We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best hotel in the Escazú area at an affordable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Escazu
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Probably the best hotel in the Escazú area at an affordable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a great place to stay if you go to San José de Costa Rica, especially if you go the Escazu area.
The rooms are clean a spacious, the staff of the hotel are extremely nice and is walking distance from a few nice restaurants. In addition you can also walk to Multi Plaza and Plaza Roble, or you can take the shuttle.
In my opinion is the best hotel in the Escazú area at an affordable price

Room Tip: be an ihg member
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leoncioreyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Escazu and for you nice comments. Our mission is to provide excellent service to our guest, so we are very happy to read and share your opinion. We also hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the future and we wish you all the best.

Kind Regards,

Ludwing Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    132
    35
    10
    9
See reviews for
36
53
23
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I enjoyed my stay here. Great location. Great Conditions. Clean hotel and friendly staff.
Great location. Make sure to go to the Mall which is just a stroll away. And make sure you visit the new modern part of Escazu on the other side of the hospital. Its a total different feel from the entrance to the hotel facing the main road way. Wonderful dining, fabulous restaurants. And a great Starbucks. The only one in the country. One negative but not if you do not mind being over charged for dinning are the dinning spots located on the hotel mall site who cater to the business people in the complex. I really enjoyed my stay at this new and maintained Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 5th floor facing the east and it was wonderful. Beautiful sunrises over the mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for staying at Holiday Inn Escazú and for your wonderful comments. We will share your comments with the team and we hope to have the honor to host you again in the future.

Best regards,

Ludwing Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
315 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here 3 nights on arrival in Cost Rica. The room was nice and clean however the A/C was noisy. In room coffee maker but no refrigerator. Breakfast was excellent, coffee refills a little slow.
Restaurants nearby made our stay comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harmsenom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your comments and for staying to Holiday Inn Escazú. We hope to have the pleasure to host you again in the future.

Best regards,


Ludwing Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Escazu on the last night of our trip before heading home, and it was the perfect place for our last night in Costa Rica.The hotel is brand new, the rooms are spacious, and the location is excellent. And there are tons of shops and restaurants all within walking distance. This is one of my favorite hotels that we stayed in while in Costa Rica.

The only negative is that it took over an hour to check-in. When we finally got to the front desk, the lady checking us in kept talking to other people that would approach her, or answer the phone instead of simply checking us in. Not cool.

Otherwise everything was great, and we would come back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ihearttravelling1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for satying at Holiday Inn Escazu and for your comments. It is very important to know that you liked our hotel. Also we apologize for the time at check in as it is not our standard and your feedback has been taken into account.

We hope to welcome you soon.

Best regards,

Ludwing Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We ended up staying here after we couldn't find a hotel we had reservations for. The staff really tried to help us. One gentlemen lived in the area of where we had reservations for. He drew a map and took time to explain where it was. We found our destination the next day, in part thanks to him. In all of the stress I forgot his name. I hope the mgmt reads this and gives him a raise. He lived in the San Rafael Heredia area, where our reservations were. When we finally found our hotel, it was such a dump we headed to the Holiday Inn near the San Jose airport. I'll be contacting Holiday Inn specifically about our positive experience with their hotels and staff in CR.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taraland45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Escazu. It is a pleasure for us to welcome our guest and our mission is to go the extra mile at every step. We hope you had a great trip to Costa Rica and we would be happy to host you again in the future. You staff comments have been shared with the team.

Best regards,

Ludwing Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wooster, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
220 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

After several years staying at the Marriott Courtyard,looked for a change, it was right across the road - the new Holiday Inn at Plaza Tempo City, Escazu. A bright new property in 2013? 160 or so rooms, outside smallish but satisfactory pool. Excellent Resturant and Bar, casual setting. If you don't want to dine in the hotel Resturant (don't know why you would not want to it's very good) there are several restaurants close by. Very friendly staff, small language issue on check in but minimal issue. Rooms excellent, very nicely setup, bed more than comfortable, water pressure in sink very low should be improved. Did have A/C problem, took two calls to front desk to correct but it was corrected. Was not recognized as a IHG guest on check on but that happens some times, not to bothered by that. Wish I could come to Costa Rica more often on business, this hotel overall make the traveling portion of my job enjoyable.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelP279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for staying at Holiday Inn Escazu and for your comments, which all have been received and actions are taken in the mentioned areas.

It will be a pleasure to host you again and we hope to have that opportunity soon.

Best regards,

Ludwing Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecuador
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Brand new Holiday located in the best area in Escazu. Confortable rooms and great beds. Nice location close to Multiplaza mall and several restaurants.
Very good service.
Defenitly I recommend for business or pleasure and I will come back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JMBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Escazu and for your nice comments. We are very happy to know that you recommend our hotel and we hope to welcome you soon again.

best regards,


Ludwing Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Escazu hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
0.7 mi away
Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 15 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu

Property: Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu
Address: Contiguo Hospital Cima, Plaza Tempo | Avenida Prospero Fernandez, Escazu, Escazu, Costa Rica (Formerly Los Laureles)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
#6 Business Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location The new Holiday Inn San José – Escazú is strategically located in the most upscale business, residential and commercial zone in Escazú, in the Prospero Fernandez Highway, next to Cima Hospital and Plaza Tempo, a multi-purpose development that includes a corporate center and a shopping arcade.Rooms and Suites Holiday Inn San José –Escazú is the first of its kind in the country. It has been designed with the latest in environmentally friendly technology, security, energy efficiency and water savings. It has 160 comfortable rooms, 2 modern suites and 16 rooms specially adapted for the physically challenged meeting ADA requirements. All the rooms offer the following services and benefits:• Free buffet breakfast and 10 Mb symmetrical WiFi. • Free local calls, Safety deposit box for laptop.• Two phones with voice mail. • Spacious desk with ergonomic seat.• Eco-model 37” television and Cable TV with 87 channels.• Luxury Simmons® beds with choice of pillow. • I-Home clock radio. • Iron and board, Coffee maker, Hairdryer and individual AC. • Bath & Body Works amenities.• Full sprinkler system and flame-proof furnishings.• Laundry, parking, gym and business center.Fogo Restaurant A contemporary, refined ambiance with meticulous service will enhance your dining enjoyment in our restaurant, offering international and local specialties and a full breakfast, lunch and dinner service. Acqua Lounge Bar The perfect place to enjoy premium brand liquors, cocktails and marinated snacks. You will love our selection of gourmet coffees and delicious pastries. Meeting and Banquet Rooms: For social or business events, Holiday Inn San José – Escazú offers 8 modern and functional meeting spaces to professionally attend from 5 up to 150 people with high service standards and technology. We look forward to welcoming you to the new Holiday Inn San José – Escazú for a genuinely enjoyable and green stay; you’ll make and feel the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hotel.de, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing