving was accurate, no misleading hyperbole. Here's what else we liked:

1. Quite in the evenings and in the daytime for that matter. Tropical, relaxing setting.
2. Air conditioned rooms - we had two bedrooms each with its own bath. Very clean rooms - maid service each day. TVs with limited cable, HBO, Fox, ABC, NBC, CBS and others in all rooms. If you understand Spanish there are a bunch of additional channels. Like a furnished apartment with maids.
3. Kitchen spacious with basic cooking/utensils allowed us to cook up some eggs and toast for breakfast. There is a breakfast onsite, but it doesn't open until 7:30 and we were on the water by then.
4. Restaurant across the street (Cayuga) is excellent. The lady running it prepared the fish we caught for our dinner and it was very good. Decor? This is Quepos, CR.
5. The pool was very nice. Clean and large enough, with cabanas and a swim up bar.
6. The staff members we encountered were courteous, attentive and helpful. They have a person on duty in the lobby all night.
7. And the price was less expensive than the hotels by far, which worked for us.

We would recommend this property and Frances in particular, if one is heading to Quepos/Manuel Antonio general area. Of course, our experience was based only on our unit, but others seemed comparable and are all managed by the same company. And the fishing out of Quepos was great!

Happy Travels

Room Tip: The UPPER units are quietest and the back door leads to a patio deck with a pleasing tropical view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed at Pueblo Real for nearly two weeks in early February. Overall, we had a very nice experience. I've stayed at nicer timeshares, but they also were in more developed countries or in more touristy areas. I would have no problem recommending this complex to others. You will need a car if you plan to travel yourself into Quepos or Manuel Antonio, since taxis can get pricey, and it's a long walk to the main road if you plan to use mass transit. However, if you only plan to lounge by the pool and take tours that pick you up at the complex, you may be able to get by without one. That would severely limit your restaurant choices, however.

On the plus side: The complex is kept up pretty well. There were repairs going on quite a bit. One day our A/C went out (compressor or something), and the resident handyman couldn't fix it. They had an HVAC repairman out much faster than I ever expected. Problem solved! Most of the front desk people were helpful and friendly. They gave good restaurant recommendations and even made reservations for us. Wireless Internet is available for just $15/week. That was well worth it, even though it was slower than I'm used to. The pool was cleaned every day. The lady who runs the swim-up bar is very friendly and makes good drinks. She also paints and sells CR-inspired t-shirts and canvas that are reasonably priced. Great having the ability to rent a water cooler (like those seen in an office) that would chill the water. It was only $8 for each large container. Well worth it.

On the negative side: We arrived after dark, unfortunately, since the directions given to us by our timeshare company were not very good. Fortunately, the main sign to the complex is lighted. The complex is about a mile off the main road, down a rocky and dusty dirt road. Shower water pressure was very low, and the temperature was never consistent. I didn't expect it to be, given where we were. Just be prepared. They need to invest in more pool furniture. There never seemed to be enough lounge chairs, and several of the ones we used were about worn out. When the complex manager (Elizabeth) gave her Monday morning orientation, although she was humorous, she also didn't paint a good picture of Costa Ricans, by saying things like, "We're not as nice as people hear," and "People break into cars to steal things for drug money." We found everyone we encountered during our trip to be extremely friendly and helpful, and we had no problems with crime. One thing that was weird was what could be charged to your room and what couldn't. For example, things that could be accounted for (e.g., water cooler and bottled water) COULD be charged to the room. Wireless Internet (can't be accounted for) could only be paid in cash. Made us wonder if all that money went where it was supposed to.

All-in-all it was a good place to stay, and I would consider staying there again if I ever return to the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gallread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prealcr, Manager at Pueblo Real, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hello, thank you for taking the time to write this review and share about your travel experiences. It was a pleasure to have you here and help you enjoy Costa Rica. It is our goal to provide the best service possible. We apologize again for the problem with the AC in your unit and the lack of water pressure, but some things are out of our control. The problem with the water is due to the rapid development of the area and the water company's inability to function satisfactory on all levels with higher demands. Thank you for understanding. I would like to clarify a few points mentioned in your review for both your and future guests comprehension of the matters at hand. First, the remarks made by Elizabeth in the orientation meeting were not meant to give a negative impression of Costa Ricans, but rather to provide a realistic reminder that not everyone in Costa Rica (or any other country) should be trusted blindly even though we Costa Ricans are generally very friendly.
Secondly, all of the extra services guests may opt in for during the week can be added to a tab, but must be paid for using cash at the end of the week due to the fact that our site is not only a time share property, but also works as a hotel and is billed separately. This includes wifi, the water coolers, drinks, etc. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We spent 4 weeks at this wonderful, beautiful location. The staff were very friendly, Michael, Oscar, Elizabeth, Roger, and Jorge. The pool was the cleanest ever, Spacious, 2 bedroom, 2 bath units, with a kitchen too. They helped us book many amazing adventures, monkey tour, white river rafting, horseback riding, ziplines, and more,Manuel Antonio park is close by. Quespos is a fun, friendly town. Costa Rica is a green,friendly, country. I would go back AGAIN!

Room Tip: The 2nd floor has wonderful balconies. No elevators,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
5 Thank Nan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

A surprising find after entering on a not so well kept dirt road. The resort is not great to look at from the front but from the patios and balcony's face a beautiful landscape of trees and jungle. The pool area is great and very relaxing. Take bug spray if you are out after dark. The rooms are clean and pretty well maintained with the basic cooking and eating supplies stocked in the kitchen. The interior is roomy and comfortable with great A/C and fans. We were on the second floor and would request that again when we return, which we will. I have read the other reviews and, for the most part, concur with them. We had rented a car in San Jose and drove to Quepos and while that was not bad I think we would take the shuttle plane next time and not rent a car except for a day or so. The staff can arrange all of the tours such as the zip line (which was awesome), the national park, monkey tour etc.. The greatest use of the rental car was back and forth to the Maxi Pali market. We had great luck fishing offshore so we cooked in for many of our meals. We even used the outdoor grills to cook out for many of the other guests one evening. The restaurant down the road, Cayugas, was wonderful and close. Anna and her husband were wonderful and the food was great. It is interesting that the water often went out in the afternoon and we were told that "they" were working on the lines but after reading this in other reviews, I am not sure it is not a cost saving issue although it really was a minor problem. The beds and linens need to updated but not terrible as is. The staff is very helpful and working with Elizabeth was great. Despite the minor issues described, we plan to return next year. The fishing there is exceptional.

Room Tip: We liked the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
4.6 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
3.3 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
432 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
La Sirena Hotel
La Sirena Hotel
#2 of 13 in Quepos
299 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#1 of 13 in Quepos
387 reviews
5.9 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Real

Property: Pueblo Real
Address: Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Pueblo Real 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Pueblo Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Real Hotel Quepos
Pueblo Real Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing