We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
St. Thomas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

comfortable stay, staff was extremely helpful and very friendly. Free breakfast, free WiFi and great shopping malls in walking distance. Fresh fruit each day and a pleasant staff to wait on you. Very happy I got to pay my exit tax at the hotel. The staff should advertise this option. The bed was a little stiff, but that was my only conflict complaint.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor facing the plaza. It was very quiet and a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adolfo_Carit, Manager at Courtyard San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Isley,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mention fruits are great in Costa Rica, and our breakfast includes a good selection daily.
For your next trip to Costa Rica do not hesitate in contact us prior your arrival, more than a hotel, we want to be your advisor, and provide you with the best information about Costa Rica.
This is my e-mail adolfo.carit@marriott.com

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    226
    56
    11
    7
See reviews for
114
103
63
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Used points to stay here on vacation with my wife. The breakfast is usually free but not if you use points. The staff initially missed us when we sat down for breakfast but I asked for a menu and they worked hard to make up for it. Good food and service.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LMikton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adolfo_Carit, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear LMikton,

thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel, we are happy you enjoy our breakfast, we try to keep a blend of local and international flavor with items such as our traditional Gallo Pinto and our popular omelettes.
Please remember we are here to serve you during your visits to San Jose.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stayed at this place a couple of weeks ago, and the service was excellent overall. Employees were very friendly and willing to help. I will book this hotel for sure on my next trip. Congratulations!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santiago E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adolfo_Carit, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Santiago,

we appreciate your review, thank you very much for your comments about our staff. We hope you had the chance to enjoy the restauarants around the hotel, if not, next time you visit us we will be happy to give you some recommendaions.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed here for a night with my husband and 8 year old son. Very nice hotel, with great amenities, and free wifi. A couple of restaurants and a big Multiplaza mall within walking distance. We had dinner at IL Rosso, Italian restaurant right at the plaza across the street from the hotel. Ha opted for the buffet breakfast at the hotel, very tasty and lots of variety. The distance to the mall is short, max of 10 min walk, but it’s through busy street that has no sidewalk, therefore I would recommend a taxi. The cost of taxi to get to the mall is $2.00. Ask the lady at front desk to call a car. Overall great experience and I would definitely stay here again, especially if flying from/to the local airport.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jolajarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adolfo_Carit, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review. As you mentioned our location is ideal for those who are looking for the best gastronomical experience in Escazu, with many options walking distance or just a $2 taxi ride away. Hope to see you againg soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg Canada
Level 6 Contributor
434 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This hotel is ideally located. It is in a Plaza Itskatzu which has numerous restaurants. Hooters and Outback are in the lot. There is all so a Italian Steak house, Japanese restaurant, a Mexican place and a Shrimp shack.
There are various dental office closes by. It is across the street from a major hospital.
It also walking distance from Multiplex shopping centre which does have more restaurants and various shops.
There is also an Auto Mercedes grocery store in the shopping centre. It has a great selection of alcohol beverage as well as a diversified bakery department.
I feel very safe in the neighbour.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank inthegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona del Mar, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed here on the last night of our vacation, since it was near the airport, and we couldn't have been happier. Clean and comfortable, friendly staff and lots restaurants and shopping nearby. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank generichau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This is a decent hotel and not terribly priced. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Hotel is clean, but is starting to show wear. Breakfast is OK, not a lot of changes over the course of the week (if you're a Marriott Platinum breakfast is not free, you get a 15% discount)

Located next to a strip mall with a variety of great restaurants.

Overall, a good value if you need to stay in San Jose and aren't a Spanish speaker.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaneB588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 14 in Escazu
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu
3.6 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Jose Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Jose Escazu

Property: Courtyard San Jose Escazu
Address: Autopista Prospero Fernandez | Carretera Marginal Norte, Plaza Itskatzu, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Escazu
#3 Family Hotel in Escazu
#4 Business Hotel in Escazu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard San Jose Escazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by Plaza Itskatzu, the Courtyard Escazu San Jose Costa Rica Hotel provides guests with a central location with quality accommodations and services that make business and leisure travel easy and relaxing while on a Costa Rica vacation. Spacious guest rooms feature Marriott's new bedding, free high-speed internet access and are tastefully decorated in colonial decor that reflect Costa Rica's distinctive cultural heritage and warm hospitality. This San Jose CR hotel is convenient for business travelers with a location that is near industrial parks, downtown businesses and corporate offices. When your meetings in Costa Rica are done, we are also within minutes of shopping and some of the best restaurants and nightlife in San Jose. If you are here on a relaxing Costa Rican vacation, you may also venture to nearby attractions such as Poas Volcano, rainforests and coffee plantation tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard San Jose Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Marriott San Jose Escazu Hotel Escazu
San Jose Courtyard
Courtyard San Jose Escazu Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing