We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Stay in Escazu” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada El Quijote

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posada El Quijote
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
Dominical, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay in Escazu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Easier to find than other places in the area, El Quijote surprised us with it's charm, homeyness & lovely Costa Rican feel. The open set-up and classic style of architecture emphasized the Costa Rica culture that surrounded us. At our arrival, we were greeted by the owner, Bjorn, who was very friendly, welcoming, warmhearted and helpful. We loved our room, especially with the direct access to the gardens where the sweet smells excited our senses. The location, over looking the city, was perfect for our quick visit. Although we only stayed one night, we saw how easy it would be to stay a week or two & tour directly out of there. This option would be especially suited for families where traveling can be difficult. We had a great stay and look forward to the next time!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MontdAgua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjorn H, Owner at Posada El Quijote, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for the review, JC!
-and thank you for chosing to stay with us here in Escazu!

It was very nice to meet you guys!
Hope to see you again in Escazu, or Dominical, in the not too distant future.

best regards,
Bjorn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    28
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
43
75
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We really enjoyed staying here, it was very comfortable. Bjorn and his family were very helpful and we felt like we were with friends. They adjusted the morning schedule to suit us and went out of their way to help us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Just back from 12 days in Costa Rica traveling with my daughter. We were very graciously hosted by Bjorn and his wife at Posada El Quijote. He was extremely helpful in helping arrange our airport arrival and departure, rental car, restaurant recommendations and EVEN staying up late one night to help work out documentation issues getting my daughter out of Ecuador so she could meet me in San Jose. I highly recommend using this really homey and classy place as a base for your travels on Costa Rica. We stayed here before, during and at the end. Simple rooms but very clean. We felt very safe and comfortable. The common areas and balconies are very nice. The view overlooking San Jose at night was also cool. Breakfast was excellent. Alcides the manager was very helpful too. Thank you for a great stay!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DTOEWS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Double Oak Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Wonderful location at the top of the hill with beautiful gardens. Bjorn and his family are excellent hosts. Would not hesitate to stay with them again. I would recommend a GPS though to find this location as well as many others in Costa Rica!!

Room Tip: Don't stay anywhere in SJO the night Costa Rica wins a world cup game - lots of honking, firewor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank norwstan_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had a lovely stay in this huge beautiful house, with its lovely patio, living rooms, and great view (I would really love to live here!) Our room was spotless and well furnished with a comfortable bed, a table and and desk with new television. Well lit bathroom with hot water and nice linens. The hotel isn't easy to get to on your own, but easy with a car or with an inexpensive taxi ride. But the best part of the place is the wonderful hosts - a Norwegian-Colombian couple with kids who will help you in any way to make your stay more pleasant. Absolutely the best stay I've ever had in the 6 times I've stayed in the San Jose area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshy_the_Hippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Beautiful property with amazing views of San Jose. Above all, excellent service. Alcides and Bjorn made us feel at home. They helped us arrange a rental car and provided maps and directions to where we were headed. We will definitely stay here again when we come back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Becca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We were surprise about the location of this Posada,we were worried about what we were getting into but it is a Enchanting place,full of enjoyment,armony and a excelent service,as soon as you walk in your are greeted with excellency .nice,clean,quiet environment .Thank you Borhn and family for such a wonderful experience and great hospitality

Room Tip: Room are all excelent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Acph1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Escazu hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 15 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
2.3 mi away
Out of Bounds Hotel
Out of Bounds Hotel
#9 of 15 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Linda Vista
Hotel Linda Vista
#11 of 15 in Escazu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
2.0 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada El Quijote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada El Quijote

Property: Posada El Quijote
Address: Bello Horizonte | Escazu, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Escazu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
#7 Business Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada El Quijote 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada El Quijote is a Spanish colonial inn set against a backdrop of spectacular views of Costa Rica's central valley and the city of San Jose.Situated atop the first hill 3.5 miles from the city center, Posada El Quijote is far enough to be in a comfortable country setting, free from the congestion and noise of the capitol, but close enough to enjoy easy access to the city and its facilities. The recently refurbished hotel, with a history dating back to 1994, offers an alternative to the large hotel chains that have recently established themselves in the area; Large enough to accomodate groups, but small enough to offer a very homely, relaxed and personal atmosphere. The staff (and onsite owners) are always prepared to provide their best to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Posada El Quijote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Quijote Escazu
Posada El Quijote Hotel Escazu
Posada El Quijote Costa Rica/Escazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing