We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful gift items, Interesting garden & Shop tour”
Review of Biesanz Woodworks

Biesanz Woodworks
Ranked #2 of 7 Shopping in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come see our world famous woodwork made; tour our beautiful botanical garden and pond; buy a memorable souvenir in our art gallery.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful gift items, Interesting garden & Shop tour”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

If you're wondering what nice gift item you can bring back from your trip to Costa Rica, be sure to visit Biesanz Woodworks in Escazu while you are in the San Jose area. The shop features beautiful bowls, boxes and other items that are both useful and works of art. The wood colors, wood grains, and the finishes are beautiful! These gifts will be treasured for a lifetime. I've visited several times and have bought unique personal gifts, most recently jewelry boxes for bridesmaid gifts. The tour of the shop is interesting and the staff is friendly & helpful. If you're lucky, Mr. Biesanz may be onsite and give you a tour of the beautiful garden out back. Besides being an artisan, he is extremely knowledgeable about tropical and medicinal plants.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    2
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful works of art!”
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

Visited the gallery when in Costa Rica, got a great tour of the grounds, the wood shop, and the garden. Fascinating art work, amazing process! Defiantly go when your in Costa Rica, especially if your looking for an amazing one of a kind piece of art to remember your trip!

Helpful?
2 Thank Ranhar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biesanz_Woodworks, Owner at Biesanz Woodworks, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you very much from all of us at the Woodworks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Fabulous Personal Tour”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

My father and I visited Biesanz just after Christmas 2012, we rocked up not knowing if the studio was open which thankfully it was but were then informed that unfortunately the workshop was not open and "that Barry had just left". We said it was a shame as my father did a lot of his pattern making work in wood many years ago and with that the studio manager said, no problem Barry only lives 10 mins away and called him and we subsequently had the most wonderful personal tour of the garden and workshop; it was, without doubt, one of the highlights of our holiday for my father.

Barry's craftsmanship and detail is incredible and I would thoroughly recommend a visit to this fabulous venue. A true artist dedicated to his passion in everyway.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Crw1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“High end quality work”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

If you are looking for quality and beauty, this is the place to go. You will love the artistry and craftsmanship of the pieces as well as the workshop and the surrounding gardens. Spend some time conversing with Barry, Sarah and their staff - they are special people. Highly recommended for a all around lovely experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CasaAbierta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciudad Colon, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super rainy afternoon trip!”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Super sunny morning trip, too! We've visited Barry's shop and gardens several times over the past years, often with out-of-town guests. It's also our go-to place for classy and very personal gifts for grand occasions. We make daily use in our home of beautiful chopsticks and bowls from the shop, and a kendo sword made by Barry hangs on the wall of our son's home in Switzerland. Barry and Sarah and their staff are always friendly and helpful, and we especially love the gardens. The ducks are a draw for visiting children as well. This is not your usual tacky tourist stop. It was the highlight of their stay in Costa Rica for many of our own friends and family.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Saramandaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Biesanz Woodworks also viewed

Escazu, San Jose Metro
 
Escazu, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Biesanz Woodworks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing