We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Posada El Quijote
Nearby Hotels
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu(Escazu)(Great Value!)
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Out of Bounds Hotel(Escazu)(Great Value!)
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fauna Luxury Hostel(Escazu)(Great Value!)
US$30
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$27
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hostel Monte Campana Escazu(Escazu)(Great Value!)
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Costa Verde Inn(Escazu)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Las Robles Hostel(Escazu)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
184
35
3
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
35
3
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan josecosta ricacommon areas arewarm hospitalityfurry friendsspanish style hotelsmall terracebed and breakfastrental carprior to our arrivalfeel like familylovely propertyrooms are hugesmall hotelflat tirestudio apartmentlong term
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 225 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is a gem in a very nice area of San José. A B&B run by a lovely Norwegian/Colombian couple who are extremely forthcoming and make you feel at home. Spacious and clean rooms and succulent breakfasts. There’s a big living room-like area with terrace where you can hang out, meet others, read a book, surf the web or simply enjoy the view. And the garden has a trampoline and swing so the kids don’t get bored. They arranged a nice driver for our family to visit the Poás volcano, and when we suddenly were without a rental car due to a misunderstanding they somehow managed to find a car rental agency who arranged a 4WD for 2-week rent for a good price within 2 hours, at a time when other rentals had no cars available. No questions, we’ll be back when we go to San José again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjorn H, Manager at Posada El Quijote, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Hi Peter!
thanks for the review! and thanks to you and your family for staying with us during your days in Escazu. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
I hope you had a nice stay in Ojochal and that you can soon start with the construction of your new place!
-please do not hesitate to contact us again for your next stay in Escazu/ Costa Rica! will be good to get to know you and your family better.

best regards,
Alicia, Samuel, Andrea and Bjorn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We just returned from a 2 week vacation at Quijote in Costa Rica. We had a wonderful time. The host, Bjorn and the Assistant, Alcides, could not have been more helpful! They were absolutely wonderful and accommodating. The surroundings & grounds were beautiful. I encourage you to make reservations at this beautiful Bed and Breakfast. We will be back!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony overlooking the city of Escazu/San Jose and the lights at night are stunning.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank odiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjorn H, Manager at Posada El Quijote, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor!
and thank you for chosing to use us as your base during your stay in Costa Rica! We are very glad that you enjoyed staying with us.

It was very nice having you as guests. We particularly appreciate how you brought in all your friends and family to the hotel while you were here - for business meetings and breakfasts - and especially that you even offered to bring and hand out our brochures to others when you travelled around the country - all things that really help us spread the word about our place!

Hope you will be able to realise your plans of moving to Escazu and Costa Rica in the not too distant future!

Stay in touch!
thanks again and best regards from everyone at Posada el Quijote

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Arriving in San Jose after a 23 hour trip from Norway, Posada arranged for a driver to pick us up at the airport. After a short drive, we were welcomed by Bjorn and Andrea, and instantly we felt like old friends. Posada El Quijote is a homely hotel, where you feel a lot more like staying with family, than in a regular hotel. Bjorn and Andrea help you with advise on what to do in Costa Rica, or in San Jose, they order tickets and make reservations, and they help you in every way they can, so that you can have a great stay in San Jose.

Tip: ask for a taste of Bjorns homemade chili sauce.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MortenHenrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjorn H, Manager at Posada El Quijote, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014
Google Translation

Hei Morten!
Takker for positiv review, og takk igjen for at dere valgte hotellet vårt i Escazu!
Det var veldig hyggelig å møte dere. Spesielt hyggelig for Alicia å møte andre norske barn - hun trivdes veldig godt når dere var her.
Vi var faktisk i Samara forrige helg - gjorde som dere - endte opp å stort sett sitte på Gusto hele dagen :)
Håper dere hadde et fint opphold i Florida!
beste hilsener,
alle oss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Thank you, Bjorne and family, for a relaxing and warm welcome to Costa Rica. My kids felt right at home in your sprawling compound. They liked your trampoline and swings, too!

You went out of your way to accommodate our needs. We enjoyed a picnic style dinner and home cooked breakfast with cool breezes. Thanks for welcoming us to Costa Rica!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank JCatBlueStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjorn H, Owner at Posada El Quijote, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hi - Thank you very much for reviewing us!
It was very nice having you here and meeting you and your family, and we hope you all had a great journey through Costa Rica.
Hope to see you in Costa Rica again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My partner and I stayed here for one night, and we sorely regretted leaving so soon! When we arrived, we were greeted at the door by Alcides, who went above and beyond to help us get to the hotel and make us feel welcome. After a wonderful night's sleep in a beautifully decorated room, we woke up to the most delicious breakfast of our whole stay (out of the many options, we chose omelets, gallo pinto--made specially for me as a vegetarian--toast with a delicious jam, fresh squeezed orange juice, fruit, and the best bacon my partner has ever had). While we ate, the owner arranged for a taxi to pick us up and take us to the airport at a reduced rate. We then took a pot of coffee from breakfast back to our private terrace and enjoyed our final glimpse of SJ. We highly recommend Posada El Quijote as a wonderful place to either start or end your trip; we hope to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjorn H, Owner at Posada El Quijote, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Sara,
Thank you for reviewing us! We're very glad you enjoyed your stay, and the breakfast!
I made sure to tell Nubia, our main breakfast chef and housekeeper, the compliment. She has been with the hotel for over ten years and has perfected the gallo pinto recipe. Credit for the bacon goes to Uncle Earl, a local Escazu butcher we use - fully natural, organic and properly smoked bacon.

Hope you had a great trip back to New York! and hope you get to stay with us again in the future!
best regards,
the entire staff at Posada el Quijote

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews