We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holidays!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nacientes Palmichal
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing holidays!”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed there for one week and we had an unforgetable time in Nacientes Palmichal! The resort is locaded in a beautiful nature with a wonderful view. The stuff war very polite, friendly and warmly and we felt very welcome. The accommodation was very clean and nicely decorated. The price was justified. We made a trip to an coffee plantation and saw a lot of a amazing things.The couple who offered the trip was very funny and friendly.This was just one of our trip we did, but we can recommend all of the trips the resort offers!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anna_und_paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
4
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Staying here for over a week was a wonderful experience. The people made the place come alive, the weather and the beautiful landscape made it a relaxing and enjoyable time here. Touring the grounds brought a wonderful feeling of being at one with the place. Taking a hike up the mountain introduced us to beautiful butterflies and even better scenery. The food here was amazing, home made tortilla and home made food kept making go back for seconds. You cannot go wrong with the rooms, they have a beautifully painted murals on the wall. Overall this trip was definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Any room you choose is great and has a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheriff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We took our honeymoon trip to Costa Rica (we're from New York), and stayed for 3 days at your wonderful lodge! We had a wonderful time, with very comfortable accommodations and great home-cooked food, but more than that, we really appreciated the warmth and kindness that you showed us!

It was wonderful hearing about the history of your lodge, and all the environmental education you do. Meeting Don Manuel and touring his family coffee far was definitely a highlight of the trip, complete with a little tortilla, guitar and stories!

Not only was it a wonderful place to stay, but Hernan also helped us plan the rest of our trip, as we headed off to another ACTUAR lodge!

Here's a photo with us (in the middle) and two wonderful staff (Hernan on the left)! Thanks again for a great time, and we've already recommended you to several friends!

Mayowa and Nate

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 294Nate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unity, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Although we only visited for a day. Our group toured the coffee farms and had a snack of fresh made tortillas and coffee with a local family, and a traditional meal in a "cocina tipica." We learned a lot about the local culture and about the Costa Rican tradition of coffee. Yum! This opportunity was truly one of a lifetime. That being said, part of what made the trip so awesome was the culture- including the native language of Spanish. Very few people spoke English, but if one paid close attention it was easy to comprehend the discussion.

I can't wait to get back to Costa Rica and to travel to more of ACTUAR's sites!

Room Tip: Ask a local
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tway09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unity, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

wow this place is amazing! Let me just start out that the place is very very clean and has beautiful landscaping. The rooms are amazing and each room has its own personality and you cant go wrong with any of the rooms there. Then you have the food, and if I wasnt so full from the first round I could have eaten another whole helping. I could not eat the home cooked food fast enough it was so great! Then the best part about the whole place is the people there! They are so welcoming and generous. They are willing to do anything for you and will go out of their way to make sure you are comfotable. This is by far my most favorite hotel I have ever stayed at and I have been all over the world in many different places.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmb66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2008

Nacientes Palmichal is a community endeavour, part of the non-profit ACTUAR group of lodgings and day tours launched to promote tourism among villagers needing income etc. It is about 90 minutes from San Jose airport, but get a 4x4 and rent a GPS with your car and it will get you there. It is in the hills south of San Jose, lovely site along a roaring little river. Accommodation is basic - bunk beds, double bed, bathroom in the rooms, huge dining hall and even a classroom for groups. There is little if any English spoken, and it is away from any stores or commerce, so I would recommend this for people who know Spanish, or who want a non-tourist experience.

Food was local and good, no alcohol, so bring your own. There are 8 rooms, but only two were occupied when we were there. This place would be especially good for a school group. Not much to do there.

  • Liked — Different experience than usual tourist spot
  • Disliked — Hardly any English spoken
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ncressy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Province of San Jose hotels
8.8 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#13 of 76 in San Jose
1,296 reviews
8.4 mi away
Establo San Rafael B&B
Establo San Rafael B&B
#1 of 3 in Santiago de Puriscal
30 reviews
25.9 mi away
Mirador de Quetzales
Mirador de Quetzales
#79 of 168 in Province of San Jose
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.7 mi away
Natuga EcoLodge-Villas and Natural Reserve
32.2 mi away
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve &...
#2 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
744 reviews
56.2 mi away
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nacientes Palmichal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nacientes Palmichal

Property: Nacientes Palmichal
Address: Adessaru | Palmichal de Acosta, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 168 Speciality Lodging in Province of San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Nacientes Palmichal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nacientes Palmichal Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing