We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quick Trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn San Jose Escazu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
68 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A Quick Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Into San Jose for the just one night and a little business the next day.....the staff was friendly......the room just right....a stroll along the "Avenida" and dinner at one of the many excellent restaurants there.......breakfast was perfect.......and on my way....thanks for making the trip easy and fun!

Tulemar Dave

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TulemarDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear TulermarDave,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your one night experience with us. It means a lot to us to know that we could make of your stay a memorable one and met your expectations making this trip and easy and fun one.
We look forward to having you back at the Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    99
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
121
87
26
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is my third extended stay (2-3 months) at this hotel in the past two years. The hotel staff are very friendly and professional. The rooms are always clean and lovely. The same day dry cleaning service and grocery shopping service are wonderful. The staff has always accommodated my requests, including a to go box for the free breakfast buffet every morning. The free dinner buffets twice a week are also a pleasant convenience after returning from a long day at work. The staff work hard to make the hotel a relaxing home away from home, which is why I've returned to this hotel for 3 extended stays as well as 2 one-week trips.

As a female traveling by myself, one of the most important things to me is the hotel's security, which is top notch. The lobby doors are locked at night requiring a room key to gain access or you have to be buzzed in by the front desk. There is a minimum of one parking attendant in the lot at all times, they log the guests' license plates, and are very observant to know who belongs in the parking lot and who doesn't.

The area around the hotel is great. There is so much to do within walking distance, including great restaurants, shopping, the IMAX movie theater, and a sports bar to watch the games. One of the best hospitals in Costa Rica, CIMA, is just two blocks from the hotel and there is direct line of sight from the windows at the elevator to the hospital pharmacy and emergency room.

There is construction going on in the block in front of the hotel to put in another shopping center with more restaurants and things to do. The construction crews only make noise during business hours and are very conscientious about keeping the sidewalk at the construction entrance clean and clear for people to walk. I've only heard the construction noise outside, not in my room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_D_4003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Ann_D_4003,
We could not ask for a better ambassador to describe our hotel, the amenities and service we provide and to also share the experiences lived at the hotel during your stays for the past 2 years. We really appreciate you taking the time to write about your experiences and for your loyalty in Marriott and the Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu. We are delighted to learn how much you like the hotel and feel safe and secure here which for us is very important.
We look forward to having you back soon in your home away from home in Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorewood, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

My wife and I recently spent 5 nights in this hotel on a Marriott hotel reward(Freebie). The hotel was located in the upscale neighborhood of Escazu and was convenient to highways leading to San Jose, the airport and all the sights around the area. The rooms with full kitchen and separate bedroom (Residence Inns are designed for long stays with all the creature comforts including free laundry facilities.) was quite comfortable. The free breakfast offered many choices and was well run as were the evening "social events" where more food was available. While I wouldn't recommend 5 nights be devoted to this area, I highly recommend the hotel. To those who have not been to Costa Rica, be ready to enjoy the friendliest most helpful hotel staff you may ever experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Bruce O,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and for your loyalty to Marriott. We are happy that because of your loyalty to Marriott you enjoyed a great Rewards stay at our property. The Residence Inn by Marriott brand offers great room accommodation and amenities including Breakfast, Social Evening Hours, laundry facilities among others. The staff is delighted that you mentioned how friendly and helpful they all are. We pride ourselves in our service and ensuring that our customers are truly satisfied. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night before heading to La Fortuna in the morning. Checked in late without issue. Very well located and close to shops and cafes. Room and bathroom all very clean and comfy. About 20 mins from SJO airport, expect to pay about USD$30 (15,000 CR).

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Erica_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Erica_81,

We hope that you enjoyed your trip to La Fortuna. Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to review our property. Hope to see you again soon in San Jose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Not impressed. Really lacking in the details and cohesion for such a large brand hotel at such an exclusive San José valley address as Avenida Escazú.

Such a shame. It really had potential. We stayed for 2 nights over Valentine's Day weekend for a work event being held in Avenida Escazú.

More parking spaces needed:

There was no parking available at the hotel and the attendent (who was super nice!) asked that we park in the parking garage of Avenida Escazú. Why did the hotel not design more than 25 or so parking spaces?? Such poor planning.

No King sized beds:

--There are no King sized beds in this hotel. I asked at reception. That's so surprising. Why? Isn't that one of the perks of going to a hotel? Having a big, comfy bed that's an upgrade to your home one? They should offer king beds in some of the rooms.

Firm, uncomfortable mattresses (not pillow-top):

Our queen sized bed mattress was really cheap feeling- hard and not luxurious or comfortable for our 2 night stay. When I asked reception if there was another room category that offered a different mattress or king sized bed she said there wasn't. Would I like more pillows? More pillows doesn't make up for a lousy investment in non pillow top comfortable hotel beds. Such a disappointment.

Breakfast buffet area lame especially omelette station:

I have never been to a more mediocre breakfast buffet with the lamest looking "omelette station" for a big hotel. Only 2 little 8" frying pans and of course, everyone wants hot eggs. The poor, inexperienced guy was scribbling down orders on a messy sheet of paper and both mornings our eggs took over 15mins to be ready. I've never had such a lame egg experience and this is a big brand hotel with resources. Where was the management? Where was the training or having proper equipment to prepare guest's egg requests? This was not a small B&B and should have the proper tools to service guests in the morning. The breakfast buffet area looks like an afterthought, un-designed, small boring room.

The pool area was super lame. A trellis with seating with no plants. Why have a trellis then if it doesn't have shade? The pool is very petite for should a large hotel structure and there's a little dinky palm plant in one corner. It's like the pool area was an after thought with no real design plan. We were really surprised. And, it overlooks the paring lot and behind the scenes area.


I suggest that the lobby should have some pitchers of water or a bubbler for guests to get some water for free. That would be a nice and welcoming touch for travelers. The magazines and lounge spaces are nice.

The reception desk staff was nice, polite with "standard answers" to questions but no finesse or real wow. Needs more training and incentives. When we checked out, they should say "thank you for staying with us" or "how was your stay" or "have a nice day, we hope that you stay with us again soon" Something that makes us feel like they care or have been trained in customer service. Instead, there was no even thank you.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel until they redo the breakfast area, add more comfortable mattresses, add some life to the pool area and train their staff to a level of excellence that their guests can feel the moment they walk in. A Marriott experience is needed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katma_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Katma_12,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.
Your input and the feedback from all of our guests are vitally important to us. It is only through the feedback of our valuable guests that we are able to maintain and improve upon the service that we provide.
I am certainly disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves in our service and all the amenities that the hotel has to offer as well as on the incredible comments we receive which took us to be part of a selected group of hotels that received this year the Travelers Choice Award in Tripadvisor. Your experience falls below our standards and I can assure you that this is not the way we deliver here at the hotel. My most sincere apologies that we could not meet your expectations.
The Residence Inn San Jose Escazu is one of the many Marriott brands and it is part of the Select Service brands which targets to the Extended Stay guests. As part of Avenida Escazu, the parking lot spaces inside the condominium are part of the spaces available for our guests. We do have spaces inside and outside the hotel. I am sorry that this was not properly explained to you. We have addressed this to the team so this type of miscommunication does not occur again.
Per your comments, we have ensure that the Cook in the Omelette station have better tools to take the orders. We are also looking into your suggestion about the water in the lobby for improving our arrival experience. Please allow me to inform you that the pool ambiance is one of the projects this first semester. I really appreciate your comments that as I said before it is only thought the feedback of our customers that we continue to improve.
We hope that you can give us the opportunity to stay with us again in the future. You can contact me personally at Claudia.sanchez@marriott.com so we can go above and beyond your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilito, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I will often stay at the Residence Inn when I have to visit San Jose, it's location is perfect if you want to walk to dinner somewhere in Avenida Escazu and walk to see a movie at the IMAX movie theatre in the same area. It's also convenient that they have full size fridges and a mini kitchen in the room. My only complaint is they only offer Queen sized beds with no option for a king size. It's also a little on the pricey side compared to the other options in Escazu.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Shaun C,
Thank you so much for your loyalty to our hotel and for taking the time to review our property. It is nice that you enjoy the location and the spacious rooms. We hope that in the future we can offer you the king bed you prefer to have. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmaurs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We arrived at 23:00h on Sunday. The hotel was pretty new, quiet and very clean. Lots of good restaurants and shops around. We had a good sleep night. Next day Monday breakfast at 8:30h. Healthy local food and good variety. We went to work happily and spent the day working. Only stayed 2 nights so we had to flight to another country for business. Shame we couldn't enjoy the hotel for a couple of more nights. Will come back if we have the chance.
Maria

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Maria G,
We really appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience. We are happy to learn that you had two happy days at work thanks to the experience you had at the hotel. We hope that your travels take you back to San Jose and that we can have the honor to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
0.4 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
1.7 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 15 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
2.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Jose Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Jose Escazu

Property: Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
Address: Ave. Escazu Complex, Prospero Fernandez Hwy, Escazu 1250, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Escazu
#2 Family Hotel in Escazu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn San Jose Escazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comforts of a extended-stay at the Residence Inn San Jose Escazu. Surrounded by activity in San Jose, Costa Rica, your after work hours will become leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Residence Inn San Jose Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu Hotel Escazu
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing