We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in San Jose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel in San Jose”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel in San Jose as a starting point for our vacation in Costa Rica. They allowed early check in which gave us a place to take a nap after flying all night. It was comfortable and the room was clean. We enjoyed our meals at the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Joann J, I am glad we made your first impression of Costa Rica as great as possible, I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Thank you, Ricardo M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    382
    116
    57
    49
See reviews for
185
351
77
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
143 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a Caravan Tour, and loved the hotel. Gorgeous property. Had a nice view of the pool (though never had time to use it, or the hot tub!). The beds were comfortable. The only disappointment was the Margaritas! Very expensive, and tasted awful! Bartender needs a new recipe!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Pat B., we appreciate your honesty in regards to the quality and value of our Margaritas, we will review this item along with our Bar Staff. Thank you for perfect review, Ricardo M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Nice hotel with a big infrastructure and nice places to have a meal around...
Fair gym with new equipaments!!
hotel with good accomodations, large bathroom and good breakfast station!
the negative point is the distance from downtown and the daily traffic that we have to face to get to the city!!!

Room Tip: pool view is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eduardo284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Eduardo284, we are glad you had time to enjoy and experience all our facilities and services. You are absolutely right, we are located in the suburbs of San Jose which requires a taxi ride however this is also one of our selling points due to the quieteness and safety of our location. Best regards, Ricardo M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Colton, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We spent 2 nights here. Beautiful hotel near a major mall. The food was very good especially breakfast. Have them make you an omelet with ingredients that you can choose to add. The pool was very nice but late afternoon you don't get much sun - just a section of the pool area will still be in the sun to lie out. The staff was very accommodating. The rooms were very nice - get one overlooking the pool area. The one downside of staying there was that you have to use your room key to access the elevator. But in their defense, I am sure that it was for security reasons for the guests.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Higgins66, we thank you for such great review, you are correct the use of room keys in the elevators is for the safety of our guests. Sincerely, Ricardo M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel 2 nights and found it to be very clean, quiet and comfortable. Our front facing 3rd floor room gave us an amazing view of the parrots which come every evening around dusk. It was a real treat to watch them! The pool area is beautiful and well maintained but there were no towels the first day we were there and there was no staff to bring more towels. The buffet dinner was fine, but nothing special. However, the buffet breakfast was great. There was a lot of variety and everything was fresh and delicious. The upscale shopping mall across the street is beautiful. From the outside you don't realize how big and modern it is. There is also a great supermarket in the mall for anything you might need. Overall a great place to stay in San Jose.

Room Tip: Third floor facing the front driveway for a wonderful view of the parrots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Irina111, you have no idea how much we appreciate those beatiful parrotts you saw outside your window it remind us every day about the beauty of Costa Rica. Thank you for your comments, Ricardo M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Once again at this hotel, this time for almost 1 month. I can repeat that the hotel is great in following areas:
- all restaurants, great food and good variety and selection
- service level
- clean in all areas
- staff attention and friendliness, simply great

however, 2 things I should say which I didn't find good (and were confirmed similarely by all my colleagues:
- the beds - very uncomfortable, felt short, too soft - blanket under sheet felt like plastic
- shower (after each shower, half the bathroom is under water unless one is very careful - no way to avoid it)

In general, this lowers the otherwise very good impression somewhat.

Room Tip: The rooms in the club tower are all newer than in the main building - also there are some rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philipp_J1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Philipp_J1968, we appreciate your loyalty and constructive feedback, prior to your next visit please contact our Director of Rooms, Ernesto Carrero (ernesto.carrero@r-hr.com) and we will be delighted to arrange alternative accomodations in your guestroom to improve the comfort within it. Thank you, Ricardo M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

stayed one night with the wife. very nice hotel with great staff. took an early shuttle to the airport and they even gave us a beautiful box lunch because we missed breakfast. beautiful pool and across walkway to the mall. wish we had stayed longer. no wifi in the rooms. room large with wonderful beds and pillows and very quiet airconditioning. tv great., highly recommend. the parrots love the area near the entrance

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandpaBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear grandpaBoston, we love you more after reading your review, it is great to know our staff made little actions that meant a lot to you. We look forward to welcome you back on a longer stay, Ricardo M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
0.2 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
1.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
3.1 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall

Property: Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
Address: Prospero Fernandez Highway | In front of Multiplaza Shopping Center, Escazu 11856-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Escazu
#3 Green Hotel in Escazu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
#6 Family Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall is ideal for business and leisure, we invite you to discover this urban retreat in the heart of Escazu, San Jose's most exclusive neighborhood. The hotel is located within the city's most prestigious shopping mall complex, where you will find upscale stores, bars and the finest restaurants. Escazu Corporate Center and Plaza Roble Corporate Center are just a short stroll away from the hotel. This San Jose, Costa Rica hotel features the hottest concepts in entertainment and dining, including four trendy and lively concept restaurants: The Market, Factory Steak and Lobster, NAU Sushi Lounge and Pimento. The hotel's full service spa blends with nature, it is perfect for guests that want to escape and relax in our outdoor massage rooms or enjoy our Finnish sauna, Vichy showers, steam baths or an array of other relaxing massage treatments. The hotel's updated fitness center overlooks serene tropical gardens, a Jacuzzi and three heated outdoor pools. For meetings and events, the hotel offers a new Corporate Center with thirteen modern event rooms and a ballroom that can accommodate up to 3,000 people. All guestrooms are designed to fulfill the needs of today's global traveler, with streaming speed Internet access, soundproof windows, total blackout curtains, bedding with 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, LCD TVs, alarm clock with mobile docking station, wireless telephone and more. On the second floor of our Club Tower guests will find the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge, where they can enjoy complimentary breakfast, afternoon cocktails and hors d'oeuvres. Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall is just 9 miles away from Juan Santamaria International Airport. On your next visit to San Jose, stay at the place to be in Escazu, where work and play blend perfectly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Intercontinental Hotel And Club Tower Costa Rica
Intercontinental Hotel Escazu
Real Costa Rica Intercontinental
Real InterContinental Costa Rica At Multiplaza Mall Escazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing