We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect San Jose-base!”
Review of Posada El Quijote

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada El Quijote
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Arriving in San Jose after a 23 hour trip from Norway, Posada arranged for a driver to pick us up at the airport. After a short drive, we were welcomed by Bjorn and Andrea, and instantly we felt like old friends. Posada El Quijote is a homely hotel, where you feel a lot more like staying with family, than in a regular hotel. Bjorn and Andrea help you with advise on what to do in Costa Rica, or in San Jose, they order tickets and make reservations, and they help you in every way they can, so that you can have a great stay in San Jose.

Tip: ask for a taste of Bjorns homemade chili sauce.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MortenHenrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjorn H, Manager at Posada El Quijote, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014
Google Translation

Hei Morten!
Takker for positiv review, og takk igjen for at dere valgte hotellet vårt i Escazu!
Det var veldig hyggelig å møte dere. Spesielt hyggelig for Alicia å møte andre norske barn - hun trivdes veldig godt når dere var her.
Vi var faktisk i Samara forrige helg - gjorde som dere - endte opp å stort sett sitte på Gusto hele dagen :)
Håper dere hadde et fint opphold i Florida!
beste hilsener,
alle oss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Thank you, Bjorne and family, for a relaxing and warm welcome to Costa Rica. My kids felt right at home in your sprawling compound. They liked your trampoline and swings, too!

You went out of your way to accommodate our needs. We enjoyed a picnic style dinner and home cooked breakfast with cool breezes. Thanks for welcoming us to Costa Rica!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank JCatBlueStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjorn H, Owner at Posada El Quijote, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hi - Thank you very much for reviewing us!
It was very nice having you here and meeting you and your family, and we hope you all had a great journey through Costa Rica.
Hope to see you in Costa Rica again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My partner and I stayed here for one night, and we sorely regretted leaving so soon! When we arrived, we were greeted at the door by Alcides, who went above and beyond to help us get to the hotel and make us feel welcome. After a wonderful night's sleep in a beautifully decorated room, we woke up to the most delicious breakfast of our whole stay (out of the many options, we chose omelets, gallo pinto--made specially for me as a vegetarian--toast with a delicious jam, fresh squeezed orange juice, fruit, and the best bacon my partner has ever had). While we ate, the owner arranged for a taxi to pick us up and take us to the airport at a reduced rate. We then took a pot of coffee from breakfast back to our private terrace and enjoyed our final glimpse of SJ. We highly recommend Posada El Quijote as a wonderful place to either start or end your trip; we hope to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjorn H, Owner at Posada El Quijote, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Sara,
Thank you for reviewing us! We're very glad you enjoyed your stay, and the breakfast!
I made sure to tell Nubia, our main breakfast chef and housekeeper, the compliment. She has been with the hotel for over ten years and has perfected the gallo pinto recipe. Credit for the bacon goes to Uncle Earl, a local Escazu butcher we use - fully natural, organic and properly smoked bacon.

Hope you had a great trip back to New York! and hope you get to stay with us again in the future!
best regards,
the entire staff at Posada el Quijote

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel offers hospitality, charm, comfortable beds, a great breakfast, and great views overlooking nearby San Jose central - definitely one of the best hotels in metro SJ! Posada is gated and secure with ample parking and the building/rooms have an open airy Andulusian feel, lots of wood accents, and neatly furnished. It has beautiful grounds in a very nice neighborhood within a short walk to Escazu, with a number of restaurants, a bakery, and a Fresh Mkt. Rooms have cable TV and small outer porches with tables. We were told it also has several studio apts with kitchen facilities that are particularly popular. Bjorn, his family, and staff couldn't have been more upbeat and welcoming. Made us feel right at home providing local information, offering coffee in the evening, setting up a tour, printing boarding passes, even preparing something to eat prior to the normal breakfast time due to our early tour pickup. Look forward to staying here again on my next visit and would highly recommend this hotel/BB to anyone staying in the San Jose area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TDog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjorn H, Owner at Posada El Quijote, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for the positive review and the very nice pictures!
And thanks for staying with us at Posada el Quijote - it was really nice meeting you and having you here, and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope you will be able to come back and visit us again!

best regards from everyone here at Posada el Quijote

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A really cool place to stay. The atmosphere of the place is perfect. Don't stay in the city, stay here. Easy access to San Jose and the airport. As I was traveling without a car they arranged seamless airport pickup. I had a completely self contained and private apartment. At the same time, there was always hotel staff onsite to provide advice & assistance. Bjorn and his staff were all super friendly. They even helped me a week after I checked out.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvr2kix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjorn H, Owner at Posada El Quijote, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you reviewing us!
we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and also hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Costa Rica despite the extra unplanned adventure you had towards the end of your journey :)

Hope you both had a good safe flight back to Japan!
best regards,
all of us here at Posada el Quijote

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Easier to find than other places in the area, El Quijote surprised us with it's charm, homeyness & lovely Costa Rican feel. The open set-up and classic style of architecture emphasized the Costa Rica culture that surrounded us. At our arrival, we were greeted by the owner, Bjorn, who was very friendly, welcoming, warmhearted and helpful. We loved our room, especially with the direct access to the gardens where the sweet smells excited our senses. The location, over looking the city, was perfect for our quick visit. Although we only stayed one night, we saw how easy it would be to stay a week or two & tour directly out of there. This option would be especially suited for families where traveling can be difficult. We had a great stay and look forward to the next time!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontdAgua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjorn H, Owner at Posada El Quijote, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for the review, JC!
-and thank you for chosing to stay with us here in Escazu!

It was very nice to meet you guys!
Hope to see you again in Escazu, or Dominical, in the not too distant future.

best regards,
Bjorn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We really enjoyed staying here, it was very comfortable. Bjorn and his family were very helpful and we felt like we were with friends. They adjusted the morning schedule to suit us and went out of their way to help us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank george b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Escazu hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#4 of 14 in Escazu
438 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
2.3 mi away
Out of Bounds Hotel
Out of Bounds Hotel
#9 of 14 in Escazu
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Apartotel Don Francisco
Apartotel Don Francisco
#10 of 14 in Escazu
26 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada El Quijote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada El Quijote

Address: Bello Horizonte | Escazu, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Escazu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
#7 Business Hotel in Escazu
Price Range: £45 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada El Quijote 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada El Quijote is a Spanish colonial inn set against a backdrop of spectacular views of Costa Rica's central valley and the city of San Jose.Situated atop the first hill 3.5 miles from the city center, Posada El Quijote is far enough to be in a comfortable country setting, free from the congestion and noise of the capitol, but close enough to enjoy easy access to the city and its facilities. The recently refurbished hotel, with a history dating back to 1994, offers an alternative to the large hotel chains that have recently established themselves in the area; Large enough to accomodate groups, but small enough to offer a very homely, relaxed and personal atmosphere. The staff (and onsite owners) are always prepared to provide their best to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Posada El Quijote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Quijote Escazu
Posada El Quijote Hotel Escazu
Posada El Quijote Costa Rica/Escazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing