We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This hotel stay served it's purpose, however was not close to what I am accustomed to. The staff was friendly for the most part, Sandy was the BEST. The beds are very comfortable and the jacuzzi in my suite was very nice. Upon departure, I did not have the satisfied feeling I normally experience. It is hard to pin point the root cause of these feelings (or lack there of). As a Platinum member with Ambassador status I should have received more. I had to ask for a bottle of water and the front person attempted to debate the issue with me and finally agreed to give me a free bottle after he determined I was a Platinum member. The suite had one note pad and no pens. I have a medical condition and require medication that needs refrigeration. This is normally not an issue because I am usually upgraded to a suite. The room was a suite however did not have a refrigerator. I received the refrigerator upon request, but I am used to the refrigerator being in the suite. Overall, it was not an unpleasant experience, just not the level of service I am used to receiving.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4lizz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your feedback. I want to apologize on behalf of the team for not being able to completely satisfy your stay. As you mentioned you are not use to get those unknown feelings, we are not used to leave our guest with the sensation of being just good, not great.

All of our guests are very important for us, however Platinum members with Ambassador status like you, are our mission.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you in the near future, for you to enjoy our real standard.

Best regards,


Ludwing Diaz
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Staying at the Holiday Escazu is a nice experience. You have English Speaking Staff and they cater to your requests. They even provide you with small stuff/items that you might have forgotten during packing for your trip such a toothpaste, shaver, comb etc.

The food selection is OK. not a lot of variety but the desserts are good.

the location is Good since it is next to a hospital and within shopping complexes with restaurants and cafes

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oszel Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guest:

We really appreciate your stay with us and comments: Thank you. We are also pleased to know that you had a nice experience in our hotel, as that is our promise.

We hope to welcome you again in a future stay.

Best regards,


Ludwing Diaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Don't be fooled by the name Holiday Inn; this venue is not your average business hotel. It is not only totally renewed but it is extremely comfortable. Rooms are all new; delicious beds, spacious desk and resting lounge chair, and a big lighted bathroom that includes Bath & Body Works toiletries.
Also desk offers additional services ( with a fee ) to be charged to your room such as country taxes (you have to purchase them before flying out ) & cabs.
Location is very convenient as well.
Definitely a keeper

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Just_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank yoo so much for your comments. We are excited to know that you found our hotel to be great for business travel. We do also get leisure visitors due to our convenient location and added value.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to a future visit.

Best regards,


Ludwing Diaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 consecutive nights on a tariff with breakfast included. Excellent value especially as it gave just what one might need on a short business trip, free internet in the room, spacious room, varied breakfast and excellent water pressure (a good shower is a must when travelling). It does compare with other hotels in the area in terms of cost too. The staff were very helpful in calling a taxi and the exit tax from Costa Rica was able to be paid in the hotel and added to my bill.. Will be using this hotel next time...

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
Thank APMX25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your comments and preference. We are glad to know that you find our hotel perfect for your business travelling and we look forward to host you again in the future.

Best regards,


Ludwing Diaz Dorante
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This place was great! Very helpful staff, beautiful rooms - 2 queen sized beds, plenty of towels, granite in the bathroom, great TV, and best of all - a wonderful breakfast. Not a bunch of warmed over stuff but fresh fruit, omelets made to order, local Costa Rican cuisine, and great coffee. Very reasonable pricing - similar to many other places I've stayed but this was FAR better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLWING55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for taking the time to express your comments about our hotel. It is a pleasure to know that we are going the right way regarding our services. We hope to have the honor to host you in the near future.

Best regards,


Ludwing Diaz Dorante
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I stayed there for 4 nights and I was impressed by the following things:
- Spacious room and bathroom
- Excellent housekeeping service
- Excellent breakfast for a vegeterian like me
- Extremely courteous and helpful staff
- Near to quite a few restaurants - I did not try restaurant in the hotel

This was a business trip and this hotel ensured that it was comfortable and relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anoopjain72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments. We are very excited to know you had a fantastic stay at our hotel. We hope to host you again in the near future and thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Holiday Inn San Jose Escazú.

Best regards,


Ludwing Diaz Dorante
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed here one night in transit for a scuba diving excursion. Hotel was your standard Holiday Inn, decent rooms, free wifi, etc. The "hard" and "soft" labeled pillows were entertaining. Would have appreciated it if breakfast had been included. There are several restaurants and shops in the plaza where the hotel is located, but we arrived after 9pm and most were closed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bandito912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments. It is very important to know that we do have rates with and without breakfast included available according to the guests needs. Also Plaza Tempo next to us, has 3 of its 8 restaurants opening daily until 11 pm, however they are located right at the bottom part of the complex, we apologize if you did not get the information about it.

We hope you had a great diving trip and hope to have you back soon.

Best regards,


Ludwing Diaz Dorante
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Escazu hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
0.7 mi away
Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
0.9 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 14 in Escazu
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu

Address: Contiguo Hospital Cima, Plaza Tempo | Avenida Prospero Fernandez, Escazu, Escazu, Costa Rica (Formerly Los Laureles)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Escazu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
Price Range: £62 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location The new Holiday Inn San José – Escazú is strategically located in the most upscale business, residential and commercial zone in Escazú, in the Prospero Fernandez Highway, next to Cima Hospital and Plaza Tempo, a multi-purpose development that includes a corporate center and a shopping arcade.Rooms and Suites Holiday Inn San José –Escazú is the first of its kind in the country. It has been designed with the latest in environmentally friendly technology, security, energy efficiency and water savings. It has 160 comfortable rooms, 2 modern suites and 16 rooms specially adapted for the physically challenged meeting ADA requirements. All the rooms offer the following services and benefits:• Free buffet breakfast and 10 Mb symmetrical WiFi. • Free local calls, Safety deposit box for laptop.• Two phones with voice mail. • Spacious desk with ergonomic seat.• Eco-model 37” television and Cable TV with 87 channels.• Luxury Simmons® beds with choice of pillow. • I-Home clock radio. • Iron and board, Coffee maker, Hairdryer and individual AC. • Bath & Body Works amenities.• Full sprinkler system and flame-proof furnishings.• Laundry, parking, gym and business center.Fogo Restaurant A contemporary, refined ambiance with meticulous service will enhance your dining enjoyment in our restaurant, offering international and local specialties and a full breakfast, lunch and dinner service. Acqua Lounge Bar The perfect place to enjoy premium brand liquors, cocktails and marinated snacks. You will love our selection of gourmet coffees and delicious pastries. Meeting and Banquet Rooms: For social or business events, Holiday Inn San José – Escazú offers 8 modern and functional meeting spaces to professionally attend from 5 up to 150 people with high service standards and technology. We look forward to welcoming you to the new Holiday Inn San José – Escazú for a genuinely enjoyable and green stay; you’ll make and feel the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing