We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Choice for Business Travelers or Families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Guayaquil
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Good Choice for Business Travelers or Families”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The last time I stayed in this hotel was May 2012. The rooms are comfortable and about the same. The lobby has been remodeled and looks much more contemporary.

Nothing really to complain about this hotel, but nothing which is really spectacular either. Everything is OK. The hotel is located next to a shopping center, which has a nice café for having breakfast in the morning. It's cheaper and a little more "Costa Rican" than the hotel.

The hotel isn't really designed for business travelers in mind, but definitely don't discard it as an option if it's convenient for you. Definitely a good choice for families who need to stay over night in San José.

Room Tip: Try to get a room NOT facing the shopping center. It's a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanisinecuador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    226
    56
    11
    7
See reviews for
114
102
63
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is a typical Marriott hotel with al their great amenities but the substantial difference comes up when you interact with their staff: profesional, dedicated, service oriented. EXTRAORDINARY and the best price performance in town

Room Tip: Upper rooms are better due to the lights at the closely shopping center
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hernando T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adolfo_Carit, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel, and most important our service. Please remember our service begins before your arrival, you always can contact us prior your arrival if you have any special request or need any information, also can count on us after your departure.
We are here to serve you and look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My family and I had a wonderful time at the Courtyard Escazu! It's location was perfect in that we had no trouble finding food and tours to go on. What made the experience even better was the impressive congeniality of the hotel staff. The receptionist who we always interacted with, Marco, always had a smile on his face and would make sure personally how we were doing and if we needed anything any time he saw us. I would recommend this to anyone planning a trip to San Jose!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adolfo_Carit, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you very much your kind review. We are very proud of our associates, they represent very well our unique Marriott Spirit to Serve.
I hope you enjoyed your stay in Escazu, and had the opportunity to visit some of the many attractions Costa Rica has to offer and they are located near the hotel.
Hope to see you in your next trip to Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

This was not our first time here.
We come here often when we have any activity in this area so we don't have to drive back home to the east side of San José.
They gave us room 321.
Everything was as we remembered, but the surprise was... The bathroom.
We didn't think it was a "Marriott bathroom"... That's why we took pictures. We couldn't believe it.

Breakfast was good; but we had to wait until they refill twice the gallo pinto and scrambled eggs. When we arrived, there weren't any. Told us to wait. They refilled it and a family of 4 had it all, so they had to refill it again. We had to wait 30 minutes to have breakfast. It was good though.

The service is always great. People are kind and willing to help.
The hotel lobby is well taken care of and the pool is nice.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Iheartsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adolfo_Carit, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing Courtyard Escazu. We apologize you had to wait for your breakfast, however we are glad you enjoyed it.
Please contact us prior your next visit to make your stay more enjoyable even before your arrival, my e-mail is adolfo.carit@marriott.com.

Best Regards,

Adolfo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed at the Marriot Courtyard Escazu for 2 nights on a business trip, I have to say the hotel is at an OK contidion, it seems as if it was refurbished a couple of years ago but it still shows its age. Service was good, but was dissapointed to find that there was no room service although they will leave you a food menu on the room!! I don't know if I'll stay there again, I heard the Holiday Inn a few blocks away is much much better and at a veery similar rate.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandro E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adolfo_Carit, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review. As you mention we do not offer room service, however we do have the pick up option in our restaurant and delivery options from many of the restaurants in Plaza Itzcatzu.
Please keep in mind that we provide many other benefits such Marriott Rewards that continually comes out on top among hotel loyalty programs, with this program you can earn and redeem points at any of 14 distinctive brands and over 3,700 hotels in 70 countries and territories – the largest portfolio of award-winning brands in the industry – with 50+ properties named to the Condé Nast Gold List
Please contact me to provide you with further details: adolfo.carit@marriott.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramar, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Good location, nice breakfast. Staff is very friendly. Rooms are spacious and very clean. A lot of dinner options in the plaza where it is located. Nice small gym as well. Highly recommend to anyone going there on business.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We enjoyed staying at this hotel over Thanksgiving 2013. The breakfast buffet was great and the staff were very friendly. I would highly recommend it! The location was very convenient to San Jose and to the bus stop to head into the city. There were also lots of dinner options in the plaza to chose from.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melody0824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 14 in Escazu
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu
3.6 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Jose Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Jose Escazu

Property: Courtyard San Jose Escazu
Address: Autopista Prospero Fernandez | Carretera Marginal Norte, Plaza Itskatzu, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Escazu
#3 Family Hotel in Escazu
#4 Business Hotel in Escazu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard San Jose Escazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by Plaza Itskatzu, the Courtyard Escazu San Jose Costa Rica Hotel provides guests with a central location with quality accommodations and services that make business and leisure travel easy and relaxing while on a Costa Rica vacation. Spacious guest rooms feature Marriott's new bedding, free high-speed internet access and are tastefully decorated in colonial decor that reflect Costa Rica's distinctive cultural heritage and warm hospitality. This San Jose CR hotel is convenient for business travelers with a location that is near industrial parks, downtown businesses and corporate offices. When your meetings in Costa Rica are done, we are also within minutes of shopping and some of the best restaurants and nightlife in San Jose. If you are here on a relaxing Costa Rican vacation, you may also venture to nearby attractions such as Poas Volcano, rainforests and coffee plantation tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard San Jose Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Marriott San Jose Escazu Hotel Escazu
San Jose Courtyard
Courtyard San Jose Escazu Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing