We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

The service and hotel are excellent. They went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable. We stayed in the Club Tower, which means you have free internet, access to the club lounge that includes free breakfast and happy hour.

Used the salon for a haircut and very happy with the outcome.

Room Tip: When getting a cab make sure you ask for the cost first - as there can be a difference in pricing to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear TravelerIowa, your review is a reward for us, we will share your comments with our Club Tower staff. Thank you, Ricardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    368
    109
    54
    48
See reviews for
172
340
73
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We chose to stay at the Hotel Intercontinental during our 2 week stay in San Jose and so glad we did. The hotel and grounds are very nice and the Spa is a wonderful place to unwind at the end of a hectic day. We stayed in the Club Tower which included access to the Club Lounge. Gustavo and Sterlin, 2 of the staff who work in the Lounge, provided exceptional service. In the evenings, the Lounge had a good selection of beverages and served tasty appetizers and desserts. On a couple of occasions, malbecs and whiskey were no longer available and there was very little to eat due to the large number of guests who visited the Lounge. Our suite was very comfortable with a view overlooking the hotel gardens and of spectacular sun sets. The breakfasts at the Market Restaurant have everything one could possibly want to eat. We ate twice at the Factory Restaurant; the grilled corvina is the best. Across the street is the a large shopping mall; great place to shop or watch football in the Food Court big screen.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carran2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear carran2014, thank you for choosing our location for your extended vacation, I am confident that Gustavo and Sterlin will appreciate your comments once they are informed. We look forward to welcome you back I hope in the near future. Regards, Ricardo M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose Metro, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I usually stay twice a year at the hotel, as a high demanding customer I can say that the staff is really amazing. During my last stay I brought my family with me ( including my 2 girls), for my surprise, Front Desk Manager Gilberto Gondola arranged all the details to make it the best stay ever! My girls even found a special kids decor in the bathroom and dolls in their beds.
Thank you... very nice details!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Eric T, I am proud of what Gilberto and his team can do for our guests, we understand your family is your priority enough reason for us to pamper them while you are our guests. Best regards, Ricardo M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel 2 nights prior to departing on a cruise on the Seadream II to Panama.
The location of the hotel is very good. In a business area, near a large shopping mall and restaurants with quick access to the highway.
Check-in was quick and friendly.
As Ambassador member we received a fantastic upgrade. The suite was luxurious and decorated with finest modern furniture. Bathroom was very large with luxuries amenities. We did not have a nice view, but as we wanted discover as much as possible during our short stay in San Real, this was not a top priority for us.
The staff at the club lounge was very friendly. We did not really like the fact that the club lounge was not really a closed area. It was immediately accessible from the corridor leading to the rooms on the floor.
We had a few drinks at the bar. Service was good and staff was friendly and very professional (removed a drunk lady from the bar In very polite and discrete way).
We enjoyed the food in the Italian restaurant. It was delicious with all top quality & fresh ingredients.
The Factory restaurant could not charm us. Especially the quality of the shrimps was disappointing.
All by all we had a very could stay. Staff was friendly, helpful and professional.
We would recommend this hotel to all kind of visitors.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank An5532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
An5532, we are committed to provide the best service specially to our Ambassador Members due to its loyalty to the Brand and different locations worldwide. Thank you, Ricardo M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a very neat hotel located by Escazú, a very nice and modern area in San José. The hotel is within stumbling distance from a big mall that is full of nice shops, restaurants, movie theaters, and a supermarket. Highly convenient.

The hotel rooms are very comfortable and clean. The hotel staff is very nice and helpful.

If you like to workout, the gym is quite complete. If you like to go out for a jog, the area is safe.

The hotel restaurant serves good breakfast and burgers.

Room Tip: The higher, the better. The lobby area tends to get busy and loud at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Raul C, you couldn't have described our location much better than that, hope you had a great workout within our modern gym. Best regards, Ricardo M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

My Husband and I spent the last 2 nights of our 10 day Costa Rica honeymoon at the Intercontinental in Costa Rica and it was a perfect end to our honeymoon. The hotel staff was sweet and sent us a complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. We loved the location of the hotel its close to downtown and to the museums ( we saw the jade and gold museum) and toured the city. It's also conveniently located close to the international airport as well as a huge mall that offers great shopping and lots of restaurant choices. Our suite was pleasantly decorated, clean and had a nice view of the pool. We tried one of the restaurants in the hotel but our favorite italian meal during the entire trip was a small authentic restaurant recommended by the hotel concierge. The food was delicous and it was less than 10 mins away from the hotel. We wanted to experience the spa but they were completely booked. Overall we enjoyed the Intercontinental and highly recommend it to everyone staying in the city!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GauriSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear GauriSP, congratulations on this new endeavour of your life, thank you for making us part of it. We look forward to host you back during your first wedding anniversary. Regards, Ricardo M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a three night stay at the Real Intercontinental at the end of May, 2014. While there for a business conference we did enjoy many of the amenities the hotel had to offer. Our king room was nicely furnished with a large bathtub and modern décor. We ate at the Market restaurant several times and I recommend the breakfast and build your own burger for lunch. The Italian restaurant Alfredo suffered from slow service and a disinterested staff, especially the host who left us standing at the door for about 10 minutes before seating us. The food was mediocre at best and I would recommend you skip this restaurant as there are plenty of yummy alternatives in the hotel. Which brings me to Factory, the hotel steakhouse. I had the surf and turf, lobster tail and beef tenderloin, and my spouse had the bone in rib eye. This was one of the best meals of my life, and I have enjoyed a lot of impressive meals...I could not recommend this restaurant more. I also suggest going with the waiter's recommendations for your main course, sides and wine. I am still smiling about this meal a week later! I also enjoyed the hotel spa on two days. I found the staff to be friendly and hospitable. The entire hotel staff spoke English and was more than happy to help us get around. As a whole, the hotel was very welcoming and impressive.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank cgail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear cgail, I do apologize for the service breakdown at our Restaurant Alfredo's, rest assure we strive to deliver high standards of service of each one of our restaurants. Thank you for the overall review. Rgds, Ricardo M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
0.1 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
1.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
3.1 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall

Property: Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
Address: Prospero Fernandez Highway | In front of Multiplaza Shopping Center, Escazu 11856-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Escazu
#3 Business Hotel in Escazu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
#6 Family Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall is ideal for business and leisure, we invite you to discover this urban retreat in the heart of Escazu, San Jose's most exclusive neighborhood. The hotel is located within the city's most prestigious shopping mall complex, where you will find upscale stores, bars and the finest restaurants. Escazu Corporate Center and Plaza Roble Corporate Center are just a short stroll away from the hotel. This San Jose, Costa Rica hotel features the hottest concepts in entertainment and dining, including four trendy and lively concept restaurants: The Market, Factory Steak and Lobster, NAU Sushi Lounge and Pimento. The hotel's full service spa blends with nature, it is perfect for guests that want to escape and relax in our outdoor massage rooms or enjoy our Finnish sauna, Vichy showers, steam baths or an array of other relaxing massage treatments. The hotel's updated fitness center overlooks serene tropical gardens, a Jacuzzi and three heated outdoor pools. For meetings and events, the hotel offers a new Corporate Center with thirteen modern event rooms and a ballroom that can accommodate up to 3,000 people. All guestrooms are designed to fulfill the needs of today's global traveler, with streaming speed Internet access, soundproof windows, total blackout curtains, bedding with 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, LCD TVs, alarm clock with mobile docking station, wireless telephone and more. On the second floor of our Club Tower guests will find the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge, where they can enjoy complimentary breakfast, afternoon cocktails and hors d'oeuvres. Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall is just 9 miles away from Juan Santamaria International Airport. On your next visit to San Jose, stay at the place to be in Escazu, where work and play blend perfectly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Intercontinental Hotel And Club Tower Costa Rica
Intercontinental Hotel Escazu
Real Costa Rica Intercontinental
Real InterContinental Costa Rica At Multiplaza Mall Escazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing