We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite restaurant in Costa Rica”

Restaurante Plaza Espana
Ranked #11 of 181 Restaurants in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$40
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Restaurant with authentic Spanish cuisine, tapas and entrees, a wide selection of Spanish wines and, terrace overlooking the valley and tapas-bar very affordable prices and exclusive audience.
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Excellent food, excellent service! Must try the paella, sangria, "noodle" paella (it's really good), and the desserts.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 807angelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dnavasdiaz, Propietario at Restaurante Plaza Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear customer, thanks for taking the time to express your experience at our restaurant, we were greatly pleased to know that our Paella, Fidégua (noodle paella), sangria and desserts are to your liking and hope to see you around here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2012

Although the place is cozy the food that took hours to come was not as good as mentioned in other reviews. We just had tapas and the only ones worth to be mentioned is the Gazpacho and the potato tortilla. Everything else was untasty, plenty of mayonnaise and the quality of the product was not good (the calamari).

Definitely not worth the drive up the mountain

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SBV7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel N, Propietario at Restaurante Plaza Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Thank you for your comments
We are sorry that you did not enjoy the food 100% and we apologize that you consider that the quality was not good, since we always do our best to offer the most fresh hi quality ingridients, as well as our heart in the service.
As you can see in all the other commnent the very satisfied costumers we have and new ones.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

My friend and I ate here 5/25/12. The restaurant opens at 6pm. If it was not raining so hard, we would have had a great view of the San Jose valley. This restaurant makes one feel like you are eating in small restaurant in Spain. The sangria is highly recommend and there is a good variety of tapas and entrees available. Both owners are from Spain and food is authentic.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank feldafing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dnavasdiaz, Owner at Restaurante Plaza Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Dear customer, we are glad that your visit greatly in our restaurant has been satisfactory and spend a nice evening in the company of your friends to like and appreciate our sangria and especially recommend it to feel like you are in Spain, because that is our goal, to create a place in which they feel like they were in our beloved Spain.
See you soon around here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This is a place worth to go. The cuisine is a full experience of what i get at Spain. A must go

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jlccr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dnavasdiaz, Owner at Restaurante Plaza Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Dear customer that joy for us to know that our kitchen was to your liking, we are continually doing "Tapas" new hope which come to enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

During a holiday in Costa Rica visited this place together with my family, in the beginning we were not very impressed by the location since it's not the nicest part of Escazu and one wouldn't expect one of the best restaurants in the area ( according to the reviews ) to be there. Nevertheless when you go in, you could see a very old house very well decorated with a nice view to San Jose. The service is good and people are friendly, one feels welcome to be there. After eating in so many places in Europe, I'd say the food is average. Based on the reviews, one would expect a better presentation but the taste was good (very close to what you would get in Spain), if you order a paella, you would expect to get more seafood in it other than two or three gambas. Prices are reasonable which is very positive in a expensive country as Costa Rica. The place has future, they just need to work a bit more on their plates and invest some money in the surroundings.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ctgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dnavasdiaz, Owner at Restaurante Plaza Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thanks for making us your comments about your experience in our restaurant, we greatly appreciate your comments which we discussed in a meeting and we will enhance the decor of the place and surroundings, we've made ​​some improvements and we are also making changes to the presentations of the plates, we're glad you like the taste and we will improve our quality even more so on your next visit we hope you see the improvements discussed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Plaza Espana also viewed

Escazu, San Jose Metro
Escazu, San Jose Metro
 
Escazu, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Restaurante Plaza Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing