We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edmonton Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Convenient and Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here during a trip to San Jose from our home in Tamarindo. It is very convenient to the Multiplaza Escazu mall, the Wal Mart, and the many furniture/home accessory/electronics stores in the Escazu area, located just to the north of Ruta 27 (the toll road to the Pacific coast). Front desk staff were exceptionally polite and helpful, and the hotel was clean and in good repair. Our room was fairly spacious and comfortable. However, we were bothered by traffic noise from Ruta 27, as well as some fairly loud customers of a Hooter's restaurant across the parking lot from the front of the hotel. Turning on the AC helped mask the sounds. Suggest asking for a room towards the north end of the hotel and facing east; these would likely be the quietest options. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McDocEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adolfo_Carit, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
How nice that you visited us from Tamarindo, that's a beautiful place. Please send us a note next time your are planing to come to San Jose, and we will be more than happy to assign you a nice room and assure that everyone here recognize you.

You can always contact me at adolfo.carit@marriott.com

Regards,

Adolfo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    214
    55
    11
    7
See reviews for
110
99
59
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was my second stay in the Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu. I stayed from July 21st to July 25th this time. In the first night I arrived at 8 p.m. and ordered a meal from the room service. I was informed it would take 45 minutes and I was ok with that, however, it never came. I waited until 11 p.m. and decided to go to the front desk to ask was going on and I was informed the kitchen team had left and they would not deliver my order. Nobody cared if I was waiting for 3 hours. Just amazing the careless about customers. The rest of the hotel was ok, but this is something you just don't do to customers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmoretto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adolfo_Carit, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review, I am sorry that we did not achieve your expectations about the service we provided during your stay with us, I have shared your comments with the team and I am happy to say that we are already working on the necessary improvements in order to provide the service you and all our customers deserve.
Please receive our apology for this issue.
Please send me an e-mail prior your next visit and I will take good care of you. adolfo.carit@marriott.com

Best regards,

Adolfo

Adolfo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Unbelievable, but after my complaint, and photographs taken of the moldy shower, torn seating, smelly refrigerator, broken cabinetry, and terribly noisy wind whistling thru the balconies the manager was polite but did nothing. Said they were trying to take care of issues, but charged me over $200 for an old suite NOT TO MARRIOTT standards, and said they would credit my silver elite account 2,000 points....still to be seen. What a joke!! I hope a real manager sees this post so Marriott excellence standards are known to NOT be met in all countries.... Horrible stay, hardly slept and very so so breakfast, you're better off going to the cafe around the corner! Many other brand new lodging options in the area now, my loyalty to my favorite flag is over!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panita87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adolfo_Carit, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Panita87,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry to read that did not have a pleasant stay with us. We always try to provide each guest with excellent service, and unfortunately we were not able to achieve this with you. Our Rooms Care Manager will take action immediately in order to improve the service we provide to our customers.
Please contact our Guest Care Manager in order to review the Marriott Rewards point’s situation you mention (cristina.riba@marriott.com).

Best Regards,

Adolfo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotels offers great comfort for their guests, however the most amazing characteristic is the friendly and helpful staff, I could not name only one of them cause all of them are wonderful, they always have a smile and the best recommendations available, the ladies that clean the rooms are very thoughtful and detailed. I enjoyed my stay and hope to be back this time with my family!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mopineda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adolfo_Carit, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments about our staff, I agree with you, they are the best!

Any time you are coming back please take in consideration that you can use our new service: Mobile Check in. Now from your tablet or cell phone you can check in, try it, it is free! For more information please do not hesitate in contact me adolfo.carit@marriott.com

Best regards,

Adolfo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

My trip was just for job...but all the staff (specially Marco F.) made my stay so gratefull and comfortable.
Well located, near to many restaurants and a big Mall.
The breakfast was perfect, the coffe....made me remember my Colombian coffe, was perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma Lucía R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The food and service were exceptional ! Great staff especially Ruben at front desk....he went out of his way to arrange a great tour of the Britt coffee plant in San Jose. The entire experience was excellent.

I am Marriott Platinum...this place was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Great staff, very good location. Enjoyed my stay. Thanks to Mrs Sheila for all her help. Some good and trendy restaurants very close to the hotel. Staff i very helpful and will guide you for any questions that you may have.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pvaldes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adolfo_Carit, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Mr. Valdez,

I am happy to know you had a great stay with us, and that Sheyla is taking good care of you, she is great helping our guests start the day the right way at breakfast.

You know we are here to help you to make your trips to Costa Rica easier, please do not hesitate in contact me in case you need anything for your next trip, you can always find me at adolfo.carit@mariott.com

Best regards,

Adolfo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 15 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu
0.7 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Jose Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Jose Escazu

Property: Courtyard San Jose Escazu
Address: Autopista Prospero Fernandez | Carretera Marginal Norte, Plaza Itskatzu, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Escazu
#3 Family Hotel in Escazu
#4 Business Hotel in Escazu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard San Jose Escazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by Plaza Itskatzu, the Courtyard Escazu San Jose Costa Rica Hotel provides guests with a central location with quality accommodations and services that make business and leisure travel easy and relaxing while on a Costa Rica vacation. Spacious guest rooms feature Marriott's new bedding, free high-speed internet access and are tastefully decorated in colonial decor that reflect Costa Rica's distinctive cultural heritage and warm hospitality. This San Jose CR hotel is convenient for business travelers with a location that is near industrial parks, downtown businesses and corporate offices. When your meetings in Costa Rica are done, we are also within minutes of shopping and some of the best restaurants and nightlife in San Jose. If you are here on a relaxing Costa Rican vacation, you may also venture to nearby attractions such as Poas Volcano, rainforests and coffee plantation tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Jose Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Marriott San Jose Escazu Hotel Escazu
San Jose Courtyard
Courtyard San Jose Escazu Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing