We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Customer Service”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed at this Hotel on business. Great location. Moreover, great customer service starting with managment and ending with all I contaced during this trip. Marco and Paola were very helpful with my check-in and check-out at the front desk, as well as ensuring my business needs (internet, room service, etc) were met. I will stay here again. Brian Abbott

Room Tip: Ask for the manager if you encounter any difficulties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    226
    56
    11
    7
See reviews for
114
102
63
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

It is hard to review a hotel where you don't really have negative experiences you want to share, yet nothing gets you to be enthusiastic.
In generally unimpressive San Jose, the Courtyard fits well. Everything is ok, or just ok...
Friendly staff, fine. Reasonable breakfast, fine. Good bed, dull bathroom, not very elegant furniture, plastic trashcans ( 2 colours though :) . In short, everything is ok but lacks in elegance, class, etc.... From the shampoo, to the plastic toilet seat, the just adequate shower, etc...
In short, an ok hotel if you are happy with inelegant living.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJGRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adolfo_Carit, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear guest,
We are glad you did not find anything negative in our property, and we are continuously working on improving your experience.

Best regards,

Adolfo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Very pleasent hotel, big and confortable rooms.

Very nice and polite staff, specially Carlo Mendonza. It was a pleasure to meet you, so nice and gentle person, its very hard to find people like you in a staff of a hotel.

Thank you for all.

Antonio Ferreira

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corto777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adolfo_Carit, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Corto777,

thank you for recognizing the job Carlos does, I want to take the freedom to add he is a great person and he really care about about others, his background is Paramedics, he has in his blood the spirit to serve.

Best regards,

Adolfo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is a very nice Courtyard. Located in Escazu, next to a little shopping center with upscale restaurants and five minutes away from the main Mall in Costa Rica. This area is very nice, but kind of hard to get around if one has not a car or the other option is just cabs. We stay here for a night before our flight. It is actually not that far from the airport (around 15 minutes) but to drive there one has to be very familiar with streets.
The room was actually quite spacious. The gym basic but well equipped and the breakfast generous and with a lot of variety. This is a good value for San Jose. Maybe not the best place for those who want to explore the city but yes a good hotel for those looking relaxation and a good neighborhood to enjoy restaurants and the great nightlife of Escazu.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveladept1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adolfo_Carit, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review. I take this opportunity to mention that at this time we are remodeling the gym to make it a bigger space for better enjoyment of all guests space.

Best Regards from beutiful Costa Rica.

Adolfo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott for two nights before attending a wedding in Costa Rica. The hotel was an oasis in a sea of chain restaurants and strip malls.

SERVICE: The staff were very affable and ensured a smooth stay. Although not the fault of the hotel, the driver at the hotel's official taxi stand charged an exorbitant amount to get me to another location in Escazu without using a meter (US$20), compared to about the US$4 it cost to get back to the hotel with a different cab.

VALUE: Got a great deal on account of a Black Friday sale. Otherwise, the cost would have been comparable to similar hotels in the area.

SLEEP QUALITY: Beds were great and the room temperature was perfect.

CLEANLINESS: The rooms were thoroughly cleaned.

LOCATION: Not much sightseeing to do here, unless the adjacent Hooters counts. Ugh, I'm not proud of that joke. Anyway, if you want to make a harrowing trip by foot to the high-end Multiplaza mall under and across the highway, you will be rewarded by a breathtaking view of a pseudo-waterfall.

ROOMS: Quite typical of the Courtyard brand worldwide.

RESTAURANT: They serve a decent Costa Rican breakfast. You can never have enough plantains!

The staff make the difference at this hotel. That said, unless you have some reason to be in Escazu, it is not the most convenient location to stay at.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adolfo_Carit, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Aaron,

What a great review! Thank you for taking the time and describe the hotel in such detail. As you mention we have an agreement with a transportation company and it is the first option we provide, because most of the drivers are bilingual, they have a liability policy and we know who they are, however if our guests prefer a "red" taxi, we call them too, we are happy to provide with a variety solutions that can fit our guests needs.

Best Regards,

Adolfo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We only stayed for one night, but the service, price, rooms and service were superb. Since we arrive by motorcycle, the security open the gate and received us with a good attitude and let us park in the very best parking!
Everything was in order with our reservations and in minutes we were at our rooms. The week end rate was very affordable for the quality of room we got. The breakfast offered at the hotel, include three or more combinations of meals, different than others hotels that usually offer only a full buffet.
Free wifi and lovely mall, bar, shopping and dinning around. Keep this good service alive!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RICARDO G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adolfo_Carit, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Mr. Guerra,

I am glad you had a wonderful stay at our hotel, all our staff is looking forward to see you back soon. If you want to know more about our promotions for weekends please follow us in Facebook as /courtyardescazu

Best Regards,

Adolfo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Thomas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

comfortable stay, staff was extremely helpful and very friendly. Free breakfast, free WiFi and great shopping malls in walking distance. Fresh fruit each day and a pleasant staff to wait on you. Very happy I got to pay my exit tax at the hotel. The staff should advertise this option. The bed was a little stiff, but that was my only conflict complaint.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor facing the plaza. It was very quiet and a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adolfo_Carit, Manager at Courtyard San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Isley,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mention fruits are great in Costa Rica, and our breakfast includes a good selection daily.
For your next trip to Costa Rica do not hesitate in contact us prior your arrival, more than a hotel, we want to be your advisor, and provide you with the best information about Costa Rica.
This is my e-mail adolfo.carit@marriott.com

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 14 in Escazu
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu
3.6 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Jose Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Jose Escazu

Property: Courtyard San Jose Escazu
Address: Autopista Prospero Fernandez | Carretera Marginal Norte, Plaza Itskatzu, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Escazu
#3 Family Hotel in Escazu
#4 Business Hotel in Escazu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard San Jose Escazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by Plaza Itskatzu, the Courtyard Escazu San Jose Costa Rica Hotel provides guests with a central location with quality accommodations and services that make business and leisure travel easy and relaxing while on a Costa Rica vacation. Spacious guest rooms feature Marriott's new bedding, free high-speed internet access and are tastefully decorated in colonial decor that reflect Costa Rica's distinctive cultural heritage and warm hospitality. This San Jose CR hotel is convenient for business travelers with a location that is near industrial parks, downtown businesses and corporate offices. When your meetings in Costa Rica are done, we are also within minutes of shopping and some of the best restaurants and nightlife in San Jose. If you are here on a relaxing Costa Rican vacation, you may also venture to nearby attractions such as Poas Volcano, rainforests and coffee plantation tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard San Jose Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Marriott San Jose Escazu Hotel Escazu
San Jose Courtyard
Courtyard San Jose Escazu Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing